We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Riverside perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
393 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The Riverside perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

What a beautiful place Boscastle is! We stayed in the Riverside Hotel a charming old hotel built right on the river. Our room was very large,clean, bight and sunny with lots of windows . The bed was very comfortable and the sound of the river at night rushing along was lovely!
We had a wonderful view of the little bridge and the view down to the sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. A delicious breakfast was served in the dining room, plenty to choose from and beautifully cooked. We also had lunch outside under the umbrellas near the river and dined at night in the restaurant. The food was of a high standard and very tasty.
We would love to come back to Boscastle one day it is so pretty and we would definately stay at the Riverside Hotel again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    109
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
72
312
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for one night on route to St Ives and it was lovely. Boscastle is such a pretty place to visit and walk around and the hotel is perfectly situated right in the centre! We had a spacious room with views over the river, the rooms are clean but basic (it was a bit annoying not having a shower but the bath was lovely).

We ate dinner and breakfast the following morning in the restaurant and couldn't fault anything and the staff were very attentive - highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HailieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We've stayed at the Riverside over the May long weekend for the past four years and without fail it has always lived up to expectations set in 2007. In some ways, its a pleasant surprise to keep returing to the same hotel year after year to find nothing has changed.

The staff continue to be friendly and willing to make your stay as pleasant as possible, the restaurant continues to retain its quality, the breakfast remains huge, the rooms clean and the owner still feeds the trout swimming around in the stream directly alongside the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed place to return to following a day hiking the cliffs. The Riverside is really a gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeskyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the riverside may bank holiday .

We found the hotel to be clean , comfy and in a great location.

The restaurant was very nice with very good food and friendly staff .

Breakfast was very good with waiter/waitress service so no getting up and down for cereal and juice etc .

Agree with some comments on the star rating , but all in all a very good hotel at a very reasonable price !

I would recommend the R iverside at Boscatle and would definatley return sometime in the future .

A real shame about the weather, but thats not the hotel`s fault!

Steve and Sharon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEBLACKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Aust
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here overnight and could nor fault our room or the service. Dinner, and breakfast the next morning were superb and the staff could not do enough for us! The view down river and the ambience of this amazing place will reamin with us for some time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We wanted a weekend in Cornwall so hunted around on the internet to find a likely place saw the Riverside and tried to book but it was full. Before hanging up and looking elsewhere I asked reception if they would call me if they had a cancellation (not really expecting to hear from them).

A month or so later I had a call out of the blue from Ross at the Riverside asking If I was still looking as they had a cancellation, a price was agreed and the confirmation received via email, a few weeks later we left for Boscastle. Based on the price, our expectations were not very high although the reviews of the Riverside were pretty good.

But not really good enough it turns out ! All of the staff were friendly cheerful and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Our room was spotless comfortable and well appointed, with a view down to the river below. We eat out on the first night of our stay at the Cobweb Inn up the road, which was very good.

The following morning we went down to breakfast and had a brilliant selection of foods offered all of which were prepared superbly. That night we ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal including soup,Japanese Prawns, & Steak the service again being friendly & attentive.

I really could not fault this brilliant little hotel and its staff not five stars but six
Thank You

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Food (both Dinner and the choice at breakfast) is amazing and the setting of the restaurant overlooking the river and harbour is second to none. My only problem was the noisiness of the room; including and people noise on the road side of the building and the person in the room above.
There's nothing the Hotel can do about either; but it affected our stay and sleep.
With the caveat "book rooms on the river side"; I'd recommend the Hotel

Room Tip: Book on the river side of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#4 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing