We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #3 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On finding this perfectly situated accomodation, we were met by Ross, who really made us feel welcome. The room was spacious, clean and really well maintained. The room servicing was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for this really well run family business.
The staff were excellent throughout, showing an interest in us as a couple whilst maintaing true professionalism, all need to be congratulated here!
We didn't manage to get around to dining in the restaurant, but if the evening menu was anything to compare to the breakfast then I would have no doubts about saying that you would not be disappointed. Quality food, cooked and presented to perfection.

I believe its always easy to find time to complain, but I've been looking forward to getting on here and telling everyone how good this place is.

Don't hesitate..just book it and look forward to a fantastic base for exploring North Cornwall..

Thanks to Ross and the team.

:)

Room Tip: Ask for room 15 if you can get it. Views looking right into the harbour..
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teflon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for The Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent clean and well maintained rooms with comfortable beds. Fantastic food for breakfast and evening meals. Friendly and efficient staff. Wonderful location in the heart of beautiful Boscastle. The perfect B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Riverside is well named being right on the river's edge at the centre of the village. There is a lot to see here; the visitor centre has a great display of the famours floods that occurred and is it very interesting to stand in the middle of the village and imagine what that day must have been like. Everywhere has been fantastically restored, allow a few hours to wander around here. It would be a shame to arrive late after walking the SW Coast Path and not have time to immerse yourself in the atmosphere. The hotel is well situated for the path. Rooms are quite small but big enough, with very comfortable beds. No noise from the restaurant below so you get a peaceful nights sleep. Very nice restaurant but no bar area to sit for early evening drinks. We were shown straight to our table, so if you want a beer first go across the road. Food was good. Huge salad main portions - enough for 2 people! Excellent breakfast and good service. If you visit Boscastle stay here, it's very good value. Don't be tempted, as we were, to put the next 2 sections of the SW path together. Boscastle to Tintagel, although a short walk (5 miles) has lots of ups and downs and some fantastic scenery. It's worth taking the section slowly and enjoying the views. There are regular buses from Boscastle - Tintagel so you could stay 2 nights in Boscastle and use the bus to do 2 walks from that centre before busing to Tintagel and walking on to Portgaverne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The staff without exception were friendly, courteous and efficient and made us feel entirely at home. The hotel itself is clean, well-maintained and uniquely located alongside a small river running to a small harbour. Beautiful sunsets visible from the dining room. A fine restaurant with a small but excellent menu and splendid, unpretentious waiters and waitresses who obviously take pride in their service. You might get disturbed in the early morning by the odd raucous seagull, but you will still be able to enjoy a late breakfast if you get up a bit late!
If you don't like The Riverside, you are very hard to please!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dargason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have been coming to Boscastle for a lifetime and to stay and eat at the Riverside Hotel is now a fantastic bonus. It is located at the entrance to the harbour alongside a small river crossed by a little bridge to its own sun terrace for outside eating.

The polite cheerful staff are well trained to look after you and my bags were immediately taken upstairs to a clean cosy top floor single room, with own bathroom and toiletries, packed with mod cons, tea and coffee maker, large flatscreen TV and Wi-Fi.There was a nice view of the wooded valley and I was lulled to sleep by the gurgling stream.

The first evening I tested the fame of the restaurant and was rewarded with one of the best meals I've ever had in Cornwall. There's a good wine list but I had a local Tanners' beer and started with a generous ramekin of slightly spicy mackerel pâté served with a small salad and crisp warm toast - just how this Cornish speciality should be!

Then I followed with one of the "fresh catch" dishes, thick tender fillets of plaice served with a fennel and parsley sauce and side dishes of sauteed and mashed potatoes, carrots, broccoli and squash.

As I discovered on my first morning, breakfasts here, part of the room price, are a great deal in more ways than one! You can not only choose from a long menu but also select how much you want. Main cooked choices I had during my stay included not only the fully cooked English ensemble but also large servings of kippers and excellent halibut - and then the cereals, toast, fruit juices and so on.

At midday lunch can be a more casual affair and I thoroughly recommend the mixed seafood salad served with half a fresh crusty baguette with crab, shrimp, thick slices of smoked salmon, potato salad, coleslaw, lettuce, cucumber and tomato. Goes well with a glass of Doom Bar Cornish Ale (5%) brewed in Rock, just down the coast.

There's a Sunday carvery for lunch, which is very popular, and drinks available from a little bar at most times.

This is a bijou hotel and restaurant offering great value for money, within walking distance of the main sites, shops and pubs in the lovely village of Boscastle.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms overlooking the stream and wooded valley
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We recently stayed at the RIverside for three nights. We found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable. The food ,particularly breakfast, was excellent. We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We would highly recommend the hotel and the town of Boscastle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joni101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at The Riverside last week and it is an excellent hotel... but I would highly recommend asking if your room has a bathroom door. Ours had just a curtain separating the en-suite from the bedroom and if you value your bathroom privacy I'd be inclined to ask for a room with a door. Shame really, as the food is great and staff are friendly. The location is awesome too. What were they thinking with the curtain idea?

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank sean4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing