We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant hotel.”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #3 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our rooms (one single, one double) were lovely. They overlooked the river at the back of the hotel, were clean and modern with everything you could want. I loved the toiletry bag! Staff were busy but very friendly, especially Adam who showed us to our rooms. Breakfast was superb and plenty of it!
The only small criticism was that our rooms seemed to be over some sort of air conditioning unit perhaps?, which was reasonably noisy when we tried to sleep? Not too
much problem for us as we only stayed for one night but might struggle with it for longer.
Overall a lovely stay in a lovely place! Would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a nice hotel in a delightful position. You can eat inside or out and a river runs between the hotel and outside tables. We stayed in a room that looked right down the river towards the sea. There are fabulous walks across the cliffs and I went both ways. The walk to Crackington is quite strenuous and fairly long but well worth the effort. Our meals were delicious and the staff friendly, helpful and courteous. We love the area and may well return again another year. One thing you should be aware of however is in the summer with windows open you can hear the water passing, I love that but some people may not so need to book rooms on the other side of the building. I feel sure the staff will accomodate any such requests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I flew to the England from Switzerland to walk the South West Coast Path. We stayer at The Riverside in Boscastle for just one night which was a real shame as Boscastle is a pretty quintessential fishing village. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food and table service was truly outstanding which was a great surprise for such a small place. The quality of the Breakfast matched the evening meal. The room was comfortable with all the facilities including a bath. A very memorable stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be sure to eat in The Riverside restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On finding this perfectly situated accomodation, we were met by Ross, who really made us feel welcome. The room was spacious, clean and really well maintained. The room servicing was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for this really well run family business.
The staff were excellent throughout, showing an interest in us as a couple whilst maintaing true professionalism, all need to be congratulated here!
We didn't manage to get around to dining in the restaurant, but if the evening menu was anything to compare to the breakfast then I would have no doubts about saying that you would not be disappointed. Quality food, cooked and presented to perfection.

I believe its always easy to find time to complain, but I've been looking forward to getting on here and telling everyone how good this place is.

Don't hesitate..just book it and look forward to a fantastic base for exploring North Cornwall..

Thanks to Ross and the team.

:)

Room Tip: Ask for room 15 if you can get it. Views looking right into the harbour..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teflon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent clean and well maintained rooms with comfortable beds. Fantastic food for breakfast and evening meals. Friendly and efficient staff. Wonderful location in the heart of beautiful Boscastle. The perfect B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Riverside is well named being right on the river's edge at the centre of the village. There is a lot to see here; the visitor centre has a great display of the famours floods that occurred and is it very interesting to stand in the middle of the village and imagine what that day must have been like. Everywhere has been fantastically restored, allow a few hours to wander around here. It would be a shame to arrive late after walking the SW Coast Path and not have time to immerse yourself in the atmosphere. The hotel is well situated for the path. Rooms are quite small but big enough, with very comfortable beds. No noise from the restaurant below so you get a peaceful nights sleep. Very nice restaurant but no bar area to sit for early evening drinks. We were shown straight to our table, so if you want a beer first go across the road. Food was good. Huge salad main portions - enough for 2 people! Excellent breakfast and good service. If you visit Boscastle stay here, it's very good value. Don't be tempted, as we were, to put the next 2 sections of the SW path together. Boscastle to Tintagel, although a short walk (5 miles) has lots of ups and downs and some fantastic scenery. It's worth taking the section slowly and enjoying the views. There are regular buses from Boscastle - Tintagel so you could stay 2 nights in Boscastle and use the bus to do 2 walks from that centre before busing to Tintagel and walking on to Portgaverne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The staff without exception were friendly, courteous and efficient and made us feel entirely at home. The hotel itself is clean, well-maintained and uniquely located alongside a small river running to a small harbour. Beautiful sunsets visible from the dining room. A fine restaurant with a small but excellent menu and splendid, unpretentious waiters and waitresses who obviously take pride in their service. You might get disturbed in the early morning by the odd raucous seagull, but you will still be able to enjoy a late breakfast if you get up a bit late!
If you don't like The Riverside, you are very hard to please!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dargason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing