We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Boscastle”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #3 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A wonderful bed and breakfast in a beautiful setting. Excellent full English breakfast. Dinner was good as well. The Museum of Witchcraft is just down the street.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank nelliescully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

An excellent stay, great night sleep, in real comfort and fantastic hospitality. Good Breakfast, good food at lunch and dinner in the restaurant if you eat in too. Brilliant location, welcoming staff more than happy to help. Only thing to note is, as a small town, no free parking, so be prepared to pay to park your car.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We found ourselves in Boscastle after travelling up from visiting family in Padstow. Seeing many people walk into this place, we decided to follow and are amazed to find this gem. The place is obviously popular as we had the last table in the bar. The food was outstanding and service at the highest level.

However, what does make me disappointed is the validity of review sites such as TripAdvisor. We witnessed the recount of the review titled "Mixed experience" and dispute the version given. The customer's attitude and aggressive stance was beyond acceptable and we were outstanded that the member of staff kept polite and helpful throughout.

Overall, we cannot rate this place highly enough. It is a shame we are unable to box it up and place it in the town where we come from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel is located nicely in a beatiful small village.
The hotel is around 400 years old which means it has a nice atmosphere but also means you can hear your neighbours.
The beds and bathroom are good (although the bathroom gets really wet when taking a shower).
Many rooms are facing the stream which runs close to the hotel and adds to the atmosphere but also produces a lot of noice, meaning that you definitely need earplugs during the night.
The hotel does not have a lobby and the adjacent restaurant closes around 10pm (drinks are not allowed in the bedrooms) so if you want to have a drink at night you will have to go some place else.
Some staff members are really friendly, but others are unfriendly, almost rude.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eofrihj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

COULDN'T ASK FOR BETTER.I am fussy and was really delighted with every aspect of this hotel.
Food excellent,rooms clean ,bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionajjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I`ve been visiting Boscastle & staying/dining at the Riverside for 5 years of utterly pleasurable experience.The rooms are immaculately furnished but retain an air of smart informality & supreme comfort (my favourite is the`family room`, which in effect is a suite of two bedrooms plus a very smart bathroom). The food cannot be praised too highly & consists of locally sourced ingredients of meats, fresh fish & specialities beautifully prepared,cooked & served at the most reasonable prices. Breakfast choices are magnificent & generously ample.
The management ( Peter,Margaret & Andy) & the Staff (Adey,Lee, & the Girls) are more like family than friends, their warm & helpful manner contributing to the perfect `Stay`.
Cant wait for our next `Break`......Fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, but those with views over the River,Terraces or Quay are the most sought aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is quite most consistently good eating place in the north of Cornwall.
The food we have had here has remained good value ,(no nouvelle starvation here),varied, locally produced ,I saw the lobster delivered from the quay!and very friendly.
I know most of the locals frequent for their anniversaries and birthdays,etc.
If its not on the menu just ask ,within reason and it will be done!
If this all seem too good to be true ,try it, its not expensive !

Room Tip: every thing was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing