We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The setting of the riverside is brilliant however i am not sure in my opinion it is 5*. Breakfast was lovely, the room was fine but what we felt let it down was not having a shower. However Boscastle more than made up for this and we had a lovely time overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    118
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
79
343
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Lovely spacious room with enormous bed, only downside was a mixer shower head rather than a proper shower, I believe rooms come with either bath or shower. Boscastle is a beautiful village and The Riverside is in a perfect location. There was a varied choice of breakfast which was delicious and we ate at the restaurant and I have to say that it was one of the best meals I have ever had. Can't wait until our next visit !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbohay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As regular visitors to boscastle we have over the years regularly eaten at the Riverside.
The standard of food whether for breakfast, lunch or evening meal has always been very good.
The quality of service plus the friendliness of the staff adds to the pleasure of the meal. As we have enjoyed the food so much we are now even talking of staying in the hotel in our next visit to Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked three nights in early August as a treat for my Wifes birthday, on arrival we were shown to our room, which was of a good standard, we have stopped in 5 star Band B`s before in the uk, and i would say that the room in the riverside was probably nearer a four star standard. The Location however was definately 5 star, as was the food...a wide range of breakfast choices, and very attentative staff, we decided to celebrate my wifes birthday with an evening meal in the restaurant...we were not dissapointed,we were given a prime table which had been decorated with a happy birthday banner and table decorations, we had a faultless meal which my wife said was one of the best meals she has ever had.
Only two minor issues...one was the fact our room (room 5) was directly above the kitchen, and we could hear the hum of the extractor fan from about 8am and again at night from early evening till about 10pm (we stayed in one night because of bad weather).
the other issue was that there was no dedicated car park, which required going out every morning around 10am to the car park (approx 100m) and paying for a 24hr ticket...not expensive... but annoying.
otherwise our stop at the riverside was very good and we would definately reccomend booking an evening meal if you stop at the riverside!

Room Tip: try to book a harbour view room on first or second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORTHING
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked at the last minute without really knowing where Bocastle was or what the hotel would be like . . . after traveling for hours along narrow winding roads we eventually reached the magical oasis of Bocastle . . . and an even bigger surprise was the charming, clean hotel nestled on the corner of this quaint Cornish town. We were welcomed at 11pm (we rang & advised the hotel of our eta) and led through an enchanting labyrinth to our spacious, clean and truly characteristic rooms. Everything was perfect, even down to the gorgeous bathroom accessories beautifully presented in a white organza string bag. The beds were dreamily comfortable and the bathroom was large with a big beautiful bath. Breakfast was amazing, offering everything from fresh juice, cereal, porridge (my Italian friends had never heard of this), eggs cooked just how you wanted them, bacon, sausages, smoked salmon & local delicacies. Even the coffee was acceptable. The staff were charming, courteous and went out of their way to help us especially when the wi-fi became a bit temperamental. Well worth wandering off the beaten track, excellent value . . .

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be gorgeous, just depends if you want to listen to the gurgling river flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A wonderful bed and breakfast in a beautiful setting. Excellent full English breakfast. Dinner was good as well. The Museum of Witchcraft is just down the street.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nelliescully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

An excellent stay, great night sleep, in real comfort and fantastic hospitality. Good Breakfast, good food at lunch and dinner in the restaurant if you eat in too. Brilliant location, welcoming staff more than happy to help. Only thing to note is, as a small town, no free parking, so be prepared to pay to park your car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,275 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lower Meadows House
Lower Meadows House
#4 of 16 in Boscastle
129 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing