We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by The Riverside.”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Down by The Riverside.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed two nights at this most excellent establishment.
My room was spotlessly clean, well maintained and of tasteful decor.
The breakfasts are wonderful, I tried the smoked haddock, with poached eggs the first morning and the smoked salmon, with scrambled egg the second, both were delicious.
Extremely friendly owners and staff, I would not hesitate to recommend The Riverside to anyone looking for accommodation in the Boscastle
area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    113
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
316
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We received a very friendly welcome on our arrival.

I would say it was a good 3star. Our room was large and very comfortable. We were in room 9 which is great if you know each other very well as we only had a curtain separating us from the shower room/toilet. This was not a problem for us but someone else might find it uncomfortable, that said they offered us 2 rooms to look at and we could take our pick!

We didn't use the hotel resaurant in the evening choosing instead to have a drink and eat at The Cobweb Inn which was a few yards up the road from the hotel and offered fabulous pub food and a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent value and the service excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runicmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Took a short one night break to the Riverside with my 2 and a half year old daughter. The hotel (room 14) was perfect for us and the staff went out of the way to accomodate us. Food was good and again, the restaurant was welcoming to my daughter. Would recommend to anybody, but especially families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery Saint Mary, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Riverside is a great place to stay, we only had one night and wished we had more. The staff were brilliant, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - well done them. Breakfast was very good and served with a smile, we had dinner the previous evening and the food was very good again.
Room 6 was spacious and clean and tidy. No shower but the bath was good fun for a change. Would be happy to stay there again as the river as a background sent us both of to sleep very quickly.
Boscastle itself is very nice for walking or just as a base for North Cornwall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Puttick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October. During our first night we ate at the hotel. The food was very poor. Chicken apparently marrinated in lemon that actually tasted only of lemon. Rib eye steak that was mediocre at best, but without the price tag to match. We raised our concern about the chicken to the manager who advised that as no concern had been raised during their check back process - which occuured two minutes after delivery of the food - that nothing could be done. We advised that the chicken hadn't actually been started at that point, but to no avail. We will not have dinner here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We couldn't have stayed at a more friendly place. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. Our room was excellent, comfy bed, hot shower and clean. The choice of breakfast was brilliant and kept us going till we returned. We dined here in the evening and once again could not fault the staff, the food or the service. The views and walks were breath taking. Will definitely be back, very soon we hope.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valtrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were exhibiting at the Boscastle Festival in October, so it was a working holiday for us, the staff were so good, very attentive, polite and friendly, it was great not to have to worry about anything. Our room was great with the sound of the river rushing past lulled us to sleep each night, and to wake up to a wonderful breakfast that set us up for the day. We also treated ourselves to a fantastic steak dinner in the resteraunt, best steak we have ever eaten. A very big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so good. We will be back again next year...if not before.
John & Jeannie Adey, Plymouth

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#11 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing