We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcoming B&B”

Lower House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower House Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Callington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This B&B has very good reviews for the simple reason that it IS really good.
Peter and Tessa are warm, friendly and welcoming. We were offered tea and biscuits as soon as we arrived and told all about what was on in Callington whilst we were there. We had booked a meal with them (not knowing if much would be open on Good Friday) and was served a two course dinner that was of restaurant quality, the only difference was that we kept being offered more tempting dishes to try. Peter modestly describes himself as a competent cook, he is far better than he suggests. The breakfast was also plentiful and excellent.
The room was spacious, the bed warm and comfy and the bathroom stocked with good quality toiletries. Whilst dinner was cooked Tessa showed us her art studio and many of her beautiful artworks. Peter came with us to the nearby pub and we had a very enjoyable couple of hours with him and his friend.
All in all, what was there not to love about the place. This will be our first choice to stay if we are ever near Callington again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsnesbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The property is an old coach house that combines B&B with a residential art school. We were on a business trip to Callington for one night.and received a very warm welcome from the owners Peter and Tessa Sulston. They could not have been more helpful to my wife and I. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb, full english cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrencerayment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

the owners and operators peter and tessa sulston were most hospitable!!! we felt like friends staying at their house!! peter is a wonderful cook and it was just the greatest to have dinner with them every night!! we were also treated every morning to a delicious full english breakfast! we loved the pub peter took us to just a minute up from the house! we also enjoyed that they took us to a local event, market and lunch!! it was such a comfortable stay at the end of our fantastic trip around england!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A lovely B&B with a very friendly welcome and some beautiful paintings on the walls. Dinner was beautiful and the couple running the B&B were very friendly, helpful, cultured and very interesting to chat to. A very nice and old pub round the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sacapuce69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed at Lower House guesthouse four or five times in the last few years. This is an overdue review.

The hosts, Peter and Tessa, are charming and hospitable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with original artwork providing special interest. Breakfast is a real treat - fresh local ingredients perfectly cooked and served. Overall - seriously recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Since last winter we have visited Lower House in Callington on a number of occasions, every time experiencing the warmth and care shown by the hosts Tessa and Peter Sulston. We are always happy to stay with them, as they succeed in combining a very personal style with a professional attitude on a high level. You feel at home at Lower House even without participating in any artistic activity or being part of training courses or programs. Being Norwegians, Tessa and Peter have opened Cornwall to our hearts and minds and made us curious to learn more about so many local sites and events. The hospitality, the good dinners, the friendly atmosphere and the feeling of being in a place of art and love of art are unique and worth exploring. Thank you Tessa and Peter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjelloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Tessa and Peter Sulston have created something extraordinarily special at Callington Art School, Lower House. Tessa is an inspirational and generous art tutor, who transmits her enthusiasm and dedication to her students; for me, my week at Callington was a game-changer. Peter is a superb cook; I very much enjoyed the delicious food, good English dishes sourced from local ingredients. The atmosphere was, as others have suggested, rather like a very good house party. The decor is tasteful, and beds are comfortable, with excellent quality linens. I was particularly impressed by Tessa and Peter's professionalism at a difficult moment: despite experiencing a bereavement, they soldiered on in impeccable fashion, with a smile on their faces.If I could give them ten stars, I would. I'll very definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callington hotels
1.7 mi away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polhilsa Farm
Polhilsa Farm
#4 of 11 in Callington
35 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Callington
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Compton Park Caravan & Camping
Show Prices

Been to Lower House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower House Guest House

Address: Church St., Callington PL17 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Callington
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lower House Guest House Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing