We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in rural Cornwall with beautiful clean room in number 2 Honicombe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location in rural Cornwall with beautiful clean room in number 2 Honicombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely site, friendly and lovely pools, sauna and pub on site. Number 2 was gorgeous and home from home.easy to get everywhere from there then come back in evening and chill in the quiet surroundings of Honicombe. Away from major tourist parts and private space around each persons house so you can feel relaxed and peaceful x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoanneMarieStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Joanne,

Thank you for you review of Honicombe, We are pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us. As you know Honicombe is situated in very quite surroundings, away form all the popular tourist attractions but close enough to visit all the leisure locations which is perfect to enjoy a relaxed and peaceful stay to make your holiday experience a memorable one.

We look forward to your next stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Please feel free to book direct with us for our latest offers and promotions

Regards

Honicombe Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    50
    24
    16
    24
See reviews for
103
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in lodge 26 and it was lovely although the water pressure for the shower was poor and the fridge door was broken. The site is in the middle of nowhere so it's very peaceful but on the downside unless you drive there's very little to to on site.The pool was clean but changing rooms ridiculously small, only 2 changing cubicles in the ladies, they were also a bit smelly. The food in the bar was poor, as was the service, all staff seemed very inexperienced and our food was sent back.This was not a cheap holiday, the accommodation was very good but the site itself needs a lot of updating and cleaning as it looks very dated.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleymreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Lesley,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I have gone through your comments and I would like to apologise if the lodge failed to meet your exceptions. I believe you did report the water pressure and fridge door to Reception and we had our Maintenance team rectify the issues you had with the lodge. As you know the lodges are all privately owned and we do our best to maintain the properties to make sure guest's have a wonderful stay at Honicombe and it is clear we failed at that on this occasion which we are again sorry for. Honicombe is under new management now and we are doing everything we can to improve the site. We pride ourselves with our leisure facilities however we realise the changing rooms are small and need updating which we do have plans for to change in the future. The Bar and Restaurant is now under management with a outsourced and well established catering company which we have recently signed, they offer locally sourced produce which they serve in their restaurant and as a result producing high quality fresh food.

Honicombe is always improving and moving forward and I hope your next stay with us will change your opinion with us.

Please book direct with us for all our latest offers and promotions.

Regards Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Absolute lovely place to get away from the hustle and bustle. Would recomend it to anyone,the occomadation was clean and tidy well equipped especially when there was 4 adults and 4 kids in our group stopping in one of the 4 bedroom lodges absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alfca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
HI Alfca46,

All I can say is, thank you for such a lovely review and for taking time to leave us on Trip Advisor. Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort is under new management and the team are always improving the site to make sure your stay would make it a holiday to remember.

We hope to see you again soon for your next holiday.
Book direct with us for all our latest offers and promotions.

Regards Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It would be lovely to believe the response made by management to recent reviews but I don't believe in Cornish Pixies either.
The site is being improved in tiny steps but it is a long way from being top quality, New owners seem hell bent on getting punters in, anyone will do . There is hardly any parking for event visitors and the facilities for the indoor pool and are very poor. Changing rooms are tiny and dirty. Debris floats in the pool and doesn't seem to be sucked through a filter system so don't swallow any water whatever you do.
The gym facilities are meagre, you would be better climbing the hillsides nearby. The tennis courts remind you of municipal parks of the 60's and there is no onsite shop. There are some vending machines which obviously rake in a few more pounds for the owners.
The accommodation? Really not up to scratch so definitely not worth summer season prices or even winter ones.

Room Tip: Don't bother go further into Cornwall
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank 1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
HI 1852,

I am extremely disappointed in things you have mentioned in your review of Honicombe and clearly we have not with your expectations. I can assure you every response made by management are true and accurate. Honicombe is now under new management since November 2013, and we have accomplished a great deal since our time here. Improvements and renovations are made on a daily basis to help maintain the Resort. We do have plans to improve the changing rooms and our leisure facilities which I am sure you will agree will take some time to plan and implement. As you know the accommodation are all privately owned and decorated to the owners specification, we at Honicombe will always accommodate any requests and needs guests have. I would be happy to discuss your comments over the phone if you can as my aim to learn from your feedback and find ways to improve.
It would be useful to let me know when and where you stayed so i can look in to this further?
Please could you email us at enquiry@honicomemanor.co.uk with as much information you have regarding your stay and hopefully with your next stay you will see a huge improvement.

Regards Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Callington hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We're a young family with a three year old and a 10 month old and were keen to get away for a late spring break without it costing the earth. This place more than delivered on every count. The lodge was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms and excellent, well considered additions for any family group. We paid a little extra for this lodge as it came with a hot tub, but it's worth knowing this is one of the biggest, most impressive hot tubs we saw on the site. It has three main massage seats, all offering different forms of hydrotherapy, from lower back and shoulder massage jets to leg massage. Plenty of room for all of us in there too. You can even turn on a flashing multicoloured light and waterfall feature. It's pretty advanced! Many of the other lodges hot tubs were smaller.

Inside there were a few DVDs and board games and a smart Flatscreen TV/DVD player. It also has a foldable highchair, travel cot and plenty of room to store suitcases etc with built in wardrobes. Outside, the upper deck is a real sun trap with views across a field and just one other lodge.

We holidayed with friends who stayed in Lodge 47 next door with their 2 year old (and one on the way!). This worked brilliantly as we were able to meet up and enjoy evenings together every night in either house (the video baby intercoms worked perfectly!) as well as explore the area together by day. If you want to holiday with friends with young kids too, this holiday offered a great, stress free set up. Honestly, it couldn't have worked better.

The National Trust house nearby, Cothele, is massive. It takes a good couple of days to do it all and the restaurant there is fantastic. Fish of the day with fresh garden veg and a delicious sauce was just £8.50. We couldn't get enough of this place. Their ginger scone and lemon curd cream tea down on the quay was pretty special too!

I would also recommend the National Marine Aquarium for rainy days, rock pooling at Down Derry, exploring the 50 rooms of the massive Lanydrock House and generally hanging around on site.

The outdoor pool was closed during our stay as it was too early in the season, but the indoor pool was warm, clean and perfect for kids with an additional baby pool. Didn't use the gym, but it looked spotless and up to the job with professional equipment. The games room was a little dated, but playing Sega arcades from the 90s was actually quite fun! Air hockey, pool, and lots of prize winning arcades which the girls loved. The bar has been updated very recently and though we only used it a couple of times, it's absolutely ideal and the barman very helpful and friendly. This is true of every member of staff we met. We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

It became a tradition to go and enjoy a daily ice cream on the swing-seat just outside reception while we were there (we did get great weather for most of the time). Unbelievably, the reception sells amazing ice creams for just 60p? Or choc-ices for just 30p? They were lovely - especially the chocolate covered ones with Almonds! Not sure if this was off-season pricing?!

Okay, big review over. In summary, we were all delighted with this holiday as it exceeded every expectation and we have agreed with our friends we will definitely be making this an annual thing. There are some bad reviews for this place, but they've obviously been doing a lot of work on site as we had a great time. It gave us the perfect British family holiday. Thank you Honicombe!

Room Tip: We booked Valley Lodge 48 and were extremely impressed. Our friends booked 47 which was also very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nickwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
HI Nickwaite,

WOW!! Thank you so much for your phenomenal and amazing review of Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort! Your review is what every Holiday Resort DREAMS off and the team at Honicombe can not thank you enough. The team at Honicombe work extremely hard to deliver excellence and it clearly shows by your response that we have obviously delivered and all the hard work has been appreciated. We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday with us and exceeded all your expectations and look forward to your next stay with us at Honicombe.

Thank you again for taking time to leave such a wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon. I have shown the team your review on Trip Advisor which made them feel appreciated and happy that your time at Honicombe was a holiday to remember.

Please remember to book directly with us for all the latest deals and promotions.

Regards

Extremely Happy Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is an improving holiday park in a great location. Good facilities, friendly staff, well kept grounds. Nice play area, lovely indoor pool, good small gym. So much to do the area, we find new things every visit. Best day out by far is Dingles heritage fairground in Lifton. We have been several times and always stay in privately owned lodge which has always been faultless. We like it here, it's not an all singing all dancing holiday park with entertainment so don't come if that's what you're after. It is a quiet base with good facilities for a lovely holiday. Suitable for everyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Whizzylala,

Thank you for writing such an honest and thoughtful review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort. We pride ourselves for offering beautiful lodges in a quite location tucked away from the any populated areas so guests can enjoy a quite and peaceful holiday surrounded by woodlands and wildlife.
Honicombe is now under new management and we are improving the Resort on a daily basis.

We look forward to your stay with us again soon
Please book direct with us for all our latest offers and promotions

Regards Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in a 4 bedroom lodge. The property itself was spacious however we encountered problems with the shower which would not regulate temperature, a DVD player which didn't work, broken kettle and no grill pan.

The bar and restaurant had just opened for the season but had limited menu, food served was luke warm and an obvious freezer meal reheated due to the amount of excess liquid on
the plate.

The grounds were quite untidy on arrival and lawns etc were mowed whilst there but grass was extremely long which meant wellies on to take dog out each day.

Swimming pool adequate though sauna out of action during stay. Changing facilities poor-very small with not much room for clothes etc. Very hard to get baby dressed after swimming as no buggies allowed and nowhere to put baby whilst getting changed yourself.

Picturesque part of the country but very disappointing holiday park. Charging high season prices when many things not up to scratch.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raisonsplitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We at Honicombe are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. The team at are always here to make sure any concerns are taken care of straight away. The DVD player & TV are brand new and I believe it was a problem with the lead which was rectified while you were here and the kettle and grill pan was replaced. Honicombe Manor is under a major refurbishment and we are always looking at new ways to make your stay enjoyable. The food is prepared to order and the grounds are cut on a weekly basis. I really do hope on your next stay you will find a significant improvement..

Regards

Honicombe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callington
3.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
6.5 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandhill House Country House Retreat
2.8 mi away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 11 in Callington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

Property: Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
Address: St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Callington
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership. The new management company (Honicombe Ltd.) took over the site on 17 August 2012, was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners and is committed to improving the site and its facilities in order to enhance the experience of visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honicombe Manor Hotel Callington
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing