We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious Cornish Cottage”
Lawns to the fron of Hawthorn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lawns to the fron of Hawthorn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Lawns to the fron of Hawthorn
spacious lounge with oak floors & contemporary leather sofas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eviljohn8...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious Cornish Cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Booked a cottage for a weekend away with some friends. Originally 12 of us but numbers dwindled down to 7. Contacted Frances and Neville, they were only too happy to help. Communications were excellent, local knowledge is very good.
Following sat nav and using directions provided by Frances and Neville, found the cottages easily.
Cottages we stayed in, (Hawthorn and Beech,) were all clean, tidy, comfortable and very well presented. Plenty of utensils, crockery and pans. Local supermarket does deliver but isn't very far away so we got our own.
Tv's and dvd's are provided in the main living rooms along with a few games.
Grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Plenty of shade if you need it but also plenty of open areas for sun chasers. Lots of space, lots of nooks and corners to give you some peace if you need it.
Phone signal varies with provider. Wifi is available but is open so if lots of you are using, clogs the bandwidth.
Plenty of bbq's, we used the kitchens every night but ate outdoors. Few bug issues but that is to be expected in sunny June when you eat outdoors.
The outdoor hot tub is a great way to end the day. Especially with the view of the rolling hills. No big roads or towns nearby so incredibly quiet in the evenings.
Depending on your plans when visiting Cornwall, you may be better off choosing a different location situated closer to the places you want to visit. But if you don't mind driving a bit further, (fuel is a bit cheaper if you head off the main roads,) you get to take in Cornwalls amazing scenery en route but also get to stay in one of the most peaceful and sceneic places i have had the good fortune to visit.
Also not far from Plymouth and Tavistock if you fancy trips to either.
There were family's away for a break staying in a different cottage on the same site. Because of the amount of space, we could all have the break we wanted without disturbing each other.
I intend to go back again with my family and recommend anyone looking to stay here to book. None of our party were disappointed in any way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thevander...
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely peaceful place to stay. The lodge was perfect for us. Use of the hot tub made it even more relaxing. Snowy was delightful, he loved his carrots in the morning. Dad was impressed with the size of the fish in the pond. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex w
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for family reunion”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed in this cottage when we rented the whole of the Long Barns cottages in June. Really enjoyed myself and it was great that we weren't all in one cottage all the time. The pool & gym were brilliant and the grounds really nice. Fishing was excellent. Caught loads with top weight around 10lbs.

For review of all three cottages,see other review.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace an quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pillaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing