We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hidden getaway cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Trehill cottages Lovely lakeside setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trehill cottages Lovely lakeside setting
A lovely quiet fishing spot at Trehill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Trehill cottages Lovely lakeside setting
A lovely quiet fishing spot at Trehill
Fish in any of the two private fishing ponds just outside your front door
Enjoy a glass of wine by the fire
Large lounge with beamed ceilings & fireplace
relax in the huge leather corner sofa in Gulliver
Get away from it all in Gulliver's sunny conservatory
The hot tub viewewd from the conservatory
Spacious main bedroom with great views
Games room with table tennis air hockey & table football
Sam the donkey in playfull mood
View from Gulliver's main bedroom
China Fleet club, just a short drive away. 4 Memberships included
Stunning new aqua spa at China Fleet
China Fleet club, just a short drive away. 4 Memberships included
Relax in the large spa tub at China Fleet
China Fleet club, just a short drive away. 4 Memberships included
Add unlimited golf pass at China Fleet for £45ppp week
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TimB76
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden getaway cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Gulliver cottage as a large family group (11 of us)
The cottage is perfectly suited to large groups, with plenty of communal areas for everyone to eat and socialise together (both inside and out)
The kitchen is well equipped, with three bathrooms and comfortable bedrooms.

The garden and lakes are peaceful and well kept, and location wise Callington is only a short drive away where there is a good sized Tesco.

Overall this is a superb place to escape to!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippim
helston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Beauty”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We went here for a mates weekend, there was 21 of us so we had Gulliver, Beech and Hawthorn.
They are all centered around a paddock with two donkeys and a pond. Gulliver has its own hot tub on the decking, the other two had use of a swimming pool, gym and hot tub in a small barn next to them.
The place was beautiful, the houses were well equipped and very comfortable beds (my only downside I wake with the light and thin blinds at the window, so if you are difficult like me take a cover for the window, not a criticism of the property as everyone else ok with it) The owners live on site and when we asked any questions they were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. the whole place can sleep up to 42 and so makes a great place for a family get together or mates weekend or wedding. I would highly recommend and we are fussy! A great place to explore from, I did not want to leave :-( Oh and very reasonable rates, could not believe how cheap it worked out for each person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the properties and location
Liked least: there is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind comments & we are so glad you had a good time! As owner managers we feel we are in a good position to combine high quality accommodation and still keep our costs down - this means that we can keep our prices at reasonable levels in these difficult economic times. Thanks for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas s
exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for friends reunion”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

we rented this place in October for 19 of us (we also rented another house in this location - Hawthorn, which will review later). Great place, really big & very well set up. Nice location right by the lake. Hot tub was a bonus as was the fishing & the girls loved the donkeys. Would recommend this on its own for smaller groups or adding the other place if there are a lot.

Gulliver is really nice with wood beams & stone walls, and the other one is much more modern.

The only thing to mention, is that Gulliver is for 12, so there was only dining for 12. There was no where for all 20 to sit at once. Like I said, it was no one's fault, but it is worth taking in to account if you have a really large group.

Owners were super helpful with recommendations for pubs & beaches. A really great weekend thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage
Liked least: nothing really apart from the fact that a cottage sleeping 12 doesn't have dining space for 20.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithy872...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice cottage/ area but let down by a few little things.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked the gulliver cottage for 11 of us. On arrival looked a nice place was let in by the owner and he ran through a few things. Once we had settled in started to notice things like cupboards and drawers in bedroom looked like they had seen better days, on most the doors in the cottage you could seethrew into rooms this is not nice for people in a group, especially the downstairs toilet where the toilet seat is opposit the door. On the first night went to use the hot tub which we prebooked and it was cold so we put it to the right temperature and it heated up. The next day the youngest of the group went in only to be shouted out to get out by the owner as he said we hadn't booked it and it had not been cleaned, which we had and after checking he later apologised. Also with hot tub you are only allowed to use it from 9am until 9:45 otherwise it states they will close it, this is a first for us to be told when we can use a hot tub. Overall a nice cottage and location but a few to many rules and feels like you can be watched over by the owners as they live next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay at our Gulliver cottage. We appreciate your feedback and have initiated the following works/changes with immediate effect.
We have now however extended the hot tub hours until 10:30pm. We feel this is late enough for most people while preserving the peace and quiet of other guests.
The doors you refer to are antiques in keeping with the cottage decor and as such will have some hairline cracks. While it would take a very determined person to see through them, we have had all of these sealed up.
Trehill cottages is a quiet and peaceful location which we think is perfect for a relaxing holiday. This is reflected in the extremely hard work that has been put in to the grounds and the facilities that are provided. We are determined to keep it that way so that all our guests may enjoy themselves without being disturbed by their neighbours. This means that a very small number of rules have to be in place to ensure this.
Finally, the owners live on site some 50m away. There is a 20’ hedge separating them from Gulliver, so we are not sure how you could feel watched over. Our guest’s privacy is paramount to us but we feel that this element of your review was perhaps a little bit inaccurate.

Overall though, we appreciate your comments and as ever, we use them to ensure that future guests have the very best possible stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misspi_ii
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic large cottage!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of friends for new year and it was perfect for us! We stayed in the large cottage that catered for 12 of us very well. We loved the atmosphere of the cottage and found it the ideal place to relax, eat drink and enjoy being together as a group.

The only thing we would say is perhaps a couple more comfortable chairs to go with the corner sofa in the lounge would be better for 12 adults. We moved the small sofa from the adjoining room in for the duration of our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E
Wimborne, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gulliver Cottage. Trehill Cottages.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed as a large family in Gulliver and Ash cottages.

The cottages are very spacious, clean and well equipped. It's lovely arriving to beds already made for your arrival after a long journey. Children enjoyed the donkeys and the play area and there is plenty of space.

Would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;