We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“really nice place and great welcome”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solid oak table in Gulliver kitchen / diner seats up to 20 when fully extended
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Solid oak table in Gulliver kitchen / diner seats up to 20 when fully extended
Owls Roost cottage (sleeps 2-4)
Well stocked fishing lakes
Out door pool (summer only)
Wonderfull views
Plenty of action for children
Lakeside cottage's kitchen
Conservatory at Gulliver cottage
China Fleet's top notch gym
Great indoor pool at China Fleet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“really nice place and great welcome”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This was a (very peaceful) getaway with male friends before wedding in december. once the hosts were aware that this was just a quiet weekend with friends, and not a traditional stag do, they could not have been more helpful. The place itself was comfortable and warm. We all did a bit of fishing and used the China Fleet health club (very good). They also pointed us in the right direction for pubs, walks etc.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deedlebum
2 reviews
“Idyllic set of cottages with everything you need .”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

13 of us stayed in three cottages alongside the lake and it was a wonderful weekend . Fishing , swimming , hot tubs food and drink with our friends and family . The cottages had everything we needed were beautiful and felt so homely. The owner was on site and was very welcoming and super helpful.
My family really enjoyed the indoor never ending pool as they are all sports people and enjoyed the challenge. I enjoyed watching them from the hot tub .
Thank you for a wonderful birthday weekend .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I Have just got home from a brilliant week away with my whole family to celebrate my nans 80th filing all the trehill cottages. Not only was I surprised to find such good accommodation for 25 people the grounds and country club passed were an added bonus. My 2 year old loved the donkeys and play area in the garden. The owners were incredibly helpful in helping me organise so many people with a very easy booking process and couldn't have done more to help us during our stay :) thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary s
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 70th”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Chose this as we liked the idea of all gathering in one large place. this was perfect. There was something for everyone. The games room and fishing were very good. Hot tub was just what we needed. It was always a bit of a concern getting together with so many family, but it worked well.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Both myself and my partner stayed here September 2016. We spent a week in Owls Roost which is a 2-4 bed cottage. We found the grounds and property to be of a relatively decent standard. There is a pond that was popular with the fishermen, and the grounds are of adequate size. The on site games room is what you would expect and slightly better maintained than other farmhouses we have visited in Cornwall. A few minor niggles with the cottage - bathroom door doesn't close properly and slight gap in the front door that that prevents it from closing fully. That said the property was of a decent standard. Wifi was patchy despite the on site boosters. The location is quiet but easily accessible. Local town was fairly run down. The addition of China fleet club made this cottage worth the stay as the facilities are amazing. Worth a visit if you want a quiet and peaceful picturesque location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia H
Dunstable
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED THE FISHING SO CLOSE TO THE LAKE”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first fishing holiday for 5 years as my husband has a lung condition and we cannot carry the equipment needed for fishing very far. This is just perfect because the lake is no more than a few steps and we could keep the equipment tackled up and ready to go each morning. It was a warm week luckily, but if the weather had been colder it was comforting to know that we could get inside quickly to warm up if needed. The air quality is wonderful and my husband said he felt better because of it. We stayed in Lakeside Cottage which was perfect. It has a balcony and we sat there on a number of evenings looking over the lake and watching the sun go down and the stars come out. Big thank you to Frances and Neville for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location so close to the lake. Great air quality.
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley77
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a week here with family and loved the place. The gardens and lake are beautiful and the kids loved going to feed the donkeys every day. The small games room is adequate and somewhere to go for a game of table tennis after dinner. The pool is tiny but we made use of the health club passes and enjoyed the flume and spacious swimming pool there. Plenty to do in surrounding areas within an hour from the cottages. The cottage kitchen had everything we needed and we even had a BBQ one evening. The only down side, as mentioned in other reviews, was the extremely soft mattresses - by the end of the week I found it impossible to get comfortable and resorted to sleeping on the sofa. With new mattresses this would score a 5 in my book!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing