We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th century mini chapel worth brief detour.”
Review of Dupath Well

Dupath Well
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,311 helpful votes
“15th century mini chapel worth brief detour.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have driven past the turning hundreds of times. About a minute outside Callington on the road to Saltash/Plymouth. Turn in left and follow the signs for about two minutes. A little confusing especially when you find yourself in the middle of an active farm yard. There is a small dedicated car park straight ahead. You can catch a glimpse of the top of the chapel over the hedge. Walk out and turn left and it's about ten metres down the lane. There's an informative sign by the gate and the little granite chapel which contains almost only a stone cistern in which people were dunked for spiritual and healing purposes. It's a quaint yet dignified very small scale building but I was pleased I took the trouble to go and look.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,328 helpful votes
“It's 'Dupath' well, not Depth Well.”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Check this place out on the English Heritage website. I tried to add it to this listing but the Tripadvisor software wouldn't let me, nor could I correct the name of the place. Not very member or traveller friendly. I suggest that if you live within easy distance or are passing through, you look this place up and factor it into a trip. Doesn't need much more that half an hour but it is worth that. Bit surprised that locals haven't contributed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,279 helpful votes
“Dupath Well, just worth the walk.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Not bad, just as well we read up on it before we came. Small simple but curious. Presume but can't be sure the history is true. Bit of walk from nearest parking. No complaints but the expedition left us feeling a bit middle aged. No real excitement or serious/intriguing history or much social context. You get the impression the locals may not think much of or bother with it. No one has bothered to correct the spelling of the listing heading. I would have got a pic for them but didnt take my camera.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
2,620 reviews
904 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,670 helpful votes
“Dupath Well”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Either a listing mistake or someone's predictive text has got this header name wrong. But there is a lot of correct coverage via English Heritage and Google, including pictures. This is a curious and fascinating site worth a little detour and research. It's claimed to have some medicinal and curative properties but it's the building and folklore that make it worth taking a look.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dupath Well also viewed

 
Callington, Cornwall
 

Been to Dupath Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing