We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous holiday home in peaceful setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Patio area
Patio area from private seating area
Kitchen
Sitting room
Double bedroom (king size bed)
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Swing seat in garden
Aerial photo of property
Ruin in garden with seating, great for drinks, BBQ or take a book!
Seating area in barn
Annexe with extra accommodation. Please enquire for quote, if required.
Bed in annexe. Please enquire for quote, if required,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elmo1976
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous holiday home in peaceful setting.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed twice now and set to go again in two weeks. House is lovely and very well equipped and set in acres of beautiful countryside. Our kids love running wild while we relax!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks for your kind words. See you in a couple of weeks :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel B
1 review
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A stream trickling by outside your window, birds singing, primroses flowering, a truly heavenly setting. We were made very welcome and Sherwell cottage is warm, well appointed and very comfortable. Our children loved the garden and we really wished we had taken our dogs as they would have loved it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, it was idyllic.
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaw...
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious stunning house beautifully decorated, huge gardens, rural & quiet”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

You couldn't fault the house or the owners, beautiful gardens perfect for a big bbq get together with friends or family, lovely welcome grocery pack on arrival and two very friendly doggies that came to say hello.
Great if you want a rural base to visit the tamar valley area, only about an hours drive to the bigger western Cornwall tourist areas.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage, with lovely decor and linens, and every detail thought of! Amazing grounds, fantastic for children to run about and explore. And very quiet and safe. Brilliant hosts, friendly and nothing too much trouble! Would love to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel L
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“To have peace and quiet from the rat-race this cottage is ideal.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Extensive grounds to wonder around including an old woods in which I saw a deer.
Just looking out of kitchen window we saw squirrels, a fox and rabbits and a badger amiably along.
Plenty to see and do in South Cornwall if you take the time to explore.
The owners are kind and thoughtful.
The cottage lacks for nothing and is spacious.
I would highly recommend Sherwell Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect - Home from Home”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this really lovely cottage with our dog Thomas. Peter & Tracey made us very welcome with scones/jam/cream and wine left for us in the cottage on arrival, from day 1 it really felt like home for the next two weeks The cottage was well equiped especially in the kitchen, we wanted for nothing during our stay. The grounds were wonderful for taking our dog his daily walks and loved Ziggy & Lunar the owners dogs tagging along with us, they are so friendly and funny. Peter & Tracey were great and didn't feel their presence was intrusive in any way even though they lived next door.
The cottage is situated in a fantastic place, great for exploring all of Cornwall with Lands End only 1& 1/2 hrs away and also Devon in the opposite direction.
We would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be back to stay here as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing