We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing the small things”
Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
SouthWest
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Missing the small things”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Booked a table for 2 for Fathers day so expected it to be busy and it was. As often happens, the table for 2 was tucked away in the corner, was wobbly and one seat was almost touching the Chefs table with the Soup / Gravy on. We requested a move and were granted another ( also wobbly), table in the other room, which was better - but we were warned "to be clear in 1 hour as someone else needs that table". No pressure there then !
The Main Course I cannot fault. It was fresh, hot and there was plenty of it. The Beef was done nicely and the slices were "man-size", the Yorkshire pud was extra large and the gravy was tasty. There was a nice selection of Veg.
A nice meal - except the "pudding" (I had Apple crumble with vanilla ice cream), was a let down, as it appeared to have been "nuked". The apple at the sides of the small dish was dry and the centre was boiling. The waiters and waitresses were efficient, but not friendly ( there was a lot of people there though).
I will give it another try sometime but not on "special" occasions as they appear to struggle with crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    82
    21
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
87
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Our brass band needed accommodation for one night's stay, and the staff could not have been more helpful, even with our various changes to the rooms required. The accommodation was excellent, as was the generous breakfast. This hotel would make a great base to tour West Cornwall. I wish my stay had been longer!

Room Tip: book the honeymoon suite, even if you're not on honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thought we would go out for the evening and with our budget being quite tight thought we would try the steak meal with a bottle of wine, not expecting much we were pleasantly surprised as it was excellent, staff very friendly and attentive, would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed for one night for a wedding. We needed to get into the room early to change and they sorted this for us without fuss. Another friend was worried about the noise from the band on a Friday night and they were upgraded free to the bridal suite. Nice little town. Must go back some time with more time on our hands.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaughter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Let me make this simple; if you are looking for a pub with a good atmosphere, excellent food, friendly staff and patrons this is the place to go. Tyack's hotel and restaurant is head and shoulders above any other establishment in Camborne and you'd have to travel quite a few miles to find another place similar...hmmm...The Sloop in St. Ives is comparable, but way too small and they don't screen live sports or have proper live music playing every Friday night...Tyacks rules!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C41GBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The food is very good lovely Sunday carvery, staff very friendly and helpful, especially jenny and Luke, we go there for family occasions and at least once a week for a coffee, would highly recommend to visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Tyacks Hotel for two nights as it was central to where we were visiting. The staff were lovely and made us very welcome and at home. The suite we occupied was spacious and we were spoiled with a four poster bed, roll top bath in the bedroom with Jack & Jill handbasins. The room was clean and bright with tea, coffee and biscuits provided.
The restaurant offered a good range of meals at a reasonable price with attentive and efficient staff. Breakfast was great with a good choice and plentiful in portion. The main bar area is very lively with entertainment on both the Friday and Saturday night however we did not suffer any disturbance in our room.
I would highly recommend this hotel based on quality of service, food and standard of room, all exceptional.

Room Tip: Suite 1 was large bright and airy and did not suffer noise from entertainment in bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerCamborne, Front Office Manager at Tyacks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay.
I shall ensure all staff are praised for their efforts, and we look forward to your return to Tyacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
7.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
7.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Property: Tyacks Hotel
Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing