We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great hotel”
Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Reviewed 9 August 2013

was in camborne for work stayed here for two nights rooms where big and clean. Staff where happy and cheerful food was outstanding the breakfast was one of the best i have had, i would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Tyacks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was thrilled by the wonderful service - always ever so helpful. Left my cardi behind and they posted to me without a problem. food absolutely gorgeous, fresh and tasty!! Definitely will go again. Can't see how one can get lost really easy to find the rooms and we were on the top floor

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the back if you can can get noisy with the pub crowd
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

we stayed 2 nights here , the rooms were big and clean bathroom was a little out dated .we had a hard time remembering were our room was the hotel had extention and you had to go up stairwells do right and left turns go through lots of doors by the end of it we were tied had to lay down .we had a fire exit door next to our room which led straight down to the court yard so we used this after a few attempts to locate our room
this is a great hotel with lots of charactor and flare staff are happy and cheerful on greetings and only to happy to give you any assistance needed .we had sunday carvery which we both thought was one of the best we have had and to top it off wonderful cornish beakfast was part of the package and just as nice
hotel is in the center of town so take a leisurely stroll down town
what a lovely town and friendly people too . we will stay here again when we are next in that part of the world

Room Tip: stay on lower floors if possible to many stairs and doors to open and close but that is only a smal...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Only stayed one night on business but will stay again when in area a good find.

Room [10] good size, comfortable, although a little dated it was clean and bright. Bathroom was adequate although again a little dated.

The hotel itself has a realy good pub attached that has two bars and a restaurant. I had a bar snack which was very tatsy and good value for money, the beer was good with two real ales offered.

Breakfast was very substantial and tasty with mainly local ingredients a great start to the day.

Great hotel and pub with very friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location of the hotel is superb, right in the centre of town, the room was clean and comfortable, and the staff where superb, friendly and helpful,the food apart from the huge full Cornish breakfast was a bit hit and miss, my wife had a dry tasteless chicken and avocado pesto pannini one night and overcooked scrambled eggs for breakfast on the second morning, hence the score I have given the hotel, although there was a live band on the first night we where there and a disco the second night, we where not disturbed by any noise at all.

Room Tip: The hotel offers quite rooms on request because it gets busy at weekends.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkhorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed at Tyacks for two nights while attending the funeral of a friend in Helston. Chose Tyacks because we still have family in Camborne and two of our children came over on the Sunday night and we all thoroughly enjoyed the carvery.
Our room was far more roomy and comfortable than I expected - and it was quiet (not so sure what it would have been like on a Friday night but we had no complaints).
One little niggle was that reception never seemed to be manned and I was always chasing after someone both when we booked in and out. But someone came from the bar very quickly so that is only a minor point.
The hotel actually lost a meal sale from us on Monday. Because Sunday had been such a nice experience we decided to dine in again on Monday but there was no-one in the dining room and no staff around. It was like the Marie Celeste - so we went down the road to the Chinese instead.
We will certainly stay in Tyacks again when we next have to come down. It was a bit like deja vu as it does not appear to have changed much since I was a child but I guess that is much of its charm.
Finally, fell in love with the hotel cat - very tempted to smuggle her back to Wales!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnandcaroline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel room excellent and te reception was very helpful. However when it came to eating I found the waiter a little rude. Not very friendly a didn't seem to care much for manors like thank you.
However a good range of specials and good food.
The restaurant was a little old fashioned and gloomy but this somehow adds to the character.

Summary, a nice hotel and good food. Shame about the waiter.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicktaunton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
252 reviews
10.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
444 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range: £75 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing