We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helen C”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Helen C”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here with some friends and had a thoroughly great time - Camborne has excellent transport links (train and bus stations) and Tyacks is just around the corner from both. Friendly welcoming staff, great food, comfortable rooms and very reasonable price made for a fantastic getaway bolthole - we all recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    80
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
54
85
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised! My partner is from Camborne and we were coming down from the Midlands for a wedding. We decided to not book anything and just arrive on spec to see what we could get, knowing at the last resort the local Premier Inn had availability. Due to slow traffic we decided to phone ahead and spoke to a lovely lady who offered us a twin or the Honeymoon suite for £69 per room inc breakfast – a great deal as the best the Premier Inn could do was £75 with no breakfast! We were warned that is was Friday night so there was a live band playing until midnight, so there could be noise – this is also mentioned over the website which I thought was very open and honest.
We didn’t arrive until 11pm and had a warm welcome from reception. We enjoyed a couple of (well priced) drinks in the quieter of their 2 bars. The Honeymoon suite was lovely, very spacious. It was very romantic, with a large Victorian style bath and Champagne cooler in the middle of the room, and a very comfortable 4-poster bed. It was clean and well kept, and tastefully decorated. The room was far enough away that we couldn’t hear anything of the band.
Breakfast was lovely – plenty of choice and well presented. It looked like it was from local produce as well.
A couple of small negatives – there was no hairdryer in our room (sure it was an oversight) and there was no actual shower, just a shower hose in the bath. We are definitely shower people and not used to sitting in the bath having a ‘shower’ so found it a bit awkward, particularly trying to wash hair! I’m sure it is very romantic to have a bath together but surely most guests would still want just a shower at some point! I also found our breakfast waitress a little unhelpful generally – example, another party of 3 walked in shortly after us and when they asked her where they could sit, conversation went “That table over there”, “Which one? This one?”, “No, that one in the corner”, “This corner?”, “No, the other corner, laid up for 4”. Small thing, but think she should have actually showed them the table rather than pointing from the other side of the room.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is lovely - its also quieter as its away from the noisier part of the pub and on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my brother and sister recently. Camborne is a bit of the tourist track but convenient for lots of places and the hotel offered very comfortable accommodation and good food at a very reasonable price. We were told, on booking in, that there would be music until midnight in one of the bars: it was good to know this at the outset as we could plan round it and in the event it was not a problem. The music finished promptly at midnight, with no "afters". The rooms are spacious and although the hotel is in the centre of Camborne, it is a very quiet town. We had dinner there the first night, which was good, and the breakfast was up to the mark, although the coffee cools rather quickly in the china pots. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is by far the best carvery i have had and ive had afew. Everytime perfect meats and a good range of sides, Roasties im not over keen on byut others are so just my own preferance. Although i do think the main menu food is pretty poor and overpriced, chips are terrible

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Fairtrade group for Camborne has its monthly meetings in Tyacks because it serves Fairtrade coffee, tea etc. There are only five of us and we have a working lunch. We are always so well looked after. The service is attentive and the food such good value. This month, three of my colleagues had the salad bar, another had an excellent ham sandwich and I had a mediterranean vegetable bake with deep fried risotto balls garnished with deep fried rocket. There is a menu with typical bar food which we have used before and a specials board which often has that little something different to tempt you. One of us has gluten in tollerence and they are always happy to modify dishes for her. Lunch for five with teas and coffees for £40 has to good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to stay for few days in Camborne. met up with friends for meal on Saturday night, and had booked table at Tyacks. Resturant was packed. Started at bar with the most fresh pint of Tribute ever tasted. soon show to our table where we all decided on the rump steak. despite them being busy we did not wait long for the food. chips served in seperate bowls and the main plate full with steak, salad, mushrooms etc. Was pleasantly surprised that a special request for mushroom sauce was catered for with no hesitation. food was top class and you could taste the quality. Waiter service second to none. Decided to return on Sunday to sample the Cavery. three courses for £15, seemed a bargain. Tomato and Basil soup to start with choice of bread. soup thick tasty and hot. proceeded to cavery where we sampled the Roast beef (there was also lamb and chicken on offer). should be a warning about not filling your plate to high as there is so much food on offer its easy to get carried away!. Again food was right temperature, fresh and very tasty, the beef was melt in the mouth. we both sampled the desert although it finally beat us in the end, but leave room for the lemon and vanilla brule, it is worth it. all in all i would highly recommend the Tyacks as a place to dine, and as a side comment the main bar does a good disco on a Saturday night. Congratulations to Tommy and all the Tyacks staff, what a gem!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

ended up in Camborne by mistake. tired, thirsty and hungry. almost didn't go in , as the menu displayed on the outside of the building wasn't that inspiring. However, we did, and we were rewarded with a specials menu which made it hard to choose, it all sounded so good. Our meal was delicious, the beer was first class and the staff were all very helpful.
Not sure we will ever be in Camborne again, but if you are; do visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
10.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Property: Tyacks Hotel
Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing