We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing - Incredibly noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing - Incredibly noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Cornwall to see my niece and stayed at Tyacks for 2 nights which was more than enough for us!
We chose Tyacks because it is pet friendly which meant we could take our boarder collie on holiday for the weekend and I was very excited by this and had high hopes for our stay..... only to be left disappointed. Our room was basic with no Tea only organic available, the bathroom had a lot of limescale and the bed was very uncomfortable and too small for my husband. This was all bearable but the level of noise was horrendous! I am only 31 and enjoy a drink and music but to be in your room and be drowned out by a disco and DJ with the loudest base line I have ever heard was just horrendous.. once the music stopped we then had to endure everyone leaving the pub and shouting outside our window.. followed by the town bell ringing on the hour! Our rooms was right above the bar and it was nothing short of horrendous both nights we stayed.. no matter how loud I turned the telly up it did not drown out the music at all.
Breakfast was also a disappointment, our cooked breakfast was stone cold and when I asked the waitress for poached eggs (bearing in mind we were not asked how we would like our eggs) she got the hump and huffed off rather than smiling and saying no problem! Needless to say the second morning we decided to not go down for breakfast.....
It is a shame I have to write this but I feel people need to be fully aware of what to expect when the website says some rooms are "subject to noise" .. if you like rowdy pubs then this is the place for you, but if you want a quite break for 2 this is not the place to stay.
It has to be said the manager could not have been more helpful and understanding and we only ended up paying for 1 night out of the 2 we were there so 10/10 for customer service.. especially when they rung me to say I had left my wedding rings behind, very kind of them as it meant I was close enough to turn around and go back.
So it ended on a more positive note for us, nice looking hotel just a shame it is above a busy pub really unless you like that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerCamborne, Front Office Manager at Tyacks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate all feedback good and bad as we can learn from our mistakes and improve our service.

We are very disappointed to hear your comments regarding your recent stay.

Tyacks is located in a very busy town centre. Noise is an issue, especially at weekends as we have live entertainment.
All of our websites state this. We are honest and do advise guests of this.It does also say if you would like a quiet room to please notify reception and we will do our best to accommodate you.

I have noted your comments with reference to meals and will speak with the head chef to improve standards.

The tea/coffee in the rooms is fairtrade organic and provided from Cornish Coffee as we believe in supplying locally sustained produce.

We are currently in the process of an extensive maintenance programme throughout the hotel. Our maintenance team are now aware of the issues raised and these will be addressed.

On a positive note we are pleased you were satisfied with the service given by the duty manager. We address all complaints and refund when justified.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you will return to Cornwall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    80
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
54
85
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I chose the hotel on the basis that it was close to where I needed to be for an early meeting. The room was nice enough, with pine furniture and the bathroom, though rather dated with a few cracked tiles, was clean and everything functioned as it should.
There was a copy of the restaurant menu in the room, and it didn't look particularly inspiring at first glance (standard pub fare), but after a quick wander round town I decided it would be the best of a bad lot! It was only when I went back in to get a meal that I saw the extensive specials board which was far more inspiring and I ended up with a delicious seared tuna steak! The restaurant was busy with diners and I noticed that the meal portions for the fish and chips and such from the main menu were very large - so worth going if you have a healthy appetite.
Also they carry a good selection of ales which is also a winner for me (though I couldn't sample many as I had an early meeting).
Breakfast in the morning was also good with a good choice of cooked meals and cereals.
The price was good too - much cheaper than any low-budget chain, with a more homely feel, not to mention that you're supporting a local business.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one facing away from the road if possible - the traffic noise started fairly early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Top_Starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Decent rooms ,friendly staff and average food.
Bar staff friendly and attentive, they directed me to local area attractions such as South Crofty tin mine.
Restaurant clean and tidy with typical menu for a local town establishment. Adequate for my needs.
Hotel has music events in one of the bars making for I lively evening and event was over by closing time.

Room Tip: Take a room at the rear of the hotel away from high st for quieter evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Went into today for the launch of their new 'Bistro Boesti', and wow! Reasonable prices and very tasty. Lots of choices of flavoured coffees, from black forest or peppermint mocha, to gingerbread lattes or white hot chocolate. Nice choice of fresh cakes, flapjacks, granola bars. Great to see somewhere locally offering takeaway coffees that aren't just boring old lattes/cappuccino and are cheaper than places like Costa. Nice space to go in and relax and quick service from friendly staff. I think we all need to do our bit and SUPPORT LOCAL BUSINESSES, otherwise Camborne will become like any other town taken over by big chains. Well done Tyacks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a recommendation from someone who lived locally. However, the room could do with freshening up and a deep clean and they were unwilling to provide breakfast when my 7 year old son and I had to leave early to catch the 646 train to Glasgow. Given the length of that journey I would have expected any hotel worth its salt to be able to provide a child with breakfast.

We were also told one day, by the waitress, "you're lucky, you've just made it in time. We stop serving at 930". We had arrived in the breakfast room at 915 - hardly cutting it fine!

But these things aside, it's a real shame the service let it down because the breakfast menu is fabulous and absolutely delicious. LOADS of choices and good sized portions.

The addition of free wi-fi is a bonus, but they don't really promote it and you have to ask separately for the password. I also found it quite difficult on several occasions to find staff to deal with any query, even on the reception desk.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rossco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tyacks for 6 nights in July. Our room was massive- very comfortable with a nice bay window overlooking the street. The owners were super friendly and helpful, they have a very good policy for fair trade and sustainable produce, the bar is welcoming and comfortable. Plus there is a bus stop across the road which takes you straight to St Ives. Free wifi was also very welcome. All in all it was a great pub to base ourselves. We'd definitely recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julia_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here with some friends and had a thoroughly great time - Camborne has excellent transport links (train and bus stations) and Tyacks is just around the corner from both. Friendly welcoming staff, great food, comfortable rooms and very reasonable price made for a fantastic getaway bolthole - we all recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
10.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Property: Tyacks Hotel
Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing