We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Lowenac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowenac Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Merthyr Tydfil,Wales,UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just spent 2 nights at the lowenac and I must say what a fantastic place it is. The room was large and bed was very comfortable. Adele was
On hand with help and advice in area. We had lunch there the first day and must comment that it was amazing, everything is homemade and absolutely delicious,I had fish bites with homemade chips, peas and tartare sauce and coleslaw. It was piping hot and cooked beautifully. My partner had ham, eggs and chips, no plastic ham here..proper ham cut from the bone, free range eggs and hand cut chips and coleslaw. Best coleslaw I have tasted! It was outstanding value at £6.50 each.
Breakfast was usual cereal of choice, juice and freshly made toast and tea/coffee but it was the full English breakfast that came into its own. All local produce and beautifully cooked and so tasty.
The hotel is ideally placed for touring southern Cornwall and would recommend it. The place should be packed to the rafters, the food is outstanding. Will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Cornwall
Kim and Paul x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttywelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    20
    10
    16
See reviews for
35
21
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Lowenac Hotel, first rate accomodation, food excellent the chef Darren, would go out of his way to make anything you required, and the staff could not do enough for you.The hotel manageress, Adele, was always there for any slight thing that was required, and whilst i was there i was priveledged to observe a wedding occassion. This is a brilliant place to stay and more to the pointan outstanding place for anyone planning a forth coming wedding. Again the staff were excellent and the people whose wedding it was were extremely pleased with the service and attention to detail . I would stay there again and would tell people to try it out, good quality and reasonably priced .

Room Tip: All rooms very adequate and well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffscholes1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We went for a meal here as a Friday night special occasion, we booked the all you can eat American Buffet, the food was great, the service too, we were also attending a couple of weddings here in quick succession, and had a great time, the last one was brilliant, great attentive service by the staff and Adele who was the Master of Ceremonies, she kept everything ticking along and pretty much to time, I guess if you pay for the extra service it makes all the difference to what was a very special day, and the feedback we received was very positive! Thanks to Martin, Adele and the wonderful staff for a fabulous time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chelly0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Went to a wedding and had a brilliant time .The staff and owners are very friendly and the prices at the bar were reasonable for a hotel.The meal at the wedding was very good but the breakfast in my opinion was not very good .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr8476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A business meeting on a Friday afternoon in Cambourne meant that I had the opportunity to combine business and pleasure at the Lowenac, and what a pleasure it was. I was initially greeted by Martin (who I later found out was the manager), who quickly checked the details of my requirements and introduced me to Adele who organised everything for my meeting and eventually the weekend. A light and airy meeting room was provided for the Friday afternoon and Adele took the time to ascertain the names of my visitors, and on their arrival introduced them personally to me which set a perfect business tone with a local welcome which was ideal. A sandwich tea had been organised with the emphasis on locally provided produce which again sat very well with my visitors. Attentive, business like efficiency and friendliness without fuss tempted me to extend my stay for a little R and R. Room 2 is enormous with a four poster bed, space and comfort beyond my initial expectation. The weekend wasn't blessed with exceptional weather but the hospitality and welcoming nature of the staff compensated for this. I was given good advice on where to go locally with Perranporth just a short drive away, and also where to eat outside the hotel. On the Saturday evening we ordered a special from the menu of line caught sea bass which was perfectly cooked by Darren one of the chefs who took time to recommend an accompanying sauce which was fantastic.
Breakfast was substantial and piping hot which set us up for the day, but the meal with real standout and exceptional value for money was the Sunday lunch . My partner enjoyed a selection of roasts form the carvery with all the trimmings, whilst I again opted for the fish dish which was sole in a white sauce, cooked individually and served to the table. All in all a really welcoming and comfortable place to stay with fantastic food and really pleasant and attentive staff. Amazing value, We will definitely return this summer with family.

Room Tip: I didn't check out the other rooms, but room 2 is the honeymoon suite with a 4 poster bed, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSMETHURST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hospitality & exceptional service. Frequently stay for business. Martin the Manager is always friendly & the stay a pleasure. Would recommend this hotel to any business traveller. The food is excellent and the rooms well prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Another tasty Sunday lunch here. Service a1 again - staff attentive and interested in their customers. Delicious carvery with kids under 7 again eating for £1 a course - why aren't there more young families here? They are mad to miss out. Thank you again for delicious food. Will be back again :-)))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carobslime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,244 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
13.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
595 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowenac Hotel

Property: Lowenac Hotel
Address: 34 Basset Road, Camborne TR14 8SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lowenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowenac Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing