We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Lowenac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lowenac Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed over in Cambourne at the Lowenac Hotel to attend our friends daughters wedding.

We were met at reception at by Adele who took us to room 1 This is a very spacious room with leather furniture and a really great bathroom with an enormous walk in shower.
The room overlooked the gardens where the wedding service took place the next day. We watched as the gardens were transformed into a beautiful wedding venue by the family with the help of the friendly staff.
The room was spotlessly clean and contained all the bits and pieces we have come to expect, flat screeen TV, hospitality tray etc.

Dinner on the Friday had a special of Fish and chips , but Darren who was introduced as one of the chefs for the evening recommended a flavoursome rump steak which was perfectly cooked with al the trimmings, the house wine with dinner was really good and the whole meal was very enjoyable and exceptional value for money.

The catering for the wedding breakfast was exceptional and the whole occaision was seamlessly organised and made for a perfect day for our friends.

On the Sunday we were joined by others from the wedding party for an impromptu Sunday lunch from the very busy carvery. A great selection of meats carved by the chefs and a selection of piping hot vegetables represented extraordinary value for money.

The Lowenac is well placed for exploring St Ives and Gwithian Sands. we have promised ourselves a pampered weekend here again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    19
    9
    16
See reviews for
35
21
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've been holidaying in England for several weeks with lots of eating out, and The Lowenac is by far the best restaurant we've been to. The menu offers a great range of meals, the food is absolutely delicious, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the value is incredible. I wish we were locals so this could be our regular place for dinners out. Chris & Julie from Australia

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceebee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. The evening meal was really good as was the breakfast. The chef made a specially requested breakfast, which could not have been better. However we were really disappointed with the room. The ensuite wasnt big enough to accomodate the sink so this was plumbed into the bedroom, which was inconvenient. The sash window didnt stay open and was very dirty, as was the net curtain. Although the hotel has tried to modernise the room by adding an en suite the finishing touches are not there with old doors half painted, door handles taped etc. After the first day the wet towel werent changed and we had to request hand towels. Not what you would expect for £90 a night!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil,Wales,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just spent 2 nights at the lowenac and I must say what a fantastic place it is. The room was large and bed was very comfortable. Adele was
On hand with help and advice in area. We had lunch there the first day and must comment that it was amazing, everything is homemade and absolutely delicious,I had fish bites with homemade chips, peas and tartare sauce and coleslaw. It was piping hot and cooked beautifully. My partner had ham, eggs and chips, no plastic ham here..proper ham cut from the bone, free range eggs and hand cut chips and coleslaw. Best coleslaw I have tasted! It was outstanding value at £6.50 each.
Breakfast was usual cereal of choice, juice and freshly made toast and tea/coffee but it was the full English breakfast that came into its own. All local produce and beautifully cooked and so tasty.
The hotel is ideally placed for touring southern Cornwall and would recommend it. The place should be packed to the rafters, the food is outstanding. Will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Cornwall
Kim and Paul x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttywelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Lowenac Hotel, first rate accomodation, food excellent the chef Darren, would go out of his way to make anything you required, and the staff could not do enough for you.The hotel manageress, Adele, was always there for any slight thing that was required, and whilst i was there i was priveledged to observe a wedding occassion. This is a brilliant place to stay and more to the pointan outstanding place for anyone planning a forth coming wedding. Again the staff were excellent and the people whose wedding it was were extremely pleased with the service and attention to detail . I would stay there again and would tell people to try it out, good quality and reasonably priced .

Room Tip: All rooms very adequate and well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffscholes1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We went for a meal here as a Friday night special occasion, we booked the all you can eat American Buffet, the food was great, the service too, we were also attending a couple of weddings here in quick succession, and had a great time, the last one was brilliant, great attentive service by the staff and Adele who was the Master of Ceremonies, she kept everything ticking along and pretty much to time, I guess if you pay for the extra service it makes all the difference to what was a very special day, and the feedback we received was very positive! Thanks to Martin, Adele and the wonderful staff for a fabulous time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chelly0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Went to a wedding and had a brilliant time .The staff and owners are very friendly and the prices at the bar were reasonable for a hotel.The meal at the wedding was very good but the breakfast in my opinion was not very good .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr8476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0.2 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
237 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
838 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowenac Hotel

Property: Lowenac Hotel
Address: 34 Basset Road, Camborne TR14 8SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lowenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowenac Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing