We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good buffet”
Review of Buffet City

Buffet City
Ranked #24 of 53 Restaurants in Camborne
Price range: US$8 - US$129
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Due to the reviews, I was a little dubious to visit this Chinese Restaurant, but thought I would check it out for myself.

Based on this visit, I would say it is probably the best Chinese Buffet in Cornwall and I will certainly be a regular diner here in the future.

The food was delicious, especially the starters and all the dishes were being constantly replaced with fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    68
    37
    19
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Stay at home”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The food is no better than your below average take away. Pretty grim experience all together, but this is Camborne after all. Shame though, it could be so much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salty_Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese restaurant ever”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Bad restaurant, bad experience, BAD management with ATTITUDE, bad quality of food.
Never again, 3 days of diarrhea/food poisoning, how can people say its good food. Cheap price yes but same time cheap soup kitchen.
Chicken curry total tasteless coloured water more like soup and not curry, peanut sauce total joke.
Food standing for hours, once half empty they top up and stir/mix in the fresh.
Blackbean tasteless & dried up.
Ribs, I had to check my feet just to see I wasn't eating my shoes as the ribs were over cooked and dry.
Tables packed close to get more customers packed in like sardines so customer service not a thought ONLY profit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iwasthereRedruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have eaten in quite a few Chines Buffet establishments and as we were on holiday in Cornwall we decided to try this one. As it was a new establishment we viewed the comments on here but still decided to try it. We actually ended up going there 3 times and on each occasion we found the food to be of good quality and in plentiful supply. The service was good although the waitresses were a little slower in removing the dirty plates than in some of the other Buffet's we have eaten in. The waitresses were always friendly and pleasant in their attitude but we did wonder whether this was because the 'nasty lady owner' was not around. Well on the 3rd visit she was and we have to admit that she was very pleasant and the waitresses all seemed happy even though she was there, she was very attentive to the needs of the customers and at no time ever raised her voice to the staff or customers.
It may be that in the early days of the place being open she wanted to make sure that it all went right as this is quite a big commitment opening something like this.
We will be eating here again when we return to Cornwall next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDicknVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Been to better, also been to worse.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Last night was my first experience at Buffet City in Camborne. I've been looking forward to it, since I first heard about it.
My first experience has let me down a little, never the less though, I would go back and try again.
First of all the staff was quite rude and I don't not find then very helpful. With it being my first time, there was a little confusion of when to go up and knowing where plates were placed. Drinks were very pricey so I only enjoyed on beverage, they also charge 15% on your total bill if you have water - a little unfair in my eyes. They also charge £3 on food wastage, but they do not explain how much you can waste, for you to get charged, so you're conscious about that and don't relax or enjoy it so much.
The food was of okay quality, some dishes a lot better then others. Or though I do not have children of my own, I noticed if you had a child over a certain height, they would be charged for an adult. I found that very unfair, a certain age maybe, but not height.
The toilets were very clean and very nice, the whole place did seem very clean and well maintained. Just the food and the staff were a let down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane70123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet City also viewed

Camborne, Cornwall
Camborne, Cornwall
 
Camborne, Cornwall
Camborne, Cornwall
 

Been to Buffet City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing