We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mellingray Cottage

Mellingray Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mellingray Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Mellingray Cottage
Mellingray Cottage, Bedroom
Mellingray Cottage, Bedroom, towels provided
Woodburner in Living room first net of logs provided free of charge
Living room and woodburner
Living room looking out onto the lakes
Kitchen Dining Room
Kitchen Diner into Living Room
Kitchen Diner
Shower Room
Mellingray Cottage- Views across lakes and rolling hills
field
Mellingray Cottage, side view and drive
Driveway
Grounds of Mellingray
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Camelford, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

106benp
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had a fantastic 4 nights here with the missus and the pooch. Everything was perfect and will definetly be back! Thanks Rachel and Tim for a great stay!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Found this cottage when viewing responses to requests for accommodation on FB and thought at the time, that look a wonderful property, so much so that we managed a three stay.

The cottage is off the beaten track and down a long drive which brings you to a group of three properties, the cottage is part of the middle property. It is as the pictures suggest, plenty of space to park the car. The view from the lounge is glorious and we said to ourselves we must return in the spring / autumn as our stay was quite wet but the cottage more than made up for the weather.

Quite spacious it is fair to say with separate bathroom with shower which has recently been redone and lots of hot water. Lots of seating in the lounge, you can have a settee each! TV reception on BBC was poor but ITV was available but that didn't spoil the visit. WIFI - couldn't be faulted. Mobile (O2) reception in the lounge but not the bedroom.

We made use of the hot tub - tip, don't forget the switch on the outside light isolation switch before you go outside as when it is dark, it is dark, there isn't any outside light otherwise.

Well equipped and of course the other treat is the wood burner, logs supplied each day during our stay. Depending on the time of year you will need it as there isn't any heating in the lounge.

The ideal would have been underfloor heating but then I'm getting picky. The test of any holiday property is whether you would return, we certainly would.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothertea...
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Day Holiday. Pet dog welcome.”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely time we had. Wood burner with loads of logs left for us. Hot Tub on Christmas Morning drinking Champagne, while Turkey was cooking as we were admiring the beautiful views. Cottage was well equipped. everything you needed there with a lovely Welcome Pack, Mince Pies, Mulled Wine, crackers. so nice of the owners Rebecca and Tim.
Enjoyed every minute.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a lovely stay with us at christmas, We would love to welcome you back anytime. Happy new year. Best wishes Rebecca and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect week away!”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just wonderful.
My husband, dog and I had a fab week here.
The cottage is beautiful and in a great location close to Bude, Widemouth Bay, Tintagel and many other stunning locations.
We loved to go out and explore during the day and then come back to the amazing hot tub and wood burner in the evenings.
All 3 of us had a great time.
Although we mainly had meals in the cottage, there are pubs nearby such as the Wisely Down and The Old Wainhouse which served great food, and the Hilltop farm cafe does an amazing full English breakfast.
We will definitely be back at some point next year!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellep...
Findon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic break at Mellingray Cottage, cottage spotless, location great, well equipped, hot tub superb. Best nights sleep ever. Will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leesam565
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay lovely cottage, cosy and lovely!”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and I stayed here for our little honeymoon after getting married 2 months ago. Rebecca was SO helpful and warmly greeted us when we arrived even though it was very late. Such a lovely base in Cornwall and in terms of location with Padstow and Port Isaac 20-25 minutes down the road it was great.

The cottage was really clean and fresh when we arrived and the kitchen was stocked up with all utensils and items we would need. We ate in many times because of this. The log burner was such a lovely touch and the hot tub is FANTASTIC. We used the hot tub every day which is in a lovely private secluded area on the other side of the cottage.

I would highlight recommend staying here for anyone looking for a nice cosy romantic Cornwall retreat. You won't be disappointed!!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPYGAL8...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous break away”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Mellingray cottage. Rebecca and Tim were lovely, showing us all of the facilities as we arrived, and welcoming us with a cream tea and some biscuits- perfect!! The location is fabulous, you feel like you are in another world, but 10 minutes down the road is the coast and some beautiful seaside towns. The hot tub was fantastic (didn't need to use the log burner). Would definitely stay again if we were visiting this area, and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.