We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, relaxed fabulous holiday!”
Review of Mayrose Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayrose Farm
Reviewed 9 July 2014

As a family of four, its sometimes hard to keep everyone happy but this holiday was one of the best we have been on and these lovely cottages, beautiful setting and relaxed safe family atmosphere just made it for us! We stayed in the Pool Cottage which I think is more modern than the rest and looks to have the best view of all the cottages. Very well equipped, patio doors which opened up onto a lovely space for the kids (age 2+10) to be free to run around. Such a lovely chilled holiday, about 50 mins from some of the attractions that we wanted to go to but that suited us away from the hustle and bustle! Would definately recommend Lappa Valley Steam Railway Park and the kids loved Crealeys Cornwall, (no queues at this time of year!) The owners are on site if you need anything, but tend to just leave you to enjoy your holiday.
Would definately recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages, which was beautiful, spacious and even had a patio from the lounge where we enjoyed the most amazing countryside views from a secluded terrace in the sun. There was a lovely walk down to the pond at the end of the garden. We enjoyed watching the birds, ducks, guinea pigs and use of fresh eggs from their free range hens for our breakfast. Thank you. There was a swimming pool, a games room and an additional field for camping visitors. We enjoyed our visit to Tintagel Castle and Port Isaac and Boscastle. There were many places for evening meals out but our favourite by far was the St Kew Inn (beautiful setting, wonderful choice and quality food) and not too far to drive. Mayrose Farm is only a short drive to most local attractions and is well worth a visit. The only disadvantage for us was that we could not stay any longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place was our families 3rd camping trip. 1st was a trial run by my father house in mid-wales(in case things went wrong) our 2nd was in a campsite in Brean where everybody drank Carling, let their kids run wild and ate fish & chips for breakfast, lunch and supper. I must say this beautiful little campsite restored my faith in camping. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the neighbours were fantastic.(not beer monsters) Kids loved the pool and feeding the animals. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrT817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a fantastic campsite! Tucked away in the middle of beautiful Cornish countryside, this site has the perfect combination for a true family holiday. The owners couldn't be more welcoming and were always available for help or advice about making the most of the area. The camping facilities are excellent with clean and spacious showers, games room (including pool table) and lovely outdoor heated pool set in a sunny, sheltered courtyard (the pool was beautifully warm even in May!). The site has a very relaxed, natural feel and the children can help feed the farm animals every morning. There is a small 'honesty' shop that has a good selection of essentials and local produce. A real hidden gem on this site is the landscaped lake area a short walk into the valley that has picnic benches and a fire-pit. We had a perfect family evening of cooking on the open fire with a few glasses of wine whilst the children climbed trees, pond dipped and generally did what children should do on holiday! We will certainly be coming back here for years to come and would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

These cottages are amazing, tucked away just off the A30 the setting is idyllic. If you are a family the farm is perfect, the animals are all friendly and the pool is just excellent.

The owners were really helpful, and there is even a mini-farm shop for essentials and anything else that may have been grown on the farm.

You are obviously not on a beach, but with so many amazing parts of the coastline within a 15-20 minute car drive there is no lack of choice. I would suggest Daymer Beach, or Carnewas – these were the best two we found but there are so many more.

You may find cheaper in Cornwall, but I doubt you will find better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persia-Bellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We're just getting into camping, so we're not quite ready to go completely 'Ray Mears'. To have a small, friendly site with plenty of facilities is exactly what we were after. The kids loved it because they were plenty of 'mates' to play with, lots of small farm animals and an outdoor swimming pool. We loved it because the kids were happy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have stayed here a few times, in a couple of cottages and also in the Glampod. The welcome is always second to none, and the accommodation is homely and cosy. I cannot recommend it highly enough - if you want a proper family holiday with space for both adults and children, with amenities and views and a sense that you're living in your very own country cottage, then this is for you. Magical.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank thjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
1.2 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Pendragon Country House
Pendragon Country House
#1 of 14 in Camelford
358 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Mill House Inn
The Mill House Inn
#1 of 1 in Trebarwith
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayrose Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayrose Farm

Address: Helstone | Cornwall, Camelford PL32 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Camelford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayrose Holiday Cottages are a fantastic place to unwind and enjoy your holiday. These delightful Cornish Cottages offer a relaxed atmosphere, perfect Cornwall Holiday accommodation in the countryside, and only 15 minutes away from beaches. The Cottages are fully equipped, cosy sofas, soft white cotton sheets, and fluffy towels. High chairs and cots always available We are central for coast path walking, and many of the activities, interests and famous restaurants of Cornwall. Eden Project is only 25 minutes away. Bodmin Moor, so unspoilt, great for wild walks and adventures, is very near, see bestofbodminmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Mayrose Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayrose Farm Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing