We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilsey Down Hotel

The Wilsey Down Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wilsey Down Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Camelford B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“very nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went there twice last week 13/8 and 16/8. Usual pub grub some specials good size portions, steak is very nice lots of choice would recommend, rick and staff welcoming. We had steak one night and fish& chips the other fish was huge. Mixed grill looked huge the one I saw someone having

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheddylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great pub very friendly
Used by locals and holiday makers
Food is excellent with special deals on tues steak nights and Thursday basket meals
And a fantastic carvery on a Sunday but book early as it soon gets full, there are four rooms to the wilsey, the main bar, a large room with dinning area at one side and a bar at the other. a vault with darts and pool and a tv, the restaurant where the carvery is served on a Sunday , and also a cafe to the back which services the local agriculture markets held at the back of the hotel, where they serve breakfasts and lunches

Room Tip: Rooms t the front are slightly noisier although he road isn't too busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We eat here about once a month and have never been disappointed. Slowly working our way through the menu. The mixed grill is one of the best Ive had. The quality of the food is brilliant and the staff are great. The food is always fresh, hot and well presented.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpkins G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We visited on a Saturday morning whilst travelling, and we ordered breakfast. We were the only people there at the time and had a very enjoyable conversation with Rosie, who took our order and made us feel very welcome. There was some work going on to another part of the dining room but it was all being done efficiently and did not interfere with us in any way. We were more than pleased with the service. Our meals were really very good and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over night so I can't say
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night with friend early evening, a selection of meals ordered all great size portions and more than expected, good local pub food, would return did get busier as evening progressed, would have been nice to see some lighter deserts on menu after a main meal. Plenty of parking and easy to find off the main road

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Superem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We ate here one Sunday lunchtime - only a carvery was on offer which was a pity because the normal menu looked much more interesting. The whole place feels rather dated and run down. The bar area is reasonable enough but the restaurant area behind the bar seemed old and showed evidence of age and numerous re-paintings. The meat served in the carvery was ok but the vegetables had been kept too long on the hot plate. The vegetarian option was freshly cooked and very tasty. The toilets were acceptable but only just. Outside is a grassed area with tables and this is a nicer place to eat than inside provided the weather is ok. For the price we paid for the main course (desserts cost extra), the food was good value but better quality at a slightly higher price would have been welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

ordered meal for 3 after 1 hour watching others come in and get served i went to bar and asked how much longer. I was told they forgot to put order through, and would be 15 mins. After another half hour we still waiting. If i did not pay at bar when we ordered, we would have walked out. We only stayed as my little girl was very hungry by now and assumed it would not be much longer.
When it finally arrived the steak was nice but the bacon and chicken was awfull. bacon not cooked properly and chicken disgusting.

Room Tip: Dont go there, there is a lovely b & b 5 mins away with lovely swimming pool and free snooker/po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaele201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camelford hotels
6.2 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Pendragon Country House
Pendragon Country House
#1 of 13 in Camelford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.1 mi away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#3 of 13 in Camelford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Juliots Well Cottages
Juliots Well Cottages
#5 of 9 in Camelford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melorne Farm
Melorne Farm
#2 of 13 in Camelford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.2 mi away
Juliots Well Holiday Park
Juliots Well Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Camelford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilsey Down Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilsey Down Hotel

Property: The Wilsey Down Hotel
Address: Hallworthy, Camelford PL32 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Camelford
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Welcome awaits you at The Wilsey Down Hotel. Friendly atmosphere. We have a wide selection of bar meals and homemade specials. Small function room for meetings or buffets. Great Sunday Carvery. Large garden. We have 2 en-suite rooms, 3 standard rooms, colour tv, tea/coffee facilities. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wilsey Down Hotel Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing