We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanteglos Lodges and Villas
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Great accommodation
Central base making it easy to explore north Cornwall
Nice and peaceful
Nice private courtyards
Hotel staff friendly and can use pool if want to
Cosey

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winchestersmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in villa 6, for a week over the Easter bank holidays.
There was a distinct odour when we first arrived, but a scented candle soon sorted it out. The smell was similar to how a place gets when it's not been aired in a while - not too bad.
The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, and the restaurant in the hotel was fantastic - you must try it! They dealt with my dietary requirements superbly, something that Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant failed with miserably!
The staff were always on hand to give us advice and tips on where to go in the local area, and gave us a tourist pack with maps and leaflets on arrival which also had vouchers for some of the attractions we intended to visit.
Back to the villa itself, it has had some unfair reviews on here, although maybe slightly outdated, it was clean and tidy and actually had a brand new kitchen fitted... we paid £240 for the week!! A week in Cornwall, in your own accommodation (villa 6 - 2 rooms, bathroom, and lounge-kitchen area) for that price was amazing!
We definitely hope to go again, and would recommend it to friends: great place for couples and would be fab for children too. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry_Marie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Five of us stayed in one of the lodges at Lanteglos. It was, for us, the perfect setting and location for getting away from suburbia and discovering all the hidden qualities of North Cornwall. The lodge was clean and comfortable and enabled us to eat and relax there without having to travel to restaurants away from Camelford. During the evening we drank and played snooker at the Hotel Bar. Roger, owner and perfect host made us more than welcome. Ideal again! No driving. It ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

It must be very confusing for readers because the reviews differ so much. I think the guests who stayed at the hotel probably had a better experience than some of us who stayed at the villas. Some villas are privately owned and maintained to a different standard. If you managed to get a good deal, only need a roof over your head and a bed to sleep on, then it's ok. For us, we paid a lot of money, looked forward to a 'tranquil retreat' and expected a certain standard from a 4* holiday accommodation, it was a huge disappointment. The whole place including the facilities looked worn, under maintained and depressing (the outdoor pool was not heated despite its claim). We booked directly with the hotel and had the most awful villa. Damp and mould was everywhere especially on the curtains, window sills etc. The villa was also dusty, covered in cobwebs in particular the bathroom where there must have been at least 20 spiders on the ceiling. Don't book a holiday there until you have checked that they have refurbished and thoroughly cleaned the villas. Don't let the friendliness fool you, management and efficiency is definitely lacking. It completely ruined our summer holiday, having looked forward to it for a whole year . If you wonder why we didn't just leave, we travelled over 10 hours (bad traffic) to get there, everywhere else decent was fully booked or expensive due to summer holiday crowds. We wished we had taken the advice of the reviewer who called this place a damp, smelly cave!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bel000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A great holiday had by all - especially the kids. The self-catering lodges in the grounds are a great size - 3 bedrooms, large communal kitchen and living area. The tongue and groove wood everywhere and high pitched roof make it a real Swiss style cottage like something straight out of Heidi. Really spacious, warm and cosy. Plenty to do on site - badminton, squash, tennis, table tennis, swimming pool, snooker, golf etc.

The beach at Trebarwith Strand just a short drive up the road is the real winner though. Golden sandy beaches, fantastic surf and caves and rock pools everywhere for the children to explore and go paddling and crabbing. We will definitely be going back next year.

We journeyed on the steam train from Bodmin, visited the Eden Project, took the ferry from Rock over to Padstow and were spoilt for choice on the odd rainy days for indoor leisure activities for the kids.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have to say that alot of the reviews are a tad unfair here..I rented the Villa for a week £300 inc water/electric thats in the school holidays (BARGAIN HELLO!!!).
Yes the site is dated (shout Hi De Hi!)
Yes there is a slope to the Villa
Yes the name Villa is mis leading(it's a small chalet)
Yes there was a slight whiff of damp
but I can assure you everything else was fine..
Adequate room for myself,partner and 7 yr old son
the Kitchen was very well equipped
Bathroom had everything as new (inc Shower and Bath)
TV had sky sports and freeview
Hotel food and drink is superb as is the service
The Games room inc Table tennis,Pool and Air hockey plus you are free to use Tennis courts and swimming Pool (Inc Kids Pool) and outdoor Badminton/volleyball courts.
My son said he loved the place and the smile he had all week tels me he was telling the truth..he did not have his Wii or Nintendo on site either people!

In conclusion..YES dated but in the way of Holidays we loved as kids and the bonus of all the little extras for free made this a fantastic holiday...we will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank organisermusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked a weeks short break at The villas on the grounds of the above hotel
As you walk up the steep hill the alarm bells start ringing inside your head..the outward appearance of the buildings is shabby to put it mildly!
As you open the door you are at once overwhelmed by the awful stench of mould and mildew! This is described as compact in the brochure..it is extremely so,2 adults and a teenager had no room to move.
The villa is very,very outdated,and tired looking.The bathroom has to be seen to be believed. We departed after 3 days could not stand it any longer.
Do not waist your money on this dreadful place it is a <0 score in my opinion!
You have been warned

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank middlemax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camelford hotels
0 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
0 mi away
No photo provided
Silvermoon B&B
#8 of 14 in Camelford
23 reviews
0 mi away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#4 of 14 in Camelford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Countryman Hotel
The Countryman Hotel
#9 of 14 in Camelford
34 reviews
0 mi away
Melorne Farm
Melorne Farm
#2 of 14 in Camelford
71 reviews
0 mi away
Pendragon Country House
Pendragon Country House
#1 of 14 in Camelford
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanteglos Lodges and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanteglos Lodges and Villas

Address: Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Camelford
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanteglos Lodges and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Lanteglos Lodges And Villas Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing