We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanteglos Lodges and Villas
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A great holiday had by all - especially the kids. The self-catering lodges in the grounds are a great size - 3 bedrooms, large communal kitchen and living area. The tongue and groove wood everywhere and high pitched roof make it a real Swiss style cottage like something straight out of Heidi. Really spacious, warm and cosy. Plenty to do on site - badminton, squash, tennis, table tennis, swimming pool, snooker, golf etc.

The beach at Trebarwith Strand just a short drive up the road is the real winner though. Golden sandy beaches, fantastic surf and caves and rock pools everywhere for the children to explore and go paddling and crabbing. We will definitely be going back next year.

We journeyed on the steam train from Bodmin, visited the Eden Project, took the ferry from Rock over to Padstow and were spoilt for choice on the odd rainy days for indoor leisure activities for the kids.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have to say that alot of the reviews are a tad unfair here..I rented the Villa for a week £300 inc water/electric thats in the school holidays (BARGAIN HELLO!!!).
Yes the site is dated (shout Hi De Hi!)
Yes there is a slope to the Villa
Yes the name Villa is mis leading(it's a small chalet)
Yes there was a slight whiff of damp
but I can assure you everything else was fine..
Adequate room for myself,partner and 7 yr old son
the Kitchen was very well equipped
Bathroom had everything as new (inc Shower and Bath)
TV had sky sports and freeview
Hotel food and drink is superb as is the service
The Games room inc Table tennis,Pool and Air hockey plus you are free to use Tennis courts and swimming Pool (Inc Kids Pool) and outdoor Badminton/volleyball courts.
My son said he loved the place and the smile he had all week tels me he was telling the truth..he did not have his Wii or Nintendo on site either people!

In conclusion..YES dated but in the way of Holidays we loved as kids and the bonus of all the little extras for free made this a fantastic holiday...we will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank organisermusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked a weeks short break at The villas on the grounds of the above hotel
As you walk up the steep hill the alarm bells start ringing inside your head..the outward appearance of the buildings is shabby to put it mildly!
As you open the door you are at once overwhelmed by the awful stench of mould and mildew! This is described as compact in the brochure..it is extremely so,2 adults and a teenager had no room to move.
The villa is very,very outdated,and tired looking.The bathroom has to be seen to be believed. We departed after 3 days could not stand it any longer.
Do not waist your money on this dreadful place it is a <0 score in my opinion!
You have been warned

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank middlemax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Booked at short notice ie (saturday travelled sunday), read a few of the reviews and most were positive one that was negative ie the one "starting damp cave or stating villa 45 ignore if you are going to book via the hotel or late cottages, as this review related to a villa that is sub let and not owned by the owners of the rest of the hotel or villas and lodges . This is one that must be booked independantly and is obviously not looked after in the same way.

We booked via late cottages and hired a villa sleeping 4, it was great, very clean, nicely situated and well maintained.

We had all the essentials and free view + sky sports channels to stop the hubby having withdrawl symptoms during the inbetween trips out time..

The facilities were really good swimming pool, tennis courts, badminton courts , swings , climbing frames , pool table snooker etc what more can you have to entertain the kids when your not out and about visiting the many places within a 20 minute drive .

Its well situated for padstow and port issac etc supermarket 5 mins away and a fab fish n chip shop for the non cooking evenings.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the owners Rodger and Stephanie were very hospitable, we had a few lovely evenings in the bar chatting and felt very welcome.

The remarks made by people staying in the hotel were all very positive too.

I wouldnt hesitate to stay again or recommend but make sure you book via the official website for the hotel or late cottages website.

Just do it....



W had sky tv with sports channels

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed in a self catering chalet in the ground of this hotel last August. The owners of the chalet Mr & Mrs Brag let the chalet on ebay.
The chalet is smelly and damp and can be best described as a "smelly damp cave". I would warn anyone thinking of heading there to think again. It is truly disgusting. Also it is situated on top of a very steep bank. Would suit mountain goats or very athletic walkers. The place was so awful we cut our holiday short and came home after three days.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank maryellen1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

After alot of searching we choose Lanteglos for its location as a base to explore Cornwall. Having not done a self catering UK holiday before we were unsure of what to expect, but the Lodge accommodation was ideal for a family with two young children - well eqipped and set in plenty of grounds for the children to explore and play. Would agree that the Villas do not look appealing, however having visited the wesite before our stay and then seen them in situ - they are what they are! The interior of the Lodge had been recently refurbished and was clean, and yes areas of the estate are a little tired, but overall it was fantastic value for money and a good location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Quiet and very remote Cornwall estate that needs updates. Villas were mould infested, except newly installed bathrooms. Beds too short and narrow for new younger generations. Kitchen was well equipped. Lawns finely cut, but play ground and pond area needs major cleaning up. Large indoor games area, which nobody used the week we stayed, is outdated; hence a waste of electricity. Laundry too expensive. Needs proper internet connections installed. 3 sports TV channels out of 7 is too narrow. Did not try pool, as weather was cold. Not to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank To_Travel_is_to_Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camelford hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Silvermoon B&B
#8 of 14 in Camelford
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Countryman Hotel
The Countryman Hotel
#9 of 14 in Camelford
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melorne Farm
Melorne Farm
#2 of 14 in Camelford
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#4 of 14 in Camelford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanteglos Lodges and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanteglos Lodges and Villas

Address: Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Camelford
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanteglos Lodges and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Lanteglos Lodges And Villas Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing