We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambolic”
Review of Darlington Inn

Darlington Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darlington Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Camelford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the nearest I have weber been to Fawley Towers. I Can forgive the fact that they forgot I was coming, though sitting in my sweaty cycling gear for 40 minutes while they sorted out a room wasn't much fun. The barmaid was lovely, and this 13th century Inn would have been lovely too if they didn't have cheesy tunes FM blasting out from a tinny speaker.

Once in, the room was really nice. Plenty of space, clean, nice shower, good size TV, all good.fair price too.

Although there was a sign giving me the wifi password there was no wi-fi to log on to so I was forced to visit the Masons Arms down the road who have excellent wi-fi, and good beer. The Darlington had really good beer too but no wi-fi.

I was planning on eating here but I didn't fancy the music so I tried the fish shop which is really exceptional.

Later that night the owners had a massive row, shouting and screaming at each other for quite some time. I'm sorry if they have personal problems but I don't want to hear them. This concluded with the landlady leaving so in the morning there was nobody to make breakfast. Luckily one of the other residents used to be a chef and he insisted on making a cooked breakfast for me. Bizarre!

This pub with rooms does have nice rooms and potential to be really good but I wouldn't take my wife there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Fandango11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Nice people but slow service. Waited over an hour for food but they weren't busy as there was only one other dining. When the food did come all I can say is thank god the had napkins. greasy is an understatement. It was more like a heart attack on a plate.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have driven past this pub many times over the years and have always wanted to visit. We finally stopped off with great expectations and were slightly disappointed.
The bar is in desperate need of updating and is untidy with some random things around.
However, we couldn't fault the friendliness of the landlady and the burgers were delicious.
There are much nicer pubs around though so I don't think we will return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TogComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stumbled into this little treasure on the Aug bank holiday week-end 2013. Oh what a find after looking for accommodation for miles. When we arrived we were welcomed by Harry a lovely young guy who couldn't help us enough, The rooms where fabulous. We went down for dinner and we met the hostess Alison who was just fabulous, she couldn't do enough for us, the menu was huge.
The food was freshly cooked and very tasty. Her cooking is to write home about. Another young guy Aaron he was really great also. We were treated like we were family. We had only intended to stay for one night, but being treated so good we decided to stay another. We would recommend this hotel for anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We walked in just at opening time and asked if pasties were available. They weren't, but the landlord sent us next door to the pasty shop and then provided us with plates and sauces (which we didn't actually need, because the pasties were so delicious and perfectly-seasoned). We washed them down with local real ale. Heaven! The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming, and we would certainly come again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marilyn_thannoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This must be where the locals of Camelford go, the masons arms appears to be the tourist trap and Darlington is the local.

We wandered in one evening, to be hit by loud music and lots of youngsters at the bar, as we walked in it was like the scene from An America Werewolf in London, when the 2 lads walk into the pub on the Yorkshire moors, " you not be from round these parts".

They all stared at us and we felt very uncomfortable, we did not stay due to that reception.

From all the other positive reviews, we should have maybe stayed and given them a chance, maybe next time.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Sometimes you find a place that you simply have to write about. The Darlington sits smack in the centre of Camelford right on the A39. The beer is well kept, Doom Bar and Tribute ales, but the real value is the staff and the food. There is the charismatic but disorganised Arran behind the bar and the charming and talented Allison who doubles as Landlady and chef. The food is wonderful and varied, whereas at lunchtime wraps can be purchased for as little as £3.99, the evening menu comes alive with an imaginitive collection of Mexican and Cornish dishes. The portions are generous if you sometimes have to wait a while for them to arrive. After all we were on holiday and chilled out, we didnt mind waiting , and it was well worth waiting for on each occasion. The calamaries large portion at £8.50, amazing quesadillas, tacos, burritos, etc, and the desserts are to die for, clotted cream abounds and the calories pile on, but not the bill. It arrived on the back of an envelope, and very generous it was, It has its own dj and the music is not obtrusive, but quite conducive. This is a place with a heart, it welcomes children and its staff are so friendly you feel at home right away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMuffinManLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camelford hotels
1 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#4 of 14 in Camelford
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Juliots Well Cottages
Juliots Well Cottages
#6 of 9 in Camelford
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pendragon Country House
Pendragon Country House
#1 of 14 in Camelford
360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Countryman Hotel
The Countryman Hotel
#9 of 14 in Camelford
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington Inn

Address: Market Place, Camelford PL32 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Camelford
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
800 year old recently fully renovated Coaching Inn. 8 bedrooms - 5 en-suite doubles, 1 twin and 1 family wing which includes 1 double and 1 twin room with shared deluxe family bathroom. Bar and Restaurant downstairs. Free Wi-Fi. Free parking nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darlington Inn Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing