We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit - a hidden gem!”
Review of Hilltop Farm Shop

Hilltop Farm Shop
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at Hilltop we have a Farm Shop & Restaurant set in a garden area with pretty views of the Cornish Countryside. Parking, toilet facilities, disabled access, Wi-fi and an undercover outside seating area to make your visit even more relaxing.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must visit - a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Visited first for Sunday lunch, which was absolutely wonderful. An abundance of fresh vegetables and a lovely homemade gravy. Puddings - what can I say just perfect. First class food, first class service. We enjoyed our time here so much we returned the following day and had one of their special high teas. Just wonderful, exactly what you would expect. Will definitely be regular visitors, can't wait for the next time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Hilltop Farm Shop, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments about our Roasts and Afternoon High Teas. Sounds like we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    28
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My missis took me here for a surprise lunch and boy was I impressed! I never knew this place was here and if you didn`t u probably never would as I have driven past on numerous times. Really nice and cosy inside, and also has outside seating for warmer days. The menu is not what I expected, as I would say the quality and presentation is more like a restaurant. Very impressed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Hilltop Farm Shop, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your surprise lunch and really pleased that you were also impressed. Hopefully see you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great discovery - go out of your way for this one”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place with a minivan full of kids, mother-in-law and friends hungry for lunch. The food here is amazing. Fresh, creative and thoughtful. The interior is cosy and comfy and if it had been a warm sunny day, the outside seating would have been splendid with views across the valley. We browsed the shop while we waited for food and stocked up on yummy chutneys, jams and hard to come by essentials like smoked sea salt. The bonus to the whole experience was the friendly people and the affordable prices. One of our party left their wallet behind and the staff also dealt with that in a very cool way - mailing it onto our next destination with no hassles. Super place, drive put of your way for it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Hilltop Farm Shop, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you found us and enjoyed your experience at Hilltop. Thank you for the lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast first class”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I had breakfast here first class food and service.
Great sausages, bacon and beautifully presented.
This place is really worth a visit the owners are so welcoming.
The farm shop is well stocked
I will be returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebaker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Hilltop Farm Shop, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about us and our breakfasts which are a fairly new addition to Hilltops menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Cornish Cream Tea”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As one born and bred in Cornwall I am giving top marks to this little farm shop and café at Slaughterbridge near Camelford. The tea was excellent, a good brew served in a proper tea pot with china cups. The scone was excellent, as was the jam and the cream fresh and crusty.
We sat outside on comfortable chairs and enjoyed the peaceful country views.
Well done Hilltop

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Hilltop Farm Shop, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments about our cream tea. Glad you enjoyed the views and peaceful surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilltop Farm Shop also viewed

 
Camelford, Cornwall
 

Been to Hilltop Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing