We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed on a four day break which was ideal as it gave us time to explore both some of the North and South coasts of Cornwall including the Eden Project. This is a golfing hotel hotel which is obviously geared to the golfing fraternity. We don't play golf but in no way did it detract from our stay. We were on the second floor overlooking some stunning views of the golf course and beyond. The room was clean and spacious and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel even to non golfers.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front of the hotel for the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgcl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    96
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
39
122
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I would like to say that on a recent stay at the above hotel my wife and i were so impressed by not only the hotel but it would be fair to say that the managment team were over and above with their help and kindness i had arrived at the hotel and realised that i had left my camera at home no problem. Simon who booked us in alowed me to borrow his own camera our say overall was just brilliant

Room Tip: Front rooms to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great hotel, room upgraded free of charge, staff very helpful . The food was great and well priced .

Room Tip: Over looking golf course a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We took a party of seven for a golf weekend and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff were friendly and good fun, the food was very nice indeed, very tasty and the bar prices were pub prices. The weather was fantastic which helped a great deal but the golf course was a challenge for the three rounds with the 2 nines being completely different and the greens were very hard to read.

The pro was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and golf course

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayburn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Booked at last minute as weather was so good. Had 2 nights and should have booked more. Lovely views over golf course. Comfortable and clean with friendly staff and decent food. Good Value. We will return with our clubs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eladevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Little understanding of the catering trade, or desire to listen to customers concerns. Friendly young minimum waged staff. Could be so much better with such little effort.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDanviMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We found this hotel through laterooms.com and really did not know what to expect from a golf course hotel (having no interest in golf).
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a balcony room overlooking the golf course and a view clear to Bodmin moor when the rain stopped. It was spacious and clean but the bathroom could do with a bit attention - nothing serious.
We only had a a bar meal on the first night but it was really good and a generous portion.
Do not miss breakfast!
We will be going there again.

Room Tip: The front has the view south across the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
6.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lanteglos, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the championship golf course, this hotel has an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The charming villages of Tintagel, Port Isaac and Boscastle are 15 minutes' drive away. In the 13th century, Bowood Park was part of the Black Prince's deer park. It is still set amid 230 acres of picturesque hills and woodland. The hotel has modern decor and luxurious fittings throughout. Each room has an en suite bathroom, a TV, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Guests can dine in the hotel's restaurant, which offers British and international dishes, including local seafood. Cornish cream teas and a Sunday carvery are also available. The Bowood Park Golf Club has a course which meets USGA standards and is open all year round. Golf clubs and buggies are available for hire on site. The North Cornwall coast, with its surfing beaches and fishing villages, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Park Hotel And Golf Course
Bowood Park Hotel Course
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing