We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cornishman Inn Tintagel(Tintagel)(Great Value!)
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wootons Inn(Tintagel)
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old School Hotel(Port Isaac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
161
111
49
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
111
49
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar foodsuperior roomin excellent conditioninteresting holesdriving rangebreakfast was buffet styleevening meal in the restaurantroom was largeport isaacstayed here for nightsmany thankspool tablecannot faultfantastic stayeden projectnothing is too much troublesimon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, lovely hotel, lovely big room, gorgeous views, great breakfast, staff are very friendly and the whole ambience is very welcoming, we don't play golf. Hotel set in lovely grounds, only one small gripe, room could of had a fan as weather very hot, also was surprised the vegetables came in pre packs already diced, but I guess the price reflects the standard of quality, we would stay again...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowoodpark, Public Relations Manager at Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate all feedback. During this hot spell you were not the only guest who commented on the need for fans in the room. We have now provided all forward facing rooms with fans as these are the rooms that tend to get the warmest we also now have a supply of fans that we can supply to any guest on request.
With regards to our vegetables I am concerned that you felt our vegetables were pre packed and diced as none of our vegetables are frozen all are purchased locally daily and prepared in advance every morning by our chefs I will however show this review to our head chef and look into the possibility of preparing them in other more imaginative ways
Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had booked the 2-bed family unit but, once we saw it, we refused to stay there. The accommodation was at the back of the building, beside the kitchens. There was a huge, noisy air conditioning unit right outside our door and litter, including cigarette ends, all over the ground right outside our door. Inside the accommodation itself was clean but quite dated and old fashioned. We had just come from 3 nights at a fabulous hotel in Watergate Bay and our hearts sank when we saw this place. To be fair, the manager offered to help us find alternative accommodation and gave us a full refund ...... but that's probably because i showed him the photos i had taken !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowoodpark, Public Relations Manager at Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments,

Since you pointed out the problems you encountered during your stay we have included this area within our daily maintenance routines so although it does not improve your experience with us we are confident that no future guests will experience the same issues.
The fans unfortunately are located near to the accommodation you booked but are not audible within the apartment and are only on during the day and are switched off by 9 pm each evening.
We always listen to our guest reviews and do try to offer outstanding value for money and are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and hope that the full refund we offered helped you to find accommodation more suited to your requirements.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and helping us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

a party of 12 ''hungry'' golfers stayed for 3 night in late july. We found the food to be excellent and plentiful, and professioanally presented to us. The golf course is great for society golfers, and the pins were moved every day !! The rooms were more than adequate, and there were no problems with hot water etc. The linen/towels were changed daily. For the money we played, we would HIGHLy recommend this hotel to any other golfing party. If you wish to play higher ranked courses locally, then you wont find a sterner test than St Enodoc, or a slighty easier Links course at Trevose !! Many thanks to Nigel and his staff for looking after us so well !!! Barnsley Timber Golf Society.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis for £67.55 a few days prior to arrival. The hotel was a good location for our trip exploring the local area. We visited Tintagel, Port Isaac and Wadebridge travelling via the A39 (Atlantic Highway) through Somerset and Devon.
The greeting and information on arrival was very good, the room was clean and comfortable, with a king size bed. A nice touch in the warm weather was complimentary bottled water in the room. The buffet breakfast was good and overall staff were helpful and attentive.
There were two locations for evening dinner, the bar area or the restaurant. Although not a huge choice on either menu, there was sufficient to suit all tastes. We ate in the restaurant and had a main course each and a bottle of wine costing £54.

We had two issues during our stay, there was no hot water in our room at 8am in the morning and the previous evening on arrival at 6.30pm, a gentleman was also complaining of a lack of hot water. The hotel reception staff said he would have to reboost the boiler. These are both times when people are wanting to shower so not very convenient. You are not going to get dressed to go down to reception and then have to wait for hot water, so we showered with cold water.

The second issue spoilt our overall experience at this hotel but I have still given a good rating due to other factors. In the restaurant the steak meal my husband chose was priced at £18.95, for those on a bed breakfast and dinner package there was a supplement of £4.95 for this item, which I totally understand, many hotels apply these supplements for higher priced dishes, however we were charged both the full price and the supplement. When queried with the waitress although in agreement that this was incorrect, stated it always happens and she did not have the authority to remove it from our bill. She would have to call the manager to our table to do this. I said yes that's what I wanted as it was incorrect, at this point my husband felt awkward and embarrassed as other diners were listening and he just wanted it left on the bill, but someone signalled to the waitress and she advised she could then remove it. This was not a pleasant experience, it is obvious other diners are inadvertently being overcharged and may not realise. If staff are aware of this issue why hasn't the default setting been removed on the till or the charge removed before presenting the bill. We brought it to the attention of reception staff on leaving as requested to by the waitress, and also on a feedback slip, the gentlemen said this is not my area, no apology. Having an email address the hotel have had over a week to respond and apologise for the upset and haven't done so far. Very disappointed by this. Do hope other diners do not have a similar experience in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowoodpark, Public Relations Manager at Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments,
After reading them I have taken some time to look into the issue with the restaurant bill and have changed the system entirely to avoid the same problem happening in the future.
I totally understand that once the issue was noted and accepted you should not have had to think of it again, I have also explained to all staff that customer satisfaction is everyone's concern and being brushed off with "Not My Department" is not acceptable under any circumstance.
We pride our self here at Bowood Park on our customer service and although we have obviously let you down on this occasion, the experience will be used to avoid this sort of thing happening in the future, can I also apologise that we have not been in contact sooner I also intend to take a closer look at our complaints procedure so we can be sure to deal with any issues in a more timely manner.
With regards to the hot water we have had some issues with our Eco Friendly Bio Mass Boiler and as I type 28/7/14 we are having these replaced with new more reliable Bio Mass Boilers which we are assured will cause us no further problems, as well as this we are installing an electric backup system powered by our wind turbine in case we ever have these issues again. I realise that none of this makes up for not supplying hot water on the mornings in question but hope that you can see that we do not accept no hot water as normal or in any way acceptable and that we are now doing all we can to make sure that these issues are not a problem moving forward.
I hope this experience does not stop you returning in the future and hope that we can welcome you once again to Bowood Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just returned after spending 2 nights at Bowood in Cornwall. I would like to complement the staff on their professionalism and friendly and courteous service. The golf course is also a challenging and testing.

The rooms are spaciousness and ideal for those on a golfing trip and also would be a good base for those wishing to visit North Cornwall. Both the bar & restaurant meals are plentiful and well prepared and a hearty breakfast is served in the morning.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank elovabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews