We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juliots Well Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We camped here for 4nights. Had a pitch on the lowest pitches. I asked how big the pitches were at time of booking as I have a large tent. On arrival, was quite concerned about the size and our tent only just fit on. No space around it for my kids to play and all the tents are virtually on top of one another and right on the road.

The shower block seemed good at first glance. A large block with lots of little bathrooms. Until the morning when you really need the toilet and all bathrooms are full of people having showers and you have to wait for them to finish. Think a few cubicles with just toilets could help here!
Also not ideal to go to the toilet late at night on your own to find 3men in there too. Think same sex blocks are not ideal!

Small pub on site pretty, but too small for the amount of people staying here.

The walks and grounds here are lovely but would not stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Juliots Well.

At the time of booking we do inform all guests the pitch sizes so people can check before arrival. We are sorry you experienced delays in using the shower block facilities and it is something we will look to improve upon for next season.

We hope you will reconsider visiting Juliots Well again in the future and if you wish to discuss any future booking please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    57
    31
    12
    18
See reviews for
105
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A lovely place in a lovely setting. This little park offers different types of stay ( I prefer the lodges) and can also have a hot tub added for a small extra fee. The on site food is ok and the lodges are always superb. The desk are always helpful and so are the bar for late book ins and such. set in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: choose lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us and I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well, what can I say! First impressions were quite favourable until we reached our pitch. We stayed on the lower terrace - half grass, half hardstanding with electric hook up. The pitch itself was flat and just about took our 8 berth tent though there was no room to sit outside as the pitches were very close together with the road running straight through the middle with all pitches adjoining!

The toilet block was a good idea with individual bathrooms, which in principle was brilliant. Unfortunately there were no separate toilets so, in the morning for example, if you just wanted to use the toilet and all the bathrooms were occupied then you had to wait for one to become available - which could be quite a while as people were showering! Not very good with young children! Cleanliness was also an issue!! The block was unisex and there wern't anywhere near enough toilets for the amount of people staying on the site. We asked what time the toilets were cleaned so as to suitably time when was best - and cleanest - to use them. We were told that the cleaner usually finished the main clean between 10-11am. We used the block at variying times of the day including just after the time stated but they were usually soaking wet and dirty with a strong smell of urine!! We did complain about the pool of urine on the floor and it did appear to be sorted out a little while later - though the overall cleanliness didn't improve.

Washing up facilities were also not great - and nowhere near enough of them - every night you had to queue for a space to do the dishes! (As this job belonged to my children they were not impressed!)

Another problem we had was with skateboards! The site details stated that none were to be used and that holidaymakers were to be quiet by 10.30pm. As the road ran straight through the middle of the lower tier with a fairly steep slope up to the toilet block and higher tier - this was an invitation for the group of children (aged between 7-15) to start at the top, race each other down the slope and as far along the road as they could travel! On a few occassions they ran into our tent guy lines, and roared past my sons head who was sleeping in very close proximity! Unfortunately nobody was around early/late evening to monitor this - every evening was spoilt due to the unacceptable behaviour and inconsiderate actions of some families that stayed there.

We enjoyed staying in Cornwall but there is no way we will ever return to Juliots Well!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa1970-murph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback good or bad as this does help us to improve and evolve.

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you experienced problems with other guests. In the Summer, Reception was open daily from 9am till 7pm and the Coach House was open from 5pm till late. Staff are always on hand to help and someone is on call 24 hours a day seven days a week. We did not have any reports of disruptive behaviour if we had received complaints it would have been dealt with promptly and with discretion as we believe everyone should enjoy their holiday here at Juliots Well.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the toilets and washing facilities and hope to improve these for next season. The Shower block was cleaned three times a day, early morning, mid morning and late afternoon, however this obviously was not enough during this time and again this will be rectified for next season.

We do hope you'll reconsider visiting Juliots Well in the future and if you wish to discuss any future booking please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the bottom field on a half/half hardstanding & grass pitch with elec hook up. I and partner went with 2 kids aged 6 & 7; we enjoyed our stay, nothing really bad to moan about but at the same time nothing really good to write home about. There are probably better places around but at the same time you could do a lot worse.
Easier to write points than a big message:

•Would advise big tents pegs as the ground was very hard with stones, i struggled with some tent pegs

•Communal shower blocks with the toilets in the same cubicle as the showers is not a good idea, having to queue for the toilets with desperate kids is not great, could do with the showers separate and separate male & female blocks.

•Only 2 washing up sinks, not enough really considering the amount of people camping and in caravans

•The shop is not very well stocked, we used the petrol station at the bottom of the hill but again, not the best priced around but will do until you can get to a bigger supermarket
•The pool is ok for the kids but the park could do with updating and things adding, one baby swing and a climbing frame is hardly great.

•The onsite pub/restaraunt is ok, we only ate there once but everyone else seems to think its ok, we tended to have a BBQ or ate out or used our camping stove. I would recommend the Masons Arms in Camlefors top eat, the menu may not look much outside but inside the special board is huge !!, reasonably priced also, would recommend.

•The place itself is in a decent location for exploring the area, its half was between Padstow and Bude, both of which we spent a lot of time going to.

Room Tip: Camp at the bottom if you can, its flat, sheltered and near the toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback good or bad. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here in North Cornwall.

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on the site and we shall of course take these on board for next season.

We do hope you will come back again in the future and see our ongoing improvements.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This holiday park has cottages, static caravans, lodges and facilities for campers. We stayed in a lodge. First impressions were good. The living/eating area was clean although the carpet was looking a little thread bear and the living room seating area could do with freshening up. The double bedroom was good although I was a bit surprised that the overhead open storage unit was thick with dust. The second bedroom was cosy. Don't expect ample room in the bathroom either. If I were an estate agent I would describe it as compact. The children's play area could do with updating and investment.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we appreciate all feedback, good or bad. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us but we are extremely disappointed that your break was disturbed by cleaning issues and apologise that on this occasion our cleanliness was not up to our usual standard this has been reported to our Housekeeping team to rectify.

We are hoping to invest in a new children's are in the future. We do hope you'll come back and see on our ongoing improvements and developments. Why not try one of our bigger lodges such as the Azalea or Camellia, they have a family bathroom and an en suite in the master bedroom, please do not hesitate to call me if you would like further information on these great lodges.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just come back from a week, weather fantastic, cabin spotless, lovely location a really enjoyable week. Used pool everyday nice and warm staff helpful would definately return. Lovely views we stayed in 66 cabin exceeded expectations. Had a lovely veranda to enjoy eating meals. Would recommend a trip to Watergate bay, port Isaac, tintagel and boscastle. Children really enjoyed bike ride on the camal trail from wadebridge to padstow. All in all a fantastic week!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all feedback is appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to visit some of the great places here in Cornwall.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Spent a week here at Juliots Well and it was a perfect base for exploring this stunning area of North Cornwall. We stayed in one of the 5 cottages on site which are no longer actually linked to the park, however we were able to use all the facilities of the park so these are what I'm going to review rather than the accommodation itself.
I used the swimming pool on a couple of occasions - it was a nice temperature although not the cleanest I've ever been in (quite a few leaves floating around and cloudy water) but it didn't stop me! It is full of kids all the time though and with no lifeguard they are able to jump and splash as much as they want, can't complain though as it is what you would expect on a campsite in the summer holidays!
The coach house pub/restaurant serves good quality, freshly cooked food and a selection of drinks. Staff were always really friendly in there and they welcome dogs wherever (in fact we found North Cornwall in general very dog friendly). There was entertainment (bands/singers & kids disco) on 3 or 4 nights out of the week but we didn't see it so can't comment.
It is very peaceful here - there are several acres of land to the site with beautiful countryside views, although very hilly.
The lodges looked to be very nice and would definitely consider staying in one if I were to return here. The caravans probably should be avoided (but then I'm not a caravan kind of person)!!
Plenty of recycling facilities on site to get rid of waste.
Lots of room for bringing your own tents or caravans and heard another visitor describe the shower block as "posh".
Location is great - about 30 mins drive from Bude in one direction or Padstow in the other. Great surfing at Trebarwith Strand (10-15 mins away) if you get the tide times right.
Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolShortcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliotsWell, General Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Holiday Park. Great to hear you enjoyed the facilities on site and all that North Cornwall has to offer.

The older caravans will be leaving us this winter and this part of the site redeveloped. So exciting times. We do hope you'll come back and visit us again.

Kind regards
Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camelford
0.2 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Lanteglos Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Juliots Well Cottages
Juliots Well Cottages
#4 of 9 in Camelford
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
19.6 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Culloden Farmhouse
Culloden Farmhouse
#3 of 14 in Camelford
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliots Well Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliots Well Holiday Park

Property: Juliots Well Holiday Park
Address: Juliots Well, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Juliots Well Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Juliots Well Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliot`s Well Holiday Park Hotel Camelford
Juliots Well Holiday Park Camelford, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing