We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent food”
Review of Treglos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel, excellent food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went for a meal at Treglos last week and was most impressed with both the quality of the food and the attention to detail the staff paid when serving.

I would highly recommend a visit and am looking forward to my next one.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjnewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    76
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
92
215
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just spent a weekend at the Treglos. We called in on the way back from a business trip looking for a restful weekend. Unfortunately, we were not told on booking in that the hotel had been given over that weekend to a sailing club. For two days we tried to avoid this very loud and all-pervasive crowd. At dinner in the evening, whlle we tried to enjoy a very good meal, beautifully served, our conversation was halted by club members making speeches. Just when 'the Commodore' had shut up and sat down and we thought we may get some peace a shrill-voiced woman jumped up and rattled on. We felt it ruined what would have been a pleasant dinner. The hotel is simply not large enough to accommodate large groups alongside other guests. There is no hiding place - the 2 lounges and bar were soon overwhelmed by some very loud people. Whilst admitting the hotel started 'as a modest 4/5 bedroom family home' the in-room blurb goes on to claim that the Treglos 'creates a large country house atmosphere'. It simply is not a country house hotel! A modest house has been overdeveloped in the 70's and 80's and is now a hybrid of extensions and add-ons which in terms of space, do not offer much outside the 42 bedrooms, and certainly offers nothing aesthetically. There is a very suburban feel to the whole place and as another reviewer has said - just planting a few modern lamps here and there is not enough. There is an identity crisis going on here. There are acres of brown swirly carpet and the largest lounge is hemmed in by a upvc fake Victorian conservatory. Added to this, the grounds contain further self-catering properties which presumably means that in high season the house is even more crowded when people come in for meals and drinks. Our room was standard, clean, bright but cluttered. The bed was excellent and the bedding pristine. However, the bathroom was very tired - circa 1980's again - with dated fittings and a lot of varnished wood and mis-matched skirting boards. We had a shower curtain instead of a proper screen and whilst the bath linen was clean and good quality the bath mat and pedestal mat (yes, there was indeed a pedestal mat) were frayed and old. All this we could have forgiven if we had not been forced to be bystanders or gatecrashers at someone else's gathering. On the second day, having had a quiet teatime spoiled by some very loud and boorish conversation by some of the club members we decided to cancel our table for dinner and went out instead. A pity really, as the food here was very good, and the staff try very hard, but we had had enough and needed to escape. We left this morning feeling it had been a wasted and unpleasant weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel.We have a new Head Chef this year so he will be delighted. I also understand you commented very favourably on our newly refurbished reception area.
This was a walk in booking and when asked if you wanted to take dinner with us one of your party was informed that we had a large group staying and therefore only limited dining times were available.
We rarely have large groups staying but it is always our policy to make other guests aware of this fact.
During the evenings I understand the party gathered in one of our lounges but that the other lounge and the bar were completely empty. I am however sorry that your stay was not perfect but don't feel we could have done anything else in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
631 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am not sure whether this review is in the right place as we didn't stay at the hotel but stayed for a few nights in their self-catering apartments (situated just down the road from the hotel) as the hotel is closed in January. This means that the hotel facilities and restaurant were not available (so I can't offer a view) but as we wanted a self-catering retreat for a short break it didn't matter.

We have not got much experience of self-catering apartments to compare with, but we thought this was great. We stayed in one of the one-bedroom apartments - Bedruthan - (there are two two-bedroom and two one-bedroom) and it gave us all we required. It was cosy, warm, well equipped with everything we could want, comfortable seating (settee and arm chair), sizeable and comfortable kitchen/dining area and a large comfortable bed. Also, there is a local shop just up the road - an easy stroll for the morning paper and supplies. Perfect!

The only small minus point was that the sink in the bathroom is small in that is does not protrude out far from the wall, and coupled with a glass shelf above means that it does not provide enough room to lean over and spit out water from teeth cleaning or sluice your face after shaving without the water missing the sink and going on the floor (unless you break the glass shelf with your head!) Maybe a deeper sink and smaller shelf when next refurbishing would help, but that is only a minor point as overall we thought it offered a perfect and comfortable retreat – so much so that we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to our self catering apartments.
We have noted your comments and look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This must have been our 12th or 13th visit to the Treglos and as always everything was perfect. The staff were all so friendly, especially the reception and restaurant staff who always make us so welcome. Our room was superb, and the food was amazing, from the choice at Breakfast to the wonderful dinners which have to sampled to be believed. All the waiting staff showed such good training, knowing when to chat and be friendly and when to be discreet. Will we return - of course we will.

Room Tip: Ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. It is very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Treglos and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from the beach and a few miles from Padstow. Rooms are clean and tidy, we had a room on the second floor with a lovely seating area and great view.

The food was excellent. We stayed during the hotel's gourmet weekend, which represented great value, and enjoyed some very good meals and wine.

Hotel staff are very friendly, and were extremely knowledgeable about the food and wine on offer.

The hotel has a small pool and a spa, with treatments at reasonable prices. There is also access to golf facilities.

The hotel's customer base is elderly, and this is probable reflected in the general atmosphere of the hotel. However, the excellent food and great location more than made up for the looks we received from some obviously regular guests who seemed distressed by the fact we were sitting in areas of the lounge and bar they perceived to be theirs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Puss100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the gourmet weekend excellent.
Early and late season our guests tend to be more mature with a prevalence of families during the summer months.All our guests are of course very welcome whatever time of year they choose to come ! We hope yo can come and visit us again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of the mini spa break that we had been given as a gift. All in all we were very pleased with our stay, we had a great time but due to a couple of things I'm not sure we will be rushing to return.

Food - 5/5, depth of menu, quality ingredients, great service, all round wonderful dining experience at dinner and breakfast. Afternoon tea was also really nice with as many cakes as you can eat! The only negative for me is that the restaurant has a strict tie or jacket policy which I feel is quite old fashioned these days when trousers and an unbuttoned shirt is more than acceptable in many high end restaurants across the country.

Spa - 5/5, we had massage treatments which were luxurious and wonderful, staff were great as were the facilities. Highly recommend this.

Rooms - 3/5, we were luckily enough to have a free upgrade to a suit with a balcony however we still felt that the rooms were a little dated and in need of a freshen up similar that has been done in other parts of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, view was great and the bathroom nice and everything was clean. It felt a little like they had tried to modernise over a really dated look with accessories which didn't really work well.

Service - 5/5, great service throughout the stay from all departments

Leisure facilities - 3/5, for me the lack or sauna or steam room let them down here and also the spa pool was so full of chemicals we could only last a few minutes due to the fumes. The main pool is just enough but nothing spectacular.

Location - 5/5, a quiet village location close enough for a lovely walk to Constantine Bay beach which is beautiful.

To sum up I feel that Tregloss is a quality hotel who's main customer base are the older generation and this shows throughout the hotel and atmosphere. We didn't feel uncomfortable but as a young couple felt slightly out of place at times. I certainly think they could do more to attract a younger customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for all your very positive comments.
With regard to bedrooms, we have a rolling programme of refurbishment and perhaps you were in one of our older style rooms ?
With regard to leisure facilities, instead of a sauna or steam room we have an infra red cabin which has more gentle health promoting qualities,We don't have the largest leisure area but many guests prefer the quieter relaxing feel of the facilities
The whirlpool is monitored daily and whilst chemicals are needed for health reasons these are not normally detectable and I do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a short stay at the Treglos at the end of the summer with my 93 year old mother-in-law. She loved it!

By no means cheap, it is a very comfortable warm, well run establishment with good old fashioned values of quality and service. You do get what you pay for.

The rooms were good - we asked for adjacent rooms and one with disabled facilities for mother. Our room was adequately sized without being generous, but her room was enormous, easily accommodating her wheelchair, with comfortable easy chair and sofa and good views from the first floor windows. Right next door to the lift too.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff – we asked for a shower seat and it was there within minutes. Coming in one afternoon, we asked for a footstool, as mother wanted to sit in the chair with her feet up, but didn’t want to put her feet on the other furniture – it was there before we got up to the room!!

The restaurant was well appointed with a good varied menu and wine list. Excellent service, the table was chosen with regard to wheelchair use and remained ‘ours’ for the duration. The food was very good and again, while not cheap reflected the quality of the fare – certainly on a par with good local restaurant prices, if not better. There is a dress code for dinner, which was nice to see, and although it wasn’t strictly enforced, most diners did make the effort to wear either a jacket or a tie.

One tiny criticism is that the lift was a little small and we had to remove the footsteps from the wheelchair to fit it in along with just one other person – although I’m sure that if we had asked, there was probably a larger service lift somewhere.

The hotel knows its clientèle and provides good service for them – If you are in the 18-40 age group, looking for a busy, cosmopolitan, buzzing place then maybe this is not for. However, if you are in the 50-something and upwards bracket, looking for a classic English hotel with peace, quiet, nice surroundings, good service and fine food…this should do you very well.

Room Tip: If you need disabled facilities, try and give the hotel as much notice as possible so that they acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review of your stay. We are particularly pleased that you felt the service was prompt, friendly and efficient.and that your mother- in- law loved it. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantine Bay
3.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,439 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
4.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Property: Treglos Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treglos Hotel Constantine Bay, Cornwall - Padstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing