We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful break at Treglos .”
Review of Treglos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another wonderful break at Treglos .”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Another wonderful relaxing stay at Treglos ,we have stayed many times both as a couple and with different friends ,we have nothing but praise for ALL the staff who go 'the extra mile' to make our visits so enjoyable. Love the modern newly decorated Reception but reassuring to see friendly ,familiar faces still on the staff ,everyone is so helpful and friendly . We will be returning !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYN3852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
A lovely review, thank you on behalf of everyone and I'm pleased you liked our refurbishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    79
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
94
219
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have recently organised a sailing association weekend at the Treglos Hotel, from the moment I contacted them a year ago the manager was full of enthusiasm to have our group visit. Taking 34 of the 42 rooms, some for 4 nights really meant we were taking over the majority of the hotel.They handled the large booking very professionally, accommodating dog owners and some guests with mobility issues and last minute changes. The rooms were well prepared and fully justified their star rating and the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant handled a large number of guests selecting from the excellent menu and the cuisine reflected the best local produce and tastes. The waiters were always courteous and attentive.
The breakfast selection was superb, all hot dishes freshly cooked as one would expect and the cold selection was extensive.
As a group we had some evening events and the hotel staff helped facilitate these, we were aware of other guests and the choice of 2 lounges meant there was an alternative for those who required a quieter evening.
The ambiance of the hotel along with the service, attitude and commitment of all the staff made this a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I'm very pleased that your sailing association had a great weekend and that you enjoyed the ambiance, service and dining at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from yet another superb break at Treglos, where everything continues to be 5*. The food was superb, as usual, and the quality of service throughout the hotel and restaurant under the direction of Jonathan and Ania, was outstanding - something which is very hard to find in this day and age. If you want to stay at an hotel where nothing is too much trouble, and where dietary needs are always fully met with a genuine concern and a smile, look no further. There may be old fashioned bath mats in the bathrooms, but we enjoy the quirks of Treglos, where excellence is their guiding principle. It is certainly rare to find an hotel where all of the staff are happy, focused and clearly motivated to look after the guests to the best of their ability. We can't wait to return to the hotel, and to Constantine Bay which must be one of the most beautiful places in North Cornwall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. I'm glad you love Constantine Bay as much as we do - it's such a beautiful place !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed last year at about this time and came back because of the stunningly well cooked and well presented food. We were not disappointed. The hotel does not hide it's 'roots' as a country house extended over the years and yes, it is a little creaky but how much nicer than the run of the mill modern hotels. As good as the Bedruthan Steps hotel or the Watergate hotel are, we would rather stay at Treglos any time. The standard of service is excellent and all the staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are interestingly decorated and there are lots of corners to hide in if you want to read the paper quietly.
The pool is very attractive and a good temperature. The log fire is very appealing and cosy. The colour scheme in the dining room is very tasteful. Everything about the hotel is comfortable and you feel you are being given a lovely treat!
We are looking forward already to next year's trip.

Room Tip: The best views of the beach are from the upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank amapBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and we are so pleased that you appreciate what Treglos has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went for a meal at Treglos last week and was most impressed with both the quality of the food and the attention to detail the staff paid when serving.

I would highly recommend a visit and am looking forward to my next one.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjnewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just spent a weekend at the Treglos. We called in on the way back from a business trip looking for a restful weekend. Unfortunately, we were not told on booking in that the hotel had been given over that weekend to a sailing club. For two days we tried to avoid this very loud and all-pervasive crowd. At dinner in the evening, whlle we tried to enjoy a very good meal, beautifully served, our conversation was halted by club members making speeches. Just when 'the Commodore' had shut up and sat down and we thought we may get some peace a shrill-voiced woman jumped up and rattled on. We felt it ruined what would have been a pleasant dinner. The hotel is simply not large enough to accommodate large groups alongside other guests. There is no hiding place - the 2 lounges and bar were soon overwhelmed by some very loud people. Whilst admitting the hotel started 'as a modest 4/5 bedroom family home' the in-room blurb goes on to claim that the Treglos 'creates a large country house atmosphere'. It simply is not a country house hotel! A modest house has been overdeveloped in the 70's and 80's and is now a hybrid of extensions and add-ons which in terms of space, do not offer much outside the 42 bedrooms, and certainly offers nothing aesthetically. There is a very suburban feel to the whole place and as another reviewer has said - just planting a few modern lamps here and there is not enough. There is an identity crisis going on here. There are acres of brown swirly carpet and the largest lounge is hemmed in by a upvc fake Victorian conservatory. Added to this, the grounds contain further self-catering properties which presumably means that in high season the house is even more crowded when people come in for meals and drinks. Our room was standard, clean, bright but cluttered. The bed was excellent and the bedding pristine. However, the bathroom was very tired - circa 1980's again - with dated fittings and a lot of varnished wood and mis-matched skirting boards. We had a shower curtain instead of a proper screen and whilst the bath linen was clean and good quality the bath mat and pedestal mat (yes, there was indeed a pedestal mat) were frayed and old. All this we could have forgiven if we had not been forced to be bystanders or gatecrashers at someone else's gathering. On the second day, having had a quiet teatime spoiled by some very loud and boorish conversation by some of the club members we decided to cancel our table for dinner and went out instead. A pity really, as the food here was very good, and the staff try very hard, but we had had enough and needed to escape. We left this morning feeling it had been a wasted and unpleasant weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel.We have a new Head Chef this year so he will be delighted. I also understand you commented very favourably on our newly refurbished reception area.
This was a walk in booking and when asked if you wanted to take dinner with us one of your party was informed that we had a large group staying and therefore only limited dining times were available.
We rarely have large groups staying but it is always our policy to make other guests aware of this fact.
During the evenings I understand the party gathered in one of our lounges but that the other lounge and the bar were completely empty. I am however sorry that your stay was not perfect but don't feel we could have done anything else in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am not sure whether this review is in the right place as we didn't stay at the hotel but stayed for a few nights in their self-catering apartments (situated just down the road from the hotel) as the hotel is closed in January. This means that the hotel facilities and restaurant were not available (so I can't offer a view) but as we wanted a self-catering retreat for a short break it didn't matter.

We have not got much experience of self-catering apartments to compare with, but we thought this was great. We stayed in one of the one-bedroom apartments - Bedruthan - (there are two two-bedroom and two one-bedroom) and it gave us all we required. It was cosy, warm, well equipped with everything we could want, comfortable seating (settee and arm chair), sizeable and comfortable kitchen/dining area and a large comfortable bed. Also, there is a local shop just up the road - an easy stroll for the morning paper and supplies. Perfect!

The only small minus point was that the sink in the bathroom is small in that is does not protrude out far from the wall, and coupled with a glass shelf above means that it does not provide enough room to lean over and spit out water from teeth cleaning or sluice your face after shaving without the water missing the sink and going on the floor (unless you break the glass shelf with your head!) Maybe a deeper sink and smaller shelf when next refurbishing would help, but that is only a minor point as overall we thought it offered a perfect and comfortable retreat – so much so that we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to our self catering apartments.
We have noted your comments and look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantine Bay
3.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,453 reviews
4.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
947 reviews
4.4 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,187 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Property: Treglos Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treglos Hotel Constantine Bay, Cornwall - Padstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing