We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you don't need much sleep”
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finnygook Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Crafthole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine if you don't need much sleep”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Decidedly average is about the best thing I can say about this place. I had a room where the bathroom was along the corridor - the booking said that the bathroom would be for my own personal use but as another reviewer mentioned, the fact the towels and soap were in my room, made me think the bathroom was actually shared. My room was at the end of a corridor where the
light didn't work so it was difficult to see where the doorlock was (especially in the middle of the night). One particularly disconcerting incident was that I had just nodded off to sleep when I was awoken by the light coming on and a man walking out of my room! This left me to assume that the door wasn't secure or all guests had the same key - either way, it meant I did not sleep well. In the morning, I informed the breakfast waitress (who was the only member of staff who was available to check out with), she apologised and explained it must have been the duty manager and that she would ask the manager to phone me to explain what had happened. 6 days later and I am still waiting for the call.
Breakfast was OK, but the waitress seemed to be a little disorganised, bringing coffee to the table but no cups to drink it from. The fruit juice on offer was warm and overall, the quality of the food was very average. I wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    32
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
35
56
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Me and my partner went here for some lunch having been to the finnygook inn a few times before to eat. Lunch was ok nothing special I had the BLT baguette which came with hardly any bacon in and no butter In it either! it was served with enough salad to feed a bunch of rabbits!, but it was ok it could if been better though. My partner had the ham egg and chips which was ok but again nothing special, considering we have been a few times before it seemed the standards of food had dropped!. having said all that the other times we have eaten there it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were really disappointed by this place. We were asked when we arrived if we wanted to reserve a table for dinner and we said we did. Our room key ring included a key to a bathroom down the corridor and as our towels and soap were on our bed we assumed we were sharing the bathroom which was a bit disconcerting. Our bedroom window was wide open (it was a hot day) but a car parked immediately beneath it would have enabled anyone to climb into our room easily. Annoying, given the heat, that we felt we had to shut the window when we left the room. When we came down to dinner, we were left standing around for ages as one person handed us over to another - clearly no reservation had been made. The meal was fine.
Our real complaint is that, having been told that the hotel would opened up at 8.20 am and breakfast served from 8.30, we came down with our bags at 8.30 am to find all doors locked and no sign of life. We peered in the kitchen (which looked none too clean) and saw someone moving in there. Eventually he emerged and when we said everything seemed to be locked up and we would like breakfast as it was well after 8.30, he didn't apologize and muttered something about the waitress who served breakfast being new, but he would 'take care of it'. We went into the dining room and were appalled at how dirty it was - not properly cleared up after the night before - tables with crumbs on them, table tops horribly sticky (the upturned fruit juice glasses on our table were stuck to the table!). The coffee was awful and we had lost so much time we had to forego the cooked breakfast (which in any case didn't appeal as the kitchen dining room and the boy serving us all looked as if they could do with a good wash!). We never saw the waitress who serves breakfast.
Our verdict was that it is a place that is living off a reputation acquired some time ago and we got the distinct impression that we were being "looked after" by people down there on holiday for whom guests were not very high on their list of priorities.

Room Tip: If you like to keep the window open, don't have the room with the window overlooking the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were staying overnight at the Finnygook as part of attending our Son's passing out parade at HMS Raleigh at Torpoint. Upon arrival we were met warmly by the staff and shown to our room (No.6), which had a fantastic view through to the Tamar valley. The room was en-suite and decorated to a high standard with a comfy bed and tea making facilities. The menu for our evening meal was well balanced with something for all tastes, with good service and an extensive wine list. We chose Sirloin steaks which were cooked perfectly with an amazing Eton Mess to finish, not a night to be counting the calories! The full English breakfast was also up to the mark and we left vowing to return when next in the area. All in all a very enjoyable stay, and we would thoroughly recommend the Finnygook Inn for facilities, food, ambience and service.
Mike and Debbie Caple

Room Tip: No 6 en-suite double has the best views overlooking the Tamar Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castaway_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were staying in nearby Downderry and had struggled to find anywhere to eat so happened upon this lovely pub. Lovely style inside with a library room and cosy bar. The menu was extensive with a number of specials. We had both been desperate for some fresh fish and were not disappointed. Both the hake and sole were delicious, fresh and very well presented. They were able to cater for my friend's lactose intolerance, adapting the dishes for her. Dessert was fab too. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairelovesbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Finnygook is situated about half mile inland from the South West Coast Path. It is obviously very popular with the locals (which is not entirely to its detriment although children should be seenand not heard in a bar after 8pm in my opinion). The bar and restaurant were very pleasant, food was excellent. We have found when staying in pubs previously that insufficient attention is given to the accommodation and the Finnygook fell into this category. Dont get me wrong, the room was very clean, but the lid was missing from the WC cistern, there was no shower curtain, just a bath with a shower mixer and no supply of the little milk sachets. We were very well treated by the staff, in particular the lady at breakfast who did a sterling job and told us some of her other skills were car repairs and driving a tractor!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed May bank holiday overnight had dinner bed and breakfast
Very helpful happy staff
Great value for money and a superb evening meal
Lovely bolt hole close to home
Fantastic views down through the Tamar Valley

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolyneAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crafthole
0.0 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carbeile Inn
Carbeile Inn
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnygook Inn

Property: Finnygook Inn
Address: Crafthole, Torpoint PL11 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint > Crafthole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crafthole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finnygook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finnygook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnygook Inn Crafthole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing