We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pub”
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finnygook Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Crafthole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Been here a number of times and the food has been excellent. What stops me giving it 5 stars is that the service can be a little 'iffy'. I think the staff are young and sometimes concentration can wander- but at the end of the day, this is a PUB not a restaurant. Judging by some other reviews- patrons seem to think this is a top both restaurant and expect service like it! I'm not bothered too much about service as long as the food arrives promptly. It's a great place to go for a meal in the evening, and the best place around that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    32
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
35
56
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited 2nd Jan expecting (by the price of the food) a really nice meal. Both my first choices had run out so I ordered the liver and bacon bubble and squeak.....what a let down!!! Liver was tough and tasteless and one slice of overcooked bacon (the actual bubble and squeak was tasty) and that was it,a huge plate with very small portion and no accompaniments.My partner ordered the pie with a side order of chips but when we had nearly finished,the barman joked "Oh are you still waiting for your chips?" To which we replied "YES". We had both finished our meals when he came over and said "Oh I presume you don't want your chips anymore!!" No apology or anything and no offer of a complimentary drink or desert,they just did not seem to care! We will deffinately not be visiting here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were staying just down the road for a few days in a small cottage overlooking Whitsand Bay. The Finnygook was one of the local dog friendly pubs recommended in the material left in the cottage so we headed out to try it. We walked up the slope from the small car park and into the pub. We headed to the bar (there is a separate restaurant as well) and were warmly greeted by the barman. Drinks ordered, menu supplied and table selected in the corner out of the way (usually the best bet with the dogs).

We ordered our food - some bread and olives to keep us going to start, then some fried calamari and crab gratin. Both very tasty. We followed by a lemon sole and a hake with crab risotto - very well cooked and presented. We finished off with some ice cream which was also very nice. All in all, good food and service in a nice cosy and friendly 'local' pub restaurant.

We actually returned a couple of evenings later and had an equally good evening. This time we tried the haddock and chips (with mushy peas) and the Finnygook Fish Stew. Both very tasty indeed.

In summary, I'd recommend the Finnygook Inn for good well cooked fresh food in a friendly 'local pub' setting. Service was good and friendly with dogs well received and made at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLanelli
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice pub and good beer. The room was small and uninspiring but acceptable and clean, if a bit in need of a facelift..
The evening meal was again good but not exceptional. (We were charged for a side salad we ordered, but never received)
We would have had a decent stay if the duty manager and staff ,including the chef, had not decided to have noisy party until 3.00am.
Then at breakfast all the parties staying in the four rooms turned up for breakfast, unlike the chef or manager. The chef appeared after 45 minutes but was in no state to cook breakfast. After waiting over an hour we eventually got the manager out of bed and he reluctantly gave us a ten pound discount for the breakfast we never had.
A pity really it was potentially a good pub for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the Duty Managers'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hencapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Have previously enjoyed some lovely evenings in this pub but visited for a family lunch and cut it short after the mains due to the poor service. We arrived dead on noon and stood in the bar being ignored by the staff member ( possibly the manager?). Had to ask if they were open and if food was being served, lack lustre disinterested response followed. We were kept waiting to order whilst the phone was being answered and the staff member stood eating chips off another diners plate - presumably a regular judging by his lack of complaint and the talk around the local football game. Food was good interesting flavours well presented but the front of house team needs to match the efforts of the kitchen. Really disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipstid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We came here for Sunday dinner as we had seen the place advertised on 'taste card' where we could get a discount - although the web said only not fri or sat we were told it wasn't available on a Sunday either despite the website saying it was - the manager didn't offer to explain and simply said it was policy - food was Nice if a little overpriced but the service was poor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a walking trip. The room was double-booked and two walkers (male)were offered a double bed and a child's camp bed. (with a straight face !).

Evening meal was fine, if expensive.

Breakfast was pitiful with poor cooking, indifferent and slow service.

Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Ensure they have not double booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crafthole
0.0 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carbeile Inn
Carbeile Inn
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnygook Inn

Property: Finnygook Inn
Address: Crafthole, Torpoint PL11 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint > Crafthole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crafthole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finnygook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finnygook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnygook Inn Crafthole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing