We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finnygook Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Crafthole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A perfect b&b run by a lovely people which is friendly & so easy to get to from Plymouth. the breakfast was brilliant, exactly what the doctor ordered!!!! Rooms where perfectly clean with everything we needed. definitely will be returning. Thanks to the finny!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    32
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
33
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I feel it is only fair as a customer present on the night in question, that I air my own review. Sat just across the room, I was forced to watch and listen to a table that was rude, demanding and on a busy night expected priority over everyone else in the building. We sat in the restaurant at the same time as the other table and after only 20 minutes of waiting they kicked off at the staff. Showing anger to the staff they laughed behind their backs. They ate all their meals, but whilst obviously enjoying what they were eating they still shouted in anger at a team under a lot of pressure. Their time waiting was hugely exaggerated and our experience of the food, although taking a little longer than usual on a busy night was well worth the wait. Definitely will return, hopefully on a night not shrouded by one tables obnoxious behaviour. Don't put yourselves down Finnygook. You tried the best you could under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jojo2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

went here for a meal for a birthday, we ordered 8 starters of which only 4 came out, plus they took an hour to come, when we pointed this out, no real reason was given, just the waiter (who turned out to be the manager) saying sorry he made a mistake! we then waited another hour for main meals, some were ok but many had complaints, a medium well done steak that was rare, which came with new potatoes instead of potato dauphinoise was just one! the chef did come out to try and explain but no real reason just that they were busy, if they cant handle being busy they shouldn't accept the bookings!
they did give us a discount from our bill but did not make up for ruining a birthday meal!
i will never return and would advise everyone else to do the same!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benm1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were here as B&B guests. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were given an upgrade to the best room as we were the only guests that particular weekend - a nice touch. The food is good, off a relatively limited menu, and the portions are extremely generous. I scarcely made any impact on my main course, so full was the plate. There's a lot to like about this place, but also a lot of nits to pick. The decor is a little tired, frayed round the edges. The bar noise makes an early night out of the question, fair enough I suppose given that it's the local pub. I was woken rather early by sea-gulls - a natural hazard - but then kept awake by noise from a room occupied by overnight staff. Breakfast was idiosyncratic and my coffee was very weak. I'm in two minds over this place. I'd probably dine here again if in the area, but I wouldn't choose to stay overnight again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PD_tripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Been here a number of times and the food has been excellent. What stops me giving it 5 stars is that the service can be a little 'iffy'. I think the staff are young and sometimes concentration can wander- but at the end of the day, this is a PUB not a restaurant. Judging by some other reviews- patrons seem to think this is a top both restaurant and expect service like it! I'm not bothered too much about service as long as the food arrives promptly. It's a great place to go for a meal in the evening, and the best place around that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited 2nd Jan expecting (by the price of the food) a really nice meal. Both my first choices had run out so I ordered the liver and bacon bubble and squeak.....what a let down!!! Liver was tough and tasteless and one slice of overcooked bacon (the actual bubble and squeak was tasty) and that was it,a huge plate with very small portion and no accompaniments.My partner ordered the pie with a side order of chips but when we had nearly finished,the barman joked "Oh are you still waiting for your chips?" To which we replied "YES". We had both finished our meals when he came over and said "Oh I presume you don't want your chips anymore!!" No apology or anything and no offer of a complimentary drink or desert,they just did not seem to care! We will deffinately not be visiting here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were staying just down the road for a few days in a small cottage overlooking Whitsand Bay. The Finnygook was one of the local dog friendly pubs recommended in the material left in the cottage so we headed out to try it. We walked up the slope from the small car park and into the pub. We headed to the bar (there is a separate restaurant as well) and were warmly greeted by the barman. Drinks ordered, menu supplied and table selected in the corner out of the way (usually the best bet with the dogs).

We ordered our food - some bread and olives to keep us going to start, then some fried calamari and crab gratin. Both very tasty. We followed by a lemon sole and a hake with crab risotto - very well cooked and presented. We finished off with some ice cream which was also very nice. All in all, good food and service in a nice cosy and friendly 'local' pub restaurant.

We actually returned a couple of evenings later and had an equally good evening. This time we tried the haddock and chips (with mushy peas) and the Finnygook Fish Stew. Both very tasty indeed.

In summary, I'd recommend the Finnygook Inn for good well cooked fresh food in a friendly 'local pub' setting. Service was good and friendly with dogs well received and made at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crafthole
0.0 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnygook Inn

Property: Finnygook Inn
Address: Crafthole, Torpoint PL11 3BQ , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint > Crafthole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crafthole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finnygook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Finnygook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnygook Inn Crafthole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing