We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but don't forget the little ones”
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Crafthole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but don't forget the little ones”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Came here on a very quiet 'Fryday' night. Friendly staff, good decor and retro easy listening music from the old record player - good start. We ordered the bread and olives which was very tasty. Menu was quite limited though and no children's meals, not great but they scored in providing an off menu option for our little one to meet out requirements - great. We had Haddock and Finnygook burger both great and portions very generous. Choc mouse was very rich and too much of it but the crumble was lovely. Service was a tad on the slow side but overall we enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    112
    38
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came across the Finnygook Inn whilst driving around the Cornish Coast to Portwinkle and decided to have a Sunday Lunch there. Although unassuming from the outside we were very pleasantly surprised by the interior which was spacious, light and a wood burning stove which gave it a relaxed atmosphere.
The Menu selection was excellent and after making our choices sat down to soak in the atmosphere.
We had to wait for a while for our meals but it was well worth it - not only were the portions generous but the quality was first class with service to match. Although we tend to be sceptical if a generous sized meal is served we could not find fault (not that we were trying to).
We think that the Finnygook is suitable for couples and familes and we are looking forward to a return visit and would not hesitate to recommend to our friends and visitors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Deceptively large pub, though not particularly busy the day we visited, however, that did not take away from the atmosphere of the place. Quaint, with old photos and background music from an old gramophone playing and old books in bookshelves. The waitress/barmaid who was on duty was delightful and charming, unhurried and pleasant. Orders taken and food delivered in timely manner. Nice food from set menu £9.99 for two courses. (We could.t manage the deserts unfortunately). Certainly a place to revisit when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply superb! ”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited here many times and it has to be one of our favourite, if not the best pubs about ! The food is of a high standard especially as there is such a selection in the menu, the portions are very generous and there is an additional 'specials board' also, all Very competitively priced. They have curry nights during the week, around £8.00 for a lovely curry and a pint... Bargain and delicious curry!
The staff are very helpful and always have a smile.
The pub is situated a short distance from portwrinkle beach making it a perfect place to stop off on the way home from a stroll along the beach!
During the winter months there is an open fire to warm up next to with a nice pint of Korev (a Cornish lager which is a personal favourite) with a nice packet of Burt's crisps. During the summer months there is a lovely beer garden area situated to the rear, perfect place to enjoy a nice ice cold cider!
The funnygook benefits from absolutely beautiful views over the estuary and river.
I would most certainly recommend you visit the finnygook and see for yourself!


This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good qaulity pub grub and excellent beer”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Helpfull friendly staff, Comfortable welcoming decor, with proper wood fire. The best chocolate desert I have had for a while. Would recommend this as a must to visit, Also new chef who promises to deliver good food made from fresh using qaulity ingredients Don't miss out on a realy good pub with realy good food

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowrider186258, Owner at Finnygook Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Nice to hear, amd I will pass it on to the crew. Thanks again . Jess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finnygook Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing