We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Crantock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel Y
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it delivered”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent two weeks in Cormorant with my wife and two young children. The cottage is in a great location and is well set out for those with young kids (no stairs and very safe). I do, however, take issue with a few issues. Given the price (over £1,000 per week) the bed in the master bedroom was awful. If it was a hotel we would have demanded a new room. When this was raised it took several days before anything was done to rectify the situation and the resulting change (fitting a mattress topper) barely made a difference. In addition to this the carpet in the main bedroom smelt of wet dog. One final gripe - they expect you to pay for heating and hot water. We stayed in May/June with decent weather and barely used the heating and yet the somehow used over £150 worth of oil in 2 weeks! This is ridiculous and must be an attempt to make more money. Given the cost of the place I think this is obscene.

In summary it is a nice, not outstanding, cottage which was unfortunately spoilt by a number of factors. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
We are very sorry our guest did not enjoy his stay at Cormorant, but are pleased he felt that Cormorant was as advertised, nice, well laid out and in a great location.

The first we knew about the problem with the bed was when he reported it was uncomfortable and his feet hung over the end. In March we had checked the condition of all the beds in our cottages and replaced those that needed to be, before Easter. Cormorant has been in constant use since March and we have not received any negative comments about the bed. We checked the bed, agreed with him the problem was the divan base springs squeaking when rolling around on the bed. The reason his feet hung over the end was the headboard had slipped down pushing the mattress forward. Tightening the headboard quickly solved this problem. We also fitted a high quality mattress topper we had taken as a precaution, although this was not really necessary as the mattress was in good condition. As good beds are very important to ensure the comfort of our guests, we ordered a new bed the same day costing over £1000. Earliest delivery was in the week after his holiday.

When we visited to check the bed, he did not mention and we did not notice any problem with the carpet. It is very rare for carpets to retain a smell after our Property Managers have cleaned as the majority of our guests respect our rules that dogs are no allowed in bedrooms or on the furniture and, also, we clean our carpets every year. Our subsequent guests have confirmed that they had no problem with the carpet smelling. We do not understand this complaint.

With regard to £150 for oil, this is simply not correct. When multiplying the number of litres used by the £/litre (which is charged at cost) he got his maths wrong. The cost of his oil for a week was £11.10. He left without discussing the money due and we have never received any payment for his oil. We charge for heating in many of our cottages as we find our guest usage varies significantly and it is more cost effective for our guests if they decide how much heating they wish to use and pay for.

We want all our guests to have a wonderful time and work very hard to provide great accommodation but unfortunately sometimes what we do falls short of guest’s expectations. We are pleased this does not seem to be the norm and Cormorant with its wonderful views over the sea, 5 minutes walk to a sandy beach, modern and spacious open plan living in one of Cornwall’s best coastal locations, continues to be one of our most popular properties in the winter and in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Instantly on holiday - ease of settling in and immediately feel at home with no hassle!
Liked least: Needing to take the car out for the nearest shop! (Really had to search for anything not to like!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful weather and excellent accommodation
Liked least: All good no problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Skiingchi...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, enjoyable stay, highly recommend”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed with my parents and grandparents in June 2013, however we have stayed in the cottage two times before this - Sept 2012 & Sept 2011. We love the location of the property as it sits just above Crantock with a short walk down to the beach. The views from the cottage are amazing and it's a lovely open plan living area which really maximises the view. The rooms are very tidy and clean. They also ask how many quilts & pillows you would like for your stay which is very considerate. The kitchen is well equipped for self-catering and even Sainsbury's delivers to your door! The only thing we have noticed over the years is the cottage is getting a little tired in places and really needs a refurb, but we hope that the owners will do this soon. There also used to be a lovely outside dining table and chairs, which has been replaced by a bench which isn't easy to get x6 adults round if you want to sit outside. However the new fence in the garden is a great addition and we spent many sunny hours behind it protected from the wind. A very enjoyable stay in the most beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: Property is looking a little tired in places
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatters...
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal family holiday location”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Have stayed here before and as always it is a place for a great holiday, with of without the family. Set on top of the cliff overlooking Crantock bay and the Goose rock, the views from the bungalow are 'wow!'. The accommodation is very clean and well kept with all amenities that you require for a great stay, very comfortable, just great to sit, relax and look at view.The location of Cormorant is such, that for families ,just a short walk in either direction takes you to the peaceful sandy cove of 'Polly joke' or the great sandy beach and dunes of Crantock bay.Or for the more energetic, lovely cliff top walks with outstanding views of the Atlantic. Crantock village is a short walk away, a quaint village with 2 pubs and very good local store. There is also a farm shop very close, plus a pub around the corner from Cormorant, with super views and grub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing