We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Week”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Crantock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie M
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Week”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I picked this because of the view and hot tub. We were not disappointed with either. The bungalow was well equipped with great bathrooms and comfy beds. There was lots of space even with 8 of us. We were greeted by Niami on arrival who talked us through everything and was on hand if we needed her. Great walks from here and a pub around the corner!! All in all we had a lovely week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
View, hot tub, pub and 5 minutes on a fab beach - delighted you enjoyed your stay. Naomi looks after a couple of our cottages and adds a 5 star service to our 5 star properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C
1 review
“Awesome location, great accommodation!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This property more than exceeded my expectations. Beautifully renovated, furnished and laid out. The house had everything that you could possibly need to enjoy a relaxing and comfortable stay. Comfortable sofas, beds, towels and well stocked kitchen. I would definitely look to book with this company again if all the cottages come up to the same standard as this one! We even managed to get into the hot tub on a couple of occasions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncoleca...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We decided to treat ourselves & book Cormorant for Christmas (we walked past it in the Summer & admired it). We had a fantastic time in this lovely, clean, well equipped open plan bungalow with stunning views. To be able to sit in the Conservatory & watch the waves break over Goose Rock was just so relaxing. We were greeted with a Real Christmas Tree, Chocolates & Prosecco - what a lovely touch. Everything we needed was there, including a Turkey Baster! Fab that we could take our well behaved Collie Dog but wonderful that when we first walked in, you would never know Dogs were allowed in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet and Outstanding Views
Liked least: Worrying about how much the cost of oil would be for the Heating!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtknowl...
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, lovely accommodation, walk to beach, restaurant and pub, we will be back”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

As an extended family group of 10 we booked Cormorant and Guillemot for our annual get together. We had three generations staying in the two properties which are next to each other. It worked really well as we all had our own space, could do our own thing, but still get together as a group throughout the week. The two properties are lovely. Cormorant has spectacular views over Crantock Bay from the open plan living and dining room. Your really feel close to the sea. Having a garden as well was great. The beds in all the properties were really comfortable and both properties were well appointed with even an expresso coffee machine in Cormorant.

We have stayed in Crantock Village previously but the properties we had used were already booked so we thought we would give these two a go. We were not disappointed. They are so close to Polly Joke beach which is almost deserted with an away from it all feel. Cormorant and Guillemot are only 5 minutes from the beach over NT land which has wonderful views over the sea.

We will be back next year to Crantock. We now have to decide if we stay in the village or come back to West Pentire, a tough choice.

We dined out locally this year but also took advantage of Tesco delivering at the start of our holiday and again part way through. Seemed better to shop from the iPad that spend time in a supermarket when on holiday. The wonders of fast broadband.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great view, comfy beds, walk to beach in 5 mins over NT land
Liked least: Traffic on A30
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it delivered”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent two weeks in Cormorant with my wife and two young children. The cottage is in a great location and is well set out for those with young kids (no stairs and very safe). I do, however, take issue with a few issues. Given the price (over £1,000 per week) the bed in the master bedroom was awful. If it was a hotel we would have demanded a new room. When this was raised it took several days before anything was done to rectify the situation and the resulting change (fitting a mattress topper) barely made a difference. In addition to this the carpet in the main bedroom smelt of wet dog. One final gripe - they expect you to pay for heating and hot water. We stayed in May/June with decent weather and barely used the heating and yet the somehow used over £150 worth of oil in 2 weeks! This is ridiculous and must be an attempt to make more money. Given the cost of the place I think this is obscene.

In summary it is a nice, not outstanding, cottage which was unfortunately spoilt by a number of factors. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
We are very sorry our guest did not enjoy his stay at Cormorant, but are pleased he felt that Cormorant was as advertised, nice, well laid out and in a great location.

The first we knew about the problem with the bed was when he reported it was uncomfortable and his feet hung over the end. In March we had checked the condition of all the beds in our cottages and replaced those that needed to be, before Easter. Cormorant has been in constant use since March and we have not received any negative comments about the bed. We checked the bed, agreed with him the problem was the divan base springs squeaking when rolling around on the bed. The reason his feet hung over the end was the headboard had slipped down pushing the mattress forward. Tightening the headboard quickly solved this problem. We also fitted a high quality mattress topper we had taken as a precaution, although this was not really necessary as the mattress was in good condition. As good beds are very important to ensure the comfort of our guests, we ordered a new bed the same day costing over £1000. Earliest delivery was in the week after his holiday.

When we visited to check the bed, he did not mention and we did not notice any problem with the carpet. It is very rare for carpets to retain a smell after our Property Managers have cleaned as the majority of our guests respect our rules that dogs are no allowed in bedrooms or on the furniture and, also, we clean our carpets every year. Our subsequent guests have confirmed that they had no problem with the carpet smelling. We do not understand this complaint.

With regard to £150 for oil, this is simply not correct. When multiplying the number of litres used by the £/litre (which is charged at cost) he got his maths wrong. The cost of his oil for a week was £11.10. He left without discussing the money due and we have never received any payment for his oil. We charge for heating in many of our cottages as we find our guest usage varies significantly and it is more cost effective for our guests if they decide how much heating they wish to use and pay for.

We want all our guests to have a wonderful time and work very hard to provide great accommodation but unfortunately sometimes what we do falls short of guest’s expectations. We are pleased this does not seem to be the norm and Cormorant with its wonderful views over the sea, 5 minutes walk to a sandy beach, modern and spacious open plan living in one of Cornwall’s best coastal locations, continues to be one of our most popular properties in the winter and in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Instantly on holiday - ease of settling in and immediately feel at home with no hassle!
Liked least: Needing to take the car out for the nearest shop! (Really had to search for anything not to like!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful weather and excellent accommodation
Liked least: All good no problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing