We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”
Review of Carden Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crantock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carden Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Crantock B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

While walking the coastal path from Padstow to StIves I stopped over at Carden Cottage in the lovely village of Crantock. I was greeted at the front door by owner Bernard, and was immediately made to feel very welcome.
The cottage is lovely, being detached and away from the road. The room was clean and comfortable, with a lovely on-suite. Pat and Bernard recommended a pub just 3 minutes away for food (The Albion), which was great. The pub is more of a restaurant, so I popped over the road to the Cornishman pub for a beer.

All in all, it was a lovely experience. One to be repeated again very soon I hope.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Russell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our second time staying here, but we have visited Pat and Bernie when we have stayed in other places in Cornwall, this is a lovely B and B in a lovely place run by two levy people. We had a good time. Left the car most of the time, using our bus passes to travel to Truro and other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo1568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A beautiful cottage in a lovely village with a very pretty room and delicious breakfast.

A real oasis plus excellent advice on what to visit in Cornwall.

We only stayed for one night and would most definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterschof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent service and very friendly people, best bed and breakfast we've ever Stsyed in. Lovely breakfast and very clean and comfortable room. A 5 min walk to a beautiful beach what more could u ask for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammied1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything about Carden Cottage is fantastic! I can't wait to go back in June. Really looking forward to seeing Pat and Bernard again! It is such a lovely B & B and in such a nice situation. Two minutes from two pubs and only five minutes away from the beautiful beach

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo1568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed 1 night in the superb Bed and Breakfast and can only say that it was wonderful. Mr and Mrs Clark were the perfect hosts, making me feel very welcome and just couldn't do enough for me. The room was excellent and the on suite spotless, I would not have been able to fault anything. I highly recommend this B and B to anyone and think that staying for a few days would be the perfect place for a peaceful rest with a great pub in the village for meals and nearby Newquay just a few minutes drive. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Fantastic overall experience clean no noise big room comfy bed excellent ensuite really friendly and welcoming would defiantly come and stay again in this beautiful village and lovely bed and breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crantock
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
928 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#21 of 38 in Newquay
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carden Cottage

Property: Carden Cottage
Address: Carden Cottage Halwyn Hill, Crantock TR8 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crantock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crantock
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Carden Cottage Crantock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing