We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave”
Review of Fairbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crantock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This hotel asks you to "sit back, relax, enjoy the view" and it is difficult not to do that in this wonderfully small hotel with attentive hosts Elaine and Paul. We stayed over the Easter weekend having decided,a few days beforehand, to leave London for some fresh air and good views.
This hotel was everything it's website promised it would be, and more. Clean comfortable rooms and a wonderful view meant that a peaceful night's sleep was followed with a view to savour; a word, however, that does scant justice to the breakfasts served downstairs, cooked by Paul. Tie in the fact that Elaine hides her culinary skills under a bushel but uses them to full advantage for the evening meals and you should get the picture that you diet before and after a visit here, but not during! Her cooking was faultless.
The bar/conservatory is a wonderful place to let the evening drift away. The wine list is extensive for the size of hotel and VERY competitively priced and I was bowled over to see a barrel of beer in use on the counter behind the bar. No pump, just gravity, and Skinners' Betty Stogs is my new favourite tipple.
Not suprisingly the hotel was full over this weekend, but the wide age ranges covered mixed well and the friendliness of the owners was the gelling factor. The local beaches are stunning and, in staying here, we were able to conveniently visit both North and South Cornwall. Frankly, how this place is only two stars I will never know: I mean, are telephones in rooms that vital in this cellphone age?
Normally when we go away we try to stay at a different hotel each time, even if we revisit an area. That will not be the case when we return to Cornwall; this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Fairbank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2008

we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights so we could attend a wedding another local hotel. I was anxious about where we were staying as we were travelling for the first time with our 4 month old son (as well as our 6 year old daughter). we booked the 'family suite' which obviously made our stay quite pricey, but it was worth it for 3 excellent nights sleep!
there was a double room with a spacious single room adjoining it. the owners put a cot (a real cot, not a travel cot - important detail if you are sleep deprived!) in the single room which also had a smaill sofa and armchair in it. The rooms were very attractive, comfortable and immaculately clean. both rooms had t.v's with plenty of channels available.
apart from the accomodation, it was so nice to be in a small hotel which still offered services such as a bar and meals (evening meals booked in advance, but bar snacks available on demand). also, as it was small (not small like those B&B's that feel like someones house but small for a hotel) our baby monitor worked downstairs so we could actually have a drink or meal and come out of our room in the evenings.

the breakfasts were fantastic - could not have been better!! everything you expect - cereal, juices, toast, and full english- or personalised version of one! but also very good quality and well cooked! the other food we had there was also very nice.

the owners were very welcoming and we had a very enjoyable stay. if we return to this part of the world i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

After reading all these glowing reviews on tripadvisor i was disappointed in the actual experience.

our room (which was different from the one we booked, but with the same facilities) actually smelt. Seriously, like there was wee on the carpet or something - either that or my partner thought maybe it was the fabric surrounding the four poster was damp and smelling. either way it wasn't pleasant and we had the windows wide open the whole time we were there, which was just for one night. the hotel was fully booked so i didnt ask to be moved.

breakfast was fine. really the hotel is quite an old style place and i guess i prefer something a bit more modern. most of the people there were in their 50's and it is probably nice for them.

for 95 pounds a night i didnt feel it was great value. we went to st ives the night after and paid 70 pounds for a fantastic b&b.

if the room hadnt smelt so bad i would have reviewed the place a little better i guess. but the owners MUST have been able to smell it and really should have tried to at least mask it/clean up whatever it was.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2008

We were very disappointed to read such a scathing review from one of our guests PARTICULARLY as they deliberately chose not to discuss any of their 'issues' with us during their one night stay earlier this month.

We currently have two 'four-poster' bedrooms both of which were fully refurbished for Easter 2005 and, annually refreshed and upgraded since. However, the furniture in both of these rooms has not been replaced as the beds are of a 'period' design and require a complimenting furniture style. Soft furnishings have all been replaced along with the addition of custom-made drapes for the beds to match with the curtains.

Both four-poster rooms were available when this couple booked twelve days prior to the night of their stay and we emailed booking confirmation to them specifying a four-poster room without allocating a room by name, an action we take on one night bookings to ensure we have maximum flexibility to accommodate other guests looking for longer stays. Subsequently, further bookings necessitated the change in room to avoid guests already staying in the other four-poster room being moved mid-stay. This was fully explained when queried by the guests on arrival. NO further comment was made to us and, NO complaint was made when initially shown to their room. or at any further stage....

On their departure the room was cleaned and refreshed as normal and then occupied that night by another couple for four nights who, commented both verbally and in our Guest Book, 'thoroughly enjoyable stay'!

Coincidentally, we also had an unexpected overnight vist from a Visit Britain Hotel Inspector on the day that this couple departed. Whilst commenting on a number of items that require attention (we are mid-season after all!) we were re-awarded our Small Hotel Two Star Grading and, additionally, their 'Silver Award' for Hotels that score highly within their grade! On checking this particular room, favourable coments were made about the style and the period furniture!

We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a relaxed and enjoyable stay here at the Fairbank Hotel. Our motto is 'sit back...relax...enjoy the view' which the majority of our guests appreciate. The main part of the building is over 100 years old BUT the interior is clean and modern and comfortable as can be seen on our website, which gives clear details on our availability and tariffs (including VAT - the major difference in cost for us when being compared to B&B's).

On the actual night of their stay, we had a wide mix of couples and families (6 children) including many returning guests.

It is frustrating to receive a review such as this BUT we trust that people researching our Hotel on Trip Advisor will read our response along with the other reviews then visit our website and draw their own conclusions.

Paul & Elaine Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We had a really great weeks stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean and the decor was fresh throughout. The owners and their family were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but very tasty and well cooked. The views of the garden and over the sea was spectacular. The nearby beach is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We loved The Fairbank! Our room was lovely, with a magnificent sea view and a great en-suite. Everything was very clean, tidy and tastefully decorated.

Breakfast was lovely, with a full English breakfast as well as the usual juice, yogurt, cereal etc.

We were made to feel welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel's a ten minute stroll down to the beach, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for fantastic scenery and a pretty village.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Trippingtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

This was our third stay at the Fairbank and as usual, we had a wonderfully relaxing time. Elaine and Paul welcome you in as if you are part of their family (who are all lovely and help out at the hotel too). Our interconnecting rooms were cosy,very clean and perfect for us and our girls and Elaine's fantastic cooked breakfasts really set us up for the day. Our eldest daughter never usually wants breakfast but happily tucked into bacon, egg and toast every morning at the Fairbank!

The bar area has a lovely view of the beach and was a great place to have a drink and chat with Elaine and Paul who are perfect hosts and had great suggestions for places to eat - although there is a very good dinner menu at the hotel if you're too tired after a day out to move any further!

We can't recommend this place highly enough if you are looking for a relaxing, friendly and well priced hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank littleimpSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Good value. Friendly , efficient, clean family run hotel and good food.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crantock
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,381 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbank Hotel

Address: West Pentire Road, Crantock TR8 5SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crantock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Price Range: £53 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairbank Hotel is a family run small hotel perfectly located in a tranquil, traditional Cornish country village by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairbank Hotel Crantock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing