We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
193
106
71
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
106
71
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room steep drive balcony overlooking the river mini bar china clay brasserie menu stunning views local pub both dinner and breakfast fowey river eden project homemade biscuits charming hotel comfortable lounge other guests sat nav fresh milk in the fridge
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here after a very busy family Christmas, the peaceful setting, lovely room with beautiful views and a very comfortable bed, swimming pool, and delightful restaurant were just what we needed to revive us. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Our superior room whilst not over large was well fitted out and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Really pleased with this hotel! Booked it on an Internet deal, £80 room and breakfast for my wife and I, but it surpasses many hotels we've endured for a lot more money! Lovely riverside location, I think all rooms face river, restaurant is great, river facing. Food superb, as is the service. Lounge area is nicely set out in groups of cosy sofas with hot log fire. Our room was not large, but perfectly clean, and had a panoramic sliding window overlooking curve in river/ estuary. Decor is all good and clean, could possibly be improved??? But everything else and lovely friendly and hard working staff more than make up for it. Timber clad spa is also good. Lovely Poole and hot tub. Note: this hotel is perched on a hillside and had a very steep access driveway. It is now one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie-shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent three nights here at the end of October. It has a fantastic location but, as it says on the web site - it's not a place for the infirm (lots of steps, no ramps) - or those who are intimidated by narrow lanes or very steep drives! Golant is a small hamlet a couple of miles upriver from Fowey. Reached by a steep, narrow lane with passing places. We were glad we had taken my wife's small car. The approach to the hotel is along the quayside - small river marina that floods at high tide, when you have to take a detour around the hamlet's narrow streets to reach the hotel. The hotel itself is set high up on the side of the valley overlooking the estuary. It is reached by a very steep drive - I would guess it is a 1 in 3. Good job this area is not subject to many frosts as the slope would be treacherous. Once at the top there is parking for about 12 cars.
All the rooms have fantastic views. especially those on the first floor. We had booked a superior double and were given room 12 - on the first floor. Good sized room with newly fitted and spacious en suite shower and views up and down the estuary. Unfortunately the 'large' double was only a queen and the mattress was very soft - so much so that my wife ricked her back when she sat down and it sagged down more than she expected. As her back is very sensitive to soft matresses we had to change. The manager was very obliging and gave us the only other empty room - room 1 on the ground floor. Not such a spectacular view but with its own terrace. A fair sized room but with a bigger bed - twin zip linked beds. Still on the soft side but better than the previous double. Apart from the less than perfect beds the sleeping experience was great - the quietest location we have ever experienced- total silence - no traffic, no noisy neighbours!
We had dinner there twice during the stay. Nice large lounge with great views and small bar area plus reasonable dining room (with nice wood burner to keep away the cold) - again as with all their rooms the view was superb. The food is good - a little on the pretentious side for me - which means ambitious menus and smallish portions, but very good cooking. Starters and deserts are around £7 each and the main courses around £20-25 and you can get a three course option for around £32. Most memorable dish for me was a selection of home made ice creams which included an interesting salted caramel!
Breakfasts were the usual fare - self service buffet for juices, dried fruit, yoghurts and cereals and a large selection of cooked dishes - the usual full English (very good and generous helpings) and various varieties of eggs etc - nice scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall almost a 5 star experience - slightly let down by the beds which could be better quality. For a similar price we have stayed recently at Byfords Posh B&B in Holt, Norfolk where the beds are outstanding (all are Vi Spring).It means you can book knowing you will get a really comfortable mattress - firm but well padded - rather than wondering if it's going to be a slightly soggy mattress where you feel every movement of your partner.
PS there was a separate pool but we did not make use of this.

Room Tip: All have great views - ground floor rooms also have a private terrace area with table and chairs but ist floor rooms have the better view and are likely to be less affected by noise from other rooms - in our ground floor room we could hear the people above moving around. Fortunately all the other guests were middle aged like ourselves and went to bed pretty early!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for a couple of days at this lovely hotel. When we arrived, I found it too quiet but after a day appreciated the relaxing atmosphere and the time went too quickly. The food was delicious and a comfortable bedroom where we sat on the balcony to watch the otters swimming across the estuary. The staff were helpful and friendly and will certainly return for another relaxing break

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the estuary
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

The Cormorant hotel at Golant is set overlooking the beautiful estuary leading to Fowey.

The views and setting are marvelous.

We had a very relaxing break and the service was superb. The highlight for us was the cuisine which was sensational and the restaurant had a great ambience.

This is a very relaxing break and ideal for a romantic break in beautiful Cornwall.

The bedroom was dissapointing , the decor and fittings are very dated and tired and do not match the ambience created elsewhere to in the public areas. The rooms were clean and had wonderful views from the private balcony.

Overall a good venue that could be GREAT If refer ishment of bedrooms were to be undertaken by the management team.

Highlight food and natural setting

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews