We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
192
106
69
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
106
69
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomsteep drivebalcony overlooking the rivermini barchina claybrasserie menustunning viewslocal pubboth dinner and breakfastfowey rivereden projecthomemade biscuitscharming hotelcomfortable loungeother guestssat navfresh milk in the fridge
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed an Easter break in this tranquil setting that was exactly as described in the Hotel's website. The owner and staff were welcoming, friendly and very attentive without being intrusive. The excellent menus and extensive wine list complimented the restaurant with it's grand views. Our room was beautifully furnished and we thoroughly recommend this peaceful Cornish haven.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Pearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

the food was very good one of the best around good view from the restaurant service good not expensive galant is a very nice village worth a visit nice walk to fowel very near the edem good pub in the village

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have recently returned from spending 3 nights in "Superior" room no.15.

It has to be said that the view across the railway track, to the river and surrounding countryside, is simply splendid.
The level of accomodation is however, a different matter.
Our " Superior" room only measured 4.0m x 3.2m and by normal standards, was poorly furnished, comprising a double bed, two bedside cabinets, a single-width wardrobe, a small writing desk (presumably in lieu of a dressing table) and two small and very distressed, old, painted, cane chairs.
The lack of storage space meant that we had to stuff our luggage in the single wardrobe and leave our bulkier clothing (gilets and coats) in our car.
Dining was quite good. But not exceptional, given that the inclusive dinner charge of £32, for a choice of 4 to 5 dishes per course, also carried a further supplement for certain dishes.

All in all, a Ford Mondeo with a Jaguar price tag.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay extra for a Superior room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaCormorant, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

We are sorry that this guest did not discuss their concern with us directly whilst here. They were allocated the only room we had which met all of their specific requirements, but in retrospect, had they told us of their disappointment with the size of their room ( the smallest in the Hotel ), we could have offered them alternatives with which, we are sure, they would have been happy.
Their room did have in it a 5' king-size bed as they had requested, although we could have given them a room with a 6' superking had they asked.
We are quite sure that we could have made their stay much more to their liking, had they given us the opportunity, and we would always recommend that guests talk to the staff about any concerns they have. It is rare for any accommodation provider not to want to do their best to address a problem, and improve the guest situation.
In our limited experience of guest disatissfaction, we do find that, once one thing does not please a guest, then they will be in a frame of mind to find other things to critisize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend 22nd/23rd February stopping at the Cormorant with another couple. Our rooms were well appointed, clean and with wonderful views of the river. We dined there both nights and the food was superb both in content, presentation and service, complemented by a good wine selection. Top marks for the many small but noted little touches, eg. delicious home made breads for the table and oatcakes for the cheeses. The breakfasts were equally superb with a good and varied selection available. No complaints at all.
All the staff were friendly and helpful right down to the last moment when our bags were carried to our car for us.
We have every intention of returning and thoroughly recommend this gem of a hotel in the lovely and picturesque hamlet of Golant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasunnedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Difficult to find in the narrow streets but well worth the effort. Fabulous river views, with comfortable rooms and a real treat from the restaurant. This was 5 star eating, a wonderful experience. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews