We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoultely 5 star service .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cormorant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay on three occasions at this beautifully situated hotel.My husband wanted to book their beautiful Cormorant Room,which has a fabulous view from the bath,overlooking the Fowey.At the time of booking it was already reserved,none the less,we booked a premier room instead.Upon arrival,a lovely surprise was that they had upgraded us to The Cormorant Room for free,as it had become available and they had remembered our original request for this lovely room.All of the staff are extremely polite and professional without being intrusive.The little touches,such as canapés before choosing your meal,in the lounge,along with serving your drinks,is what makes the service and staff just a cut above the other luxury hotels we have stayed at.
We used the fantastic indoor pool they have along with the hot tub,again on our own as not being a huge hotel,chances are,you have to yourselves.
The food is superb,could not fault it.I failed miserably at finishing my meal as I was full by the mains! Would recommend this hotel without reservation.It has charm,fantastic views of the river and watching the to and fro of the boats on the water,whilst sat on a balcony,in the peace and quiet,is a touch of heaven.
The beds are huge and incredibly comfy.The room and bathroom spotless.

Room Tip: Go for The Cormorant or premier if you can but any one of them will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

A bit hard to find, but well worth the effort. We spent three nights in the Cormorant Room, which was an absolute delight, with a fabulous view, its own private balcony, a huge bathroom, and a comfortable bed. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast. We also found the dinners quite good and a welcome retreat after a long day of driving around the Cornwall countryside. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Cormorant Room and found it to be so delightful that it was worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for a few nights in March as a brief post-wedding 'mini-moon'.
Golant is a fantastically sited village- a few 'hairy' lanes to negotiate, but well worth the trip.
The Hotel is in a fantastic spot, overlooking the estuary with stunning views from bedroom, restaurant and bar. I did find the rate somewhat high for the bedroom product, but the view counters the higher than expected room rate for the class of hotel.
Breakfast was really good, much better than other Hotels that I have stayed at. Dinner, again, perhaps a tad overpriced, but the service was absolutely perfect, attentive, anticipative and yet not intrusive.
Hotel and grounds spotlessly maintained, adequate parking and total peace and quiet. In general the staff were excellent, although I did feel one team member a little bit on the officious side initially, but during our stay she seemed to 'warm'. Perhaps a bad day...
I would certainly stay again and would recommend...though if it wasn't for the priceless view and location, I may have left feeling a lack of value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENE008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

You judge a hotel by many things, but I think the first thing most of us look at is the price of the room. Cormorant charge £160 for the cheapest room in the summer months so you would think that this must be a first class 5 star hotel, you would be wrong. This really is only a 3 star with a high price. So what's good and bad.
Good points: Staff are very friendly and are always willing to help. The location for the views is fantastic. The downstairs lounge is very comfortable. The pool & spa were good.Besides these things there was little else that was good. So now the list of bad points: The price, to high for what you get compared to other quality hotels. To get to the hotel you have to drive up a 100yd 1 in 2 hill to the entrance so no good for disabled people to walk. The rooms are not big, and room 9 has a 10inch excuse for a TV on the wall. The showers run hot and cold with poor water pressure. No shaver sockets in some of the rooms. Some rooms do not have a mini bar. The towels were not changed each day even after leaving them on the floor. Mirror was scratched and not really good to get a good look. The walls were very thin and you could hear most things from next door. The decor should be refurbished looking very tired and dirty. The internet was very weak and stopped working.
You can see from the list above that it is not a 5 star hotel so they shouldn't charge the price.
Would I stay here again. No. Would I recommend it no way.
I am sure you can find better in the area for your hard earned cash.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel offers a tranquil location(end of the road literally) with stunning views across the river Fowey - and having just spent a week there we would confirm that is exactly what you get. A tranquil and peace filled hotel with extremely welcoming, professional & helpful staff that ensure your stay is all that you wish for. Easy, yet with superb views, walk into Fowey - and when you return, kick off your shoes and relax in the hotel's private pool and spa. We will be back!

Room Tip: all first floor rooms have fab views and best hotel location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff can't do enough for you, views are beautiful, you would be hard pushed to better the food. Bedrooms are ok, our tv screen is the size of a computer screen and there is no mini bar although it is advertised that all rooms have them also walls are so thin we could hear the man (well we assume it was a man) next door snoring. Food and drink are quite expensive

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading all it entails really is a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked to stay for one night in The Cormorant last week and were so disappointed by the room in particular and the hotel in general that I am afraid we spent half an hour sitting in the room before realising that we could not stay and we booked another hotel in Fowey and left. The reasons for our decision were that the hotel was just nothing like the pictures on its own website. The room was small and the en-suite was tiny, the furniture comprised a scratched beaten up pine chest of drawers and two arm chairs with yellowing covers. The balcony was solid wood and equipped with dirty, green plastic chairs. It did not look like the glazed balcony with white metal table portrayed in the photos on the website. We could hear the TV, heavy footsteps and even voices through the ceiling very clearly i.e. walls are paper thin. The room itself smelt stale and the sitting room smelt of bleach. There was white linen on the bed but bizarrely matched with a black valance. There were some rather cheap looking bright blue toiletries in the en-suite. There were however views over the river but this was not enough to compensate for the general dilapidation of the decor and furnishings, small facilities and the rather gloomy and dated sitting room. The Cormorant Hotel is desperately in need of a refurbishment. It also did not help that we were left standing in reception for 10 mins before anyone came to greet us.
Unfortunately the proprietor Mary Tozer chose to exercise her legal right to extract the full £150.00 cancellation fee from our account and rejected the criticisms we made claiming we were in the minority. Having retrospectively read some of the comments on Trip Advisor it is clear that several other people had similar criticisms. I am sorry that she took that line as it left a nasty taste in the mouth. We did not regret our decision however, expensive as it was, as we had a very nice stay at the superb Old Quay House Hotel on Fowey harbour, where the staff were welcoming and friendly from the start, the room luxurious and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a place outside Fowey and like river views, ask for the room with the glazed balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
1.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
707 reviews
4.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cormorant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Price Range: £85 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing