We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cormorant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived at the hotel a bit early but this wasn't a problem, we were soon booked in and shown to our room. We had a lovely room with beautiful views across the river, the bed was comfy, and the room was tastefully decorated and had lovely bedding & towels. We didn't eat in the restaurant except for breakfast, which was lovely. We had a great stay.

However, I asked the lady on reception if we could use the pool, and she said unfortunately it wasn't in use due to the filters needing reparing. I was very disappointed as this was the reason why I chose this hotel (being in the middle of January, sometimes it's too wet to explore the outdoors... this was true as it started raining as soon as we booked in). Later that evening, I mentioned my disappointment about the pool to the man on reception & bar, and he said that in fact the pool costs too much to keep running during the winter months and that it's closed Nov-Feb. When we were surprised by this, he said that this information would have been in big red letters on the booking website as well as our confirmation email from them, and went on to say that they wouldn't try and hide it from us. On our return home I checked both emails and website, as I was made to feel foolish for not noticing it, yet there was nothing on either about the pool being closed in winter months or for repairs!!!!!! There is a only a minor mention of it on the hotel's website, specifically on the pool page, in minute writing. Maybe they should make it more clear!!

The only other disappointment was that the walls were very thin, and you could hear people talking and even snoring during the night. :(

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are glad that you were pleased with your room and the Hotel in general, but so sorry that you were disappointed that the Pool was closed for repairs.

Your reservation was made through Booking.com and, for the time of this closure, our entry on their site is altered to read that our Pool is available only seasonally. We have little control over how that information is displayed on their site, but are so sorry that it was not clear to you. We have amended our own website to make this information more noticeable.

Whilst you were here we explained to you that the closure was necessary for vital repairs that could take some time, and that we had therefore taken the decision to close it during the winter months, when the Pool traditionally does not get a lot of use.
We have kept our rates competitively low during this time to reflect the lack of that facility, and remain confident that the Pool will be re-opened as planned in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for The Cormorant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have enjoyed this hotel only once before, and that was just an evenings bed and breakfast, with a group of friends. I was very impressed then with this Hotel, but never got to experience their full treatment, so when they emailed me with a super New Year's Eve Party menu I jumpted at the chance to revisit the hotel. Our room was again, superb, with lovely views of the estuary and everything in it you needed. The actual New Years Eve 7-course gala dinner was outstanding and the food was simply superb, just the right amount and superbly presented. In fact I'd go as far as to say it was 'exquisite', worthy of most top class restuarants. We then enjoyed their 'normal' (if you can call it that) menu on the following day, to again enjoy absoulutely superb food, once again incredibly presented and fantastically cooked. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this OUTSTANDING hotel!

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms have great views
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Took a bit of finding but it was worth it. We got a great deal on late rooms and arrived to find we also had been upgraded to a room with a balcony. The service was excellent from the start, the food was fantastic, and the view is amazing! Lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived and were booked in quickly... shown to the room and left to it. Everything we needed was there, tea coffee chocolate and biscuits... a fully stocked mini bar which would be charged at the same rate as the main bar would. Towels, bed, hot water and décor all good.... the walls might have been a bit thin but its a quite hotel.... The view is beautiful... we had a veranda and sat out there just sipping wine and watching the world go by... it was so peaceful.
Dinner was excellent and hot.. and nicely served by the waitress who were very helpful and attentive. The main bar stayed open for us while we had a night cap. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and served hot.
All in all a very pleasant hotel and we would stay there again... but there are so many others to check out before we have to start again at the beginning of the list again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

You dive down a steep narrow sealed road, typical Cornwall, to Golant village, tucked on a bend in the River Fowey, and right to the Cormorant, perched just above the river at the south end. A sudden islet of far off civilised calm and tranquility. The room had some space and a balcony, and a funny push button shower (which worked). Food was very good too, som effort, and the service. Not cheap? But high marks overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Went for 2 nights here....Sat Nav takes you to the back of the hotel from where there is no entrance...you need to go the road which is parallel to the river vs the one road before. We got there late and they were happy to leave a key out for us with directions to how to find the room (mind you, it's not a very big hotel anyway).

We got the room with a view towards the river and it was great! Big Wide windows which slide open...we were in room 10 which has a mini bar (small basic fridge), full tea making facilities, lots of storage etc. Nothing to complain about at all EXCEPT that the walls are somewhat thin and I could hear the next door's Snoring at night, coughing and then the alarm clock in the morning..better sound insulation would definitely benefit the rooms.

Breakfast service is very polite and professionals. When I was leaving the hotel I noticed that it is rated as a 3 star hotel which I was surprised about. With the way the staff, rooms and breakfast is..I was under the impression it's a 4 star!!! Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view - you won't regret it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guyandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a superior room. Lovely views and a nice little balcony. Room was nothing fancy but, very clean, nice bed linen and towels. Also a very nice touch, a jug of fresh milk in the fridge, which is so much nicer than longlife cartons. Also homemade biscuits provided each day.

The food was fantastic. Different menu each day. Beautifully presented food with amazing flavours. Both dinner and breakfast excellent standard.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
1.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cormorant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Price Range: £102 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing