We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view and lovely place to see it from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cormorant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We weren't staying here but popped in for a light Sunday lunch. It was super! Beautiful view of the Fowey estuary once we had climbed the hill (it is not too onerous - makes lunch worth it). Settled at a table surrounded by absolute peace we shared a seafood and shellfish starter which was great value for all it offered; such variety and all beautifully set out and flavoured with care and attention. Loved the little herb loaf too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Spritzabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your Lunch. Thanks for writing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for The Cormorant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Have just spent two lovely nights at this hotel. Beautiful place situated right next to the river. Our room had floor to ceiling windows which opened back to allow us to just sit & watch the 'messings about on the river'. Breakfast was lovely & good choice. Our evening meal last night was super, beautifully presented & piping hot. Dessert arrived with Happy Anniversary piped around the plate in chocolate. Staff very welcoming. A little gem of a spot even with the very tight parking in the carpark.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first anniversary celebration, and hope that we can help you celebrate other milestones along the way. Wishing you a wondderful year ahead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It is rather an obstacle race getting to this hotel, culminating in a very steep narrow driveway leading to ample parking. The building itself is old, as evidenced by the painted roughcast exterior, weathered balcony railings and decking, and the creaky floorboards in hallways and stairs. In fact, special note should be made of the many steps and stairs - not suitable for people with disabilities. The hotel has been built close up to a steep cliff, clothed in fuchsias. The interior has been beautifully modernised, giving very comfortable accommodation. And our room has a window wall and a glass fronted balcony with an incredible 180 degree view out over the River Fowey and the many small craft moored there. Just heaven! Our room is large with comfortable Queen bed, bedside tables and lamps, clock, small TV, dresser, and a couple of wardrobes. There is central heating, heated drying rack, fridge with mini-bar and tea and coffee making facilities, with biscuits. The en suite is smart and includes a WC with a somewhat temperamental flush, hand basin, and a shower over the bath. The shower has a flexible hose and is hot with a good flow, but I can find no way of adjusting the direction to a fixed outward angle. There is a high step over into the bath/shower. Receptionist Jane makes us feel at home, and provides us with a welcome light lunch when we first arrive (two very nice sandwiches in our room: £20!). Downstairs there is a lovely lounge and breakfast room, with river views of course. Breakfast consists of a small buffet followed by a served mains - very pleasant. Rooms are serviced daily, and we appreciate the free wifi. There is a pool and a spa which we make no use of. In summary, a few minor quibbles, but overall very comfortable accommodation with a glorious view that makes one want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to say so. We are however very sorry that you felt unable to mention whilst here the minor difficulties you were having with operating the bathroom fittings. These were amazingly easily rectified, had we been aware, and all of our staff are more than willing to assist.
We hope that the rest of your stay in U.K. was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic location, stunning views from the balcony. I don't feel thats enough to warrant a stay. The room was tired and there was no excuse for the mould on the walls and curtains and this was a superior room! The bathroom ceiling too had mould on it. (Which I did mention on check out) They really need to look at sound proofing the rooms, you could hear everything from the next door rooms! I was looking forward to breakfast after reading reviews about the food, unfortunately we were disappointed on the choice and tepid cooked breakfast. We were asked to review for friends for a special occasion. I would not recommend this hotel, no excuse for poor cleanliness!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Asil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to say so. We are however very sorry that you felt unable to mention whilst here the minor difficulties you were having with operating the bathroom fittings. These were amazingly easily rectified, had we been aware, and all of our staff are more than willing to assist.
We hope that the rest of your stay in U.K. was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In our opinion a high quality hotel, friendly & helpfull staff stunning views & fine dining. We had a nice room at the end of the corridor with a balcony worth the extra money from a standard room. Nice homemade biscuits to have with the coffee/tea tray. Would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stay here at the end of March as part of a week in Cornwall staying in 3 different places. Our 2 nights here were truly superb, the views from the room were stunning, even if the room itself was a little small, we didn't notice it's size once we'd opened the curtains and could gaze at the vista while sipping our tea munching on a home made cookie! The real highlight was the food in the restaurant, we'd only booked the B&B rate so meals were not cheap, but worth every penny, next time we'll certainly book DB&B! Later in the week we stayed in Padstow and had a meal in Rick Stein's Seafood restaurant, the food at the Cormorant was certainly just as good and the service certainly better. We will be going back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel perched up on the cliff side and I have now stopped here a couple of times whilst on business. In partiular, the first trip I arrived late, was the only guest, but the hotel volunteered to keep the chef on for me which was going beyond the call.
I woke up the following morning to a fantastic view over the estuary on a crisp clear day. My second was not so fortunate - the route out of the village flooded by an extreemly high tide! Nobody's fault, and the hotel did what they could to accomodate me for an hour or so until the tide went out.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
1.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cormorant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Price Range: £108 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel Golant, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing