We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique property - brilliant group holiday!!”

Review of The Old Sawmills

The Old Sawmills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Old Sawmills
One of the 5 bathrooms
One of the 3 ensuite rooms
6 out of 7 of the bedrooms have superb views over the water
Family room
Medieval quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Golant, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ijallen52
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique property - brilliant group holiday!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed in the Old Sawmills with my family and friends (13 of us in total) for a summer break and a week-long exploration of the south Cornwall Coast. The accommodation is an old renovated Sawmill which sits in an isolated creek off the River Fowey. There are 7 bedrooms in the main building which we used (the are other bedrooms available in the lodge next door which we did not need/rent and the whole property can house up to 20 people.). The manager Ruth (who was great!) met us on arrival and ferried our luggage to the Mill by boat. There are only two ways in and out - a woodland path (15 minutes from the nearest car park) or boat. This completely isolates the Mill and adds massively to its charm and the general peacefulness that permeates the property. The facilities were very good, all bedrooms were well appointed and most were en-suite. The open plan lounge and kitchen were very comfortable and well equipped and the conservatory held dining tables big enough to cope with all guests. The property also boasts a recording studio which has been used by Jessie J., Oasis and other top groups. Wildlife abounds around the grounds with swans, ducks, king-fishers and an otter all making appearances. The only draw-back is access in poor weather. Hiring a boat is a must and good walking boots recommended (although wellies were also left at the Mill for guest use). If you want to try a property with a difference in a quiet location - then this is for you - very highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and tranquility
Liked least: Access in bad weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorSar...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large extended family group. The location is glorious and extremely private.The house and lodge are fitted out to a high standard with catering equipment for large numbers. There is plenty of room for everyone to be together or to find somewhere to be alone. We loved the novelty of planning our activities around the tides. The adjoining lodge was perfect for my niece, her husband and their two small children. Ruth the caretaker was unobtrusively supportive, helped with baggage, food and rubbish transport and even arranged the loan of a keyboard!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a memorable long weekend with friends and family”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the Sawmills on the internet searching for a place to stay in January to have a birthday celebration for our son's 21st, who's studying at Falmouth, when I read about the number it accommodated and the proximity, it looked perfect, nice and remote, no worries about noise to neighbours, it allowed pets (our Irish Water Spaniel just loved it) and there was a recording studio attached (I didn't realise the history of artists who had recorded there when booking), it sounded fun only having access by boat or foot path. We gathered a group of his close friends from school and uni and managed to keep it as a surprise.

We were staying there when it seemed that the rest of the UK was having dreadful weather, the Sawmills seemed to have it's own micro climate, it was peaceful and calm, although the tides were the highest Ruth had ever witnessed, but that didn't stop our fun.

It was an eventful and truly memorable stay. Ruth picked us up in Golant by boat, we had mass catering for feeding 16 people over 3 days, therefore the boat was stacked, we were slightly late and the tide was too high to get under the small bridge so we had to carry everything along the footpath, we dropped 5 chickens and all the eggs in the river, however Ruth was a star and fished all the chickens out, they survived unscathed. The mass of the party arrived on the Saturday, before our son, so we could keep them a surprise.

The accommodation was perfect. Plenty of space, an extremely well equipped kitchen that was the hub for social activity, mass catering, partying and chilling. The dining/conservatory room was so warm in January (we had a good trick, we just turned the controls up on the heater!). Considering the numbers of people we found it a really reasonable rental price for out of season. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable.

We had booked the recording studio and our son's old schoolmates who'd come from various uni's across the UK, had a track recorded and mixed. They were really impressed by Tom's skills and dedication. They went away from the weekend with a really professional recording and were totally chuffed.

Weather didn't stop the fun, Ruth picked us up for our departure by boat on 3rd Jan, (look at the weather in Cornwall that day) She was such a great asset, was so accommodating when we asked to also book the little cottage at the last minute. I can't say we really saw a lot of the local area as there was so much going on in the house.

We'd totally recommend a stay there, go prepared with food, there is plenty of fridge and freezer space, we cooked a roast lunch for 16 without issue, but it was planned on a grand scale. A perfect celebratory weekend, of fun, socialising and just chilling out. I'd imagine it would be stunning on a summers day, but it was as equally beautiful in winter (wellies were a must).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BecksMcM
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure rural escapism in a beautiful waterway away from it all”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The sawmills is a dab place to stay with friends and family. Lots of space, amazing views, walks and the river just waiting to be played on.

The house itself is comfortable but not high end. It's practical for large groups and works well for cooking, hanging out and partying.

It is isolated so take supplies! It was quite cold when we were there (only in dining areas) although the bedrooms were toasty.

The wifi didn't work the whole time we were there and most of is got no mobile reception - quite nice once you embrace it but not good if you need to check work etc.

It's a beautiful part of Cornwall and if you go out of season it's a really good value place.

We all thoroughly enjoyed it (8 adults, 10 kids, 1 baby)!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma J
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! So Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this last minute after recommendation given to my husband. The whole experience was straight forward and after now visiting and seeing how unique the property is and how to get to it, it could have been so difficult! We were given clear details from Ruth and then when we got to Golant we were met by Ruth's friend who took us by boat to The Sawmills, when we went under the bridge we were in complete amazement at the view in front of us, so perfect! The house was lovely, never before have I been somewhere that didn't make me want to clean! It was spotless! Sammy who was sorting out the house showed us around and was lovely, there was everything you needed in the house and a very well equipped kitchen, we couldn't have asked for more and then Morris from the local boat hire company met us with out own motor boat to use for the week, it really was unbelievable. We picked up friends who stayed with us for a night and family members towards the end of the week, it had the space to do it. The dogs loved the freedom and the lake to swim in and 2 of the teenagers in the party are keen musicians and had their own recording session with Tom Joyce ( no relation to us or the Tom Joyce in our party) and were buzzing - Tom was patient and so professional. I could go on and on about this forever but I think you get the idea. Thank you to Ruth, Morris, Sammy and Tom for your kindness, we will be back - maybe when the boys record their second album ;-) The Joyce's - September 2013!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing