We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for our honeymoon”
Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Llawnroc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for our honeymoon”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked this hotel as we liked the St Austell area and this had great reviews. It was better than what we could have expected and this was not just down to the hotel itself but the location. The hotel was clean, modern and the staff were very friendly and gave us great advice on places to visit. We had a suite with a balcony that looked out over the sea and what a stunning view, both day and night. The food was fantastic and if it wasn't for us wanting to eat at different places we would have eaten there every night! Fantastic hotel and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Congratulations on your marriage. We are pleased you chose to spend you honeymoon with us.

I am glad we made it memorable for you and you enjoyed your time with us. Johnny our head chef and his team work hard at producing some interesting and tasty dishes, so will be pleased you enjoyed your meals.

I hope to welcome you back for your anniversary if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    133
    69
    34
    23
See reviews for
101
356
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel where we spent 3 nights and I have to disagree with many reviewers. On one hand, it has been done to a high standard, on the other hand, we got the feeling that the place was not managed to a matching level. Our room and bathroom were very well appointed but the hotel public area felt neglected : surplus chairs left in the entrance to Gorrans’restaurant, broken items left in the garden, rubbish outside the hotel not being picked up. The service was patchy and inconsistent , though friendly; we got the impression that this was a ship without helm. For the price, we expected something better managed and it would not take much to get it right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and have addressed the points that you have raised.

As a team we try to offer the best possible service to our guests, we also regularly ensure that the public areas are clean and tidy.

I hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Good quality local produce, cooked well and very nicely presented. My loin of lamb was done perfectly and with tasty accompaniments and sauce. Cheese was all local and sensible sized portion. Restaurant quite quiet but still managed a good atmosphere, very classy decor. Only criticism: beers a bit overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rowington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Johnny our head chef is passionate about offering fresh, locally sourced ingredients so will be very pleased you had an enjoyable time with us.

Hopefully you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

a five star review for location; for peace and quiet; for food(we are veggies ,the menu was small however the chef created choices for us)as well as the food being outstanding and excellent value for money; and service- from every staff member we had dealings with where nothing was too much trouble.Yes,as stated,there is no mobile phone signal in the hotel(a blessing no mobiles at dinner or in the bar yehay!)but the old fashioned phone line still worked!!as did the wire cable internet supplied by the hotel for the laptop in the bedroom. We will return later this year to unwind again!! thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: sea view room outstanding however probably a bit noisy in hight of summer as outside bar terrace dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensweepone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Llawnroc hotel and in Gorran Haven. As you mentioned it is a wonderful place to unwind and relax.

We look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Buried away in Gorran Haven, the Llawnroc is a really well-appointed 'boutique' hotel which justifies a strong rating. The hotel is a mixture of a modern and exceptionally well-desgned extension on an older (but completely refurbished to the same high standard) building.

Rooms first class; ours was a very good size, exceedingly clean and with fabulous bathroom and all bedding and furniture to a very high standard. It had a small balcony looking towards the sea, and overlooking the terrace.

We dined one night in the restaurant, which (aside being unbearably hot - apparently a quirk of the underfloor heating) was also excellent. Smart, yet unpretentious, friendly service and a good menu of finely cooked and presented meals.

Breakfast faultless. Service friendly and efficient throughout. We didm;t make use of the bar but it looked smart - in some ways nice to avoid the endless and inevitable 'cosy' (yet slightly shabby) alternatives elsewhere.

You'll know this if you've considered going there (or been there!) but you have of course to have transport - there is nothing locally and the nearest alternative for food is in Mevagissey, some 20 mins away on very narrow and twisty roads. So, this needs to be a base for exploring.

In summer, no doubt this hotel excels with its outside areas and the view.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to overlook the car ark, which would be considerably less appealing in fine weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you found everything to your satisafaction with our rooms and restaurant service. As you mentioned we try to keep everything spotless and service to a very high standard.

We have a large terrace which is perfect for relaxing on those summer afternoons with a glass of wine or local beer and in good weather is a sun trap.

I hopefully will have the pleasure of welcoming you back agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent the weekend at this beautiful boutique hotel.
From the moment you walk into the reception area you know you have found somewhere special. Everywhere smells and looks so clean and we found all of the staff to be very friendly, here they treat you as a person, not just a room number. After a swift check-in, we were taken to our room. This was huge and stylish. Spotless and completely faultless. Pillow menu available should you wish to use it, but we found the pillows in our room were just fine. The bed was huge and the bathroom was equipped with a bath, hand held shower and rain shower.
The hotel bar was another lovely area and the friendly staff are happy to recommend places to visit. You can order your dinner in the bar before they take you through to the restaurant. We had dinner at the hotel both nights of our stay as the food was fab. Breakfast was included and this was another treat, usual continental style plus a hot menu, on our first morning my husband had a full Cornish breakfast and I had the vegetarian breakfast, both huge plates of freshly cooked food accompanied by delicious freshly ground coffee. On our second morning, my husband had another Cornish breakfast and I tried my favourite of eggs benedict.....I wasn't disappointed. You can tell the quality of the ingredients used.
The hotel is in a tiny village, nice short walk to the beach, nothing really to do in Gorran Haven, but the nearest place of Mevagissey is very pretty with other places to eat and drink should you wish. The hotel is also a good base for going out and exploring more of Cornwall.
Definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a great place to visit and eat - lovely fresh food, some caught in Gorran Haven. Views over the sea from the large terrace which is equipped with wonderful tables and chairs. The staff are friendly and helpful - we visit here alot :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorran Haven
4.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
9.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
23.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Property: The Llawnroc Hotel
Address: 33 Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing