We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Look forward to my meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Llawnroc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Always Look forward to my meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have never stayed at the Lawnroc but stay with friends in Gorran Haven every year. And every time we visit the Lawnroc for a meal and drinks. Had evening dinner here last week and as usual the food was fantastic and the service in the restaurant second to none. The waitress (whose name escapes me) is one of the best waitresses I have had the pleasure to meet, so helpful and friendly. The hotel is so relaxing and the outside patio area is lovely in the nice weather. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Johnny the head chef and his team work hard in creating some exciting dishes for our menu. Nicki who served you is as you say, amazing and a true asset to us here. We hope to welcome you back for some more fantastic food and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    130
    66
    33
    23
See reviews for
100
347
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Gorran Haven is a beautiful Cornish village with two good beaches, coffee shop cum sandwich shop, post office and a chippy!

The Hotel is situated slightly up from the village and was once the village pub, though there is no sign of that now.

Each of the rooms are elegantly decorated with great bathrooms and a Playstation. There are games and DVDs to borrow in the lounge. The only downside is that there are lots of light switches, for the myriad combinations of lighting scenarios, even floor lights in the bathroom. But then is all part of the higher end, modern accommodation. We would have loved to have taken some of the furniture home as it is just our style!

The mattresses are of good quality and with the zip and link, means that we all get a good night's sleep!

The food is very good with an excellent choice at breakfast and dinner. Service is a little slow for our 12 year olds, but this is to be expected with made to order dining. The dining room is elegant with double doors opening on to the terrace. The wine list is limited but offers good value for money as well as decent bottles of wine.

Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Would I stay here again. Definitely. For busy parents, this is an ideal place to stop and stay and rest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyb672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Gorran Haven. We all work hard in creating a friendly relaxed environment for our guests and work hard to ensure your time with us is as relaxing as possible. The bedrooms as you mention are modern and elegant and the lighting adds that little extra. I am pleased you enjoyed you meals with us and we all hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just came here for a meal with friends as we were staying in port issac. The food was of the very highest quality served by a very friendly waitress I a beautiful dining room. If only we lived 200 miles nearer would be back so often well done and Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed you meal and 200 miles is not too far to pop down for a meal. We hope to welcome you next time you are in this part of Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night last week, as a result of a last minute decision to extend our holiday. The hotel rack rate was very expensive but secured a good discount via bookings.com. Whilst still relatively expensive (we paid £140 b&b for a double room with sea view), we considered this good value for money given the very high quality and ambience of the hotel. It is located in a small but charming village and is a very short (but steep) walk down to the local beach. There is local cafe there, a fish and chip shop nearby.


Our room - and indeed the whole hotel - was furnished in a contemporary style and to a very high standard. The staff without exception could not have been more helpful and courteous. We decided to have the dinner in the restaurant - a wise decision, crab mousse to start with and then seafood main courses. Delicious and cooked and presented with élan. Clearly the hotel has a very good chef.

The following day after checking out the hotel were happy for us to leave our car on the car park while we walked a short stretch of the coastal path. It is very well located for this and for access to unspoilt and quiet local beaches. In summary, a very fine hotel and whilst it will not be in everyone's price range, you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: not sure we would pay extra for a sea view room the next time we visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed you time with us and felt the staff were helpful and courteous; we really are blessed with wonderful team.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again and experience our beautifully prepared food and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here last month with my wife. Great hotel. Great food but have to comment on the staff the man behind the desk was excelent and couldnt do enough for us I think his name was john. Great service and customer service. Really made our trip. Thanks john and the team we will be back again next year!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llawnroc022, Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found the staff so helpful and friendly. We really do have a fantastic group here who try to make everyone’s stay as perfect as possible. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident - selected a random town to look for a pub meal, and it looked a little posh for a post-surf nosh... but we went in anyway and OMG. This was easily the best meal of our holiday if not the best restaurant meal of the year... We were just blown away by the taste, textures - decadence hiding in simplicity. With the loveliest lady waiting on our table. And such good value for money. Just incredible. In doge: So delicious. Many wow. Much happy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Roels927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned after a 3 night bank holiday break. The Hotel is lovely inside and out with ample parking. The staff are all fantastic and you are really well looked after. The rooms are big and easily sleep 3 people with a Z Bed. The food was ok but with the sea being a 2 minute walk away I expected more fresh fish. The breakfasts however were fantastic maybe one of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever had.
The reason I say lack of atmosphere is the hotel seemed almost empty even on a bank holiday weekend, think we met 4 other families in total.
I am not sure the locals like the place either from numerous comments, seems a real shame. It was a pub before hand and I think there should be maybe another bar where locals can come enjoy a drink as there is no where now in the village.
Apart from this we had a great time and will look at coming back in the summer so we can enjoy the beautiful beach and shallow seas.
You can also take the coastal path to Mevagissey via Portmellon where we stopped for a drink in the Rising sun.
Thanks go again to all the staff, especially the young lady who is moving Wednesday but I never did get her name??

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorran Haven
4.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
9.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
23.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Property: The Llawnroc Hotel
Address: 33 Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing