We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, traditional but rather tired hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hayle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, traditional but rather tired hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Nice, traditional hotel but rather tired.
Probably a late 19th Century building with an array of historic artefacts furnishing the establishment throughout. Interesting to say the least. But the decor Theme seemed a little confused and mixed up?
Overall a little manky, The hotelier needed to brush up a little on his greeting and interpersonal skills but did redeem himself later in the bar - by proving he can indeed be 'Guest' friendly.
The evening meal was gorgeous and the full English was basic but nice and hot and well cooked. The Chef was obviously doing split shifts and seemed rather worn out. His appearance in the morning was dishevelled and he looked in dire need of a shower and a blow & dry. He was also multitasking by solitary carrying out all our catering needs. He was the waiter, cook & kitchen porter. Hardly consistent with the Health & Safety and hygiene regulations etc.
Our room was fairly okay. Clean but small for the two of us. The wifi did not work and the cream or milk was well past it's sell by date.
Overall I would still reccomend a stay but absolutely NOT for families due to the other guests being coarse and crude. More of a strict working man's B&B

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyCrackenbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    16
    7
    14
See reviews for
21
30
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

After me and my family have had our annual holiday in the static,we pop to your hotel every year,your staff are great,the food excellent,there's six of us and we managed to stay,4 days with you extra to our hol,thanks very much,it was great,ps thank the chef,was great with the kids,cu next year. MR A THOMPSON &FAMILLY

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlietomo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
375 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Nothing outstanding inside the building but the room we had was nice & airy, big & decent bathroom. Salt bar nearby does v good food & service so for coastal walking access thus is a good, cost effective choice

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
973 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed at the White Hart with my parents who were over visiting England, and we had a lovely stay. The hotel is majestic on the outside and really very comfortable on the inside.

The rooms and some of the hugest I've stayed in for the price, which was VERY reasonable. The staff really went all out to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was also good, and we really had no complaints. I note the negative comments on here about the hotel, and can't justify them. This really is a good hotel and value for money is second to none. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otolith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

For an outstanding building steeped in history, one would think it would be so uppity, however, it is so welcoming. The rooms are quaint and really nice., comfortable and really clean. The atmosphere is so relaxed, just what you want on holiday, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, it can get hectic because it is very busy, but nothing is overlooked. The customer service is second to none. Cornish hospitallity, brilliant. Definately going back, no doubt. Thank you for the tour of the paintings Mr Bows.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tressa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

What a lucky find! Cheaper than the B&B’s available, secure gated parking, pub right downstairs, short walk to shops/restaurants and the exceptional 7 mile local beach. We stayed in the annex (which was the old coach house) so it was newer than the main hotel. Huge room and perfectly adequate bathroom, all very clean and serviced daily. The main hotel is a little "tired" inside, but brimming with character and the brasswork is polished to gleaming! The breakfast was good and set us up for the adventures in store exploring the local area. What made the stay for us, though, was the staff. Super, super friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Also, there are always a couple of seasoned locals in the bar to regale you with stories and local history. So happy we found this place. If you’re looking for glass, steel and clean modern lines this probably won’t float your boat...but if you if you’re looking for heart and soul and a “local” experience you’ll love it.

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in hte main hotel, but I imagine they would be a little older. Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 36mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here whilst I was on business, food was great, rooms were spacious, clean and full of character, great location, friendly staff, would definately come back and fetch my family

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel78travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
6.4 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 10 Foundry Square, Hayle TR27 4HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing