We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area, clean friendly, fun site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived a little early on the Saturday, and after giving your reception lady my mobile phone number, I was called only a few minutes later to say that the keys were ready for collection. This was nearly an hour early for our check in time. Even though I booked for a 2012 spec van we were still very pleased with how nice it was.
All staff on site were very polite and always had a smile and hello for us whenever we passed. The funstars worked very hard from early morning till late every day and always kept the childrens feeling involved with all events and dancing in the evening and added a personal touch by visiting tables for a chat.
There is a wonderful long sandy beach on site and there are lots of little cornish towns and places of interest to visit close by.
The pool is not very big and the play area is only small, but this does not matter with the beach so close.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We booked through the sun newspaper, after booking lots of weekends away this way & out of season receiving upgrades we were suprised at how small the caravan was. We asked at reception & was told the caravan site was fully booked.

No toilet roll was provided & no nice touches, remote control did not work, pull out bed wasn't even worth having!

However everything basic was there, park is right next to a massive beach which is absolutely gorgeous which definately made up for the caravan!

Overall a good holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very clean park, very clean caravans. The pool was lovely, nice temperature for babies and toddlers and not too warm for everyone else. The staff were very efficient, polite and helpful.
The ONLY thing I would do differently next time is ask to be further from the clubhouse. It's just personal preference, but we weren't up late in the evenings, so found it noisy when people were leaving there - however during the day the location was great for the children.
We had a great weekend and would not hesitate to return.

There is a Spar at the entrance to the park, but it is also just minutes from Lidl, Boots the Chemist and much more. Easy to get anything may have forgotten or find that you need.

Good access to major landmarks: Lizard Point, St Michael's Mount, Land's End etc. Very good road network.

Room Tip: As mentioned - if you prefer early nights or your children are light sleepers, ask to be situated aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautifully located small caravan park. Entertaining staff very hard working and nice. Kids absolutely love them!!!! Especially Adam needs recognition. Clean and plesant park. The only minus is that the swimming pool is freezing and small!!!!! You need to change that. Hard to find Cornish pasty in Cornish caffee! We had absolutely wonderful time there. Great place to visit rest of Cornwall, close to st. Ives and msny other places.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joasiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

On arrival our caravan was not quite ready, but was only 10 mins wait. The caravan was spotless and very roomy. On site there is an indoor and outdoor pool and a very small cafe and children's playground, which is adequate but very small site compared to other Haven sites, this didn't matter as we only really used the caravan as a base. The beach on the site would have been lovely as its white sand but a bit of a steep walk back up through the sand dunes and we would have sat on it had the weather been nice enough. Hayle itself has a nice walk you can take around the river inlet, and this site is only a short journey to St Ives which is lovely, we also visited lands end, st michaels mount, lizard point, mullion cove all not too far to visit. We travelled with small child and he loved it. would recommend and would go back if not for 8 hour journey on way home!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tortoisecobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited Riviere Sands for the first week of the kids Easter holidays. We hadn't been on a caravan holiday before (as adults) as we usually camp or stay in our little camper van. My Wife is heavily pregnant though and can't rough it at the moment and we wanted a holiday with our 2 other kids, aged 5 & 7, before the new babe comes.....So, with a limited budget, we had a good look around and ended up with Haven in Hayle. I had fond memories of visiting the area so was happy with that aspect of the trip but we paid about £300 for the week and we were a little apprehensive as to what we might receive for what (we felt) was a very keen price. Also, I am a bit shy and not exactly first in the karaoke queue if you know what I mean and I was secretly dreading the entertainment.

Well, what can I say, we were truly delighted and amazed. We had a fantastic week and I think it's truly great that hard-up families can find value like this.

The van was awesome. Although only one level up from bottom of the range, it was absolutely spotlessly clean (and I can be fussy!). It was perfect in every respect, well equipped, modern and truly a delight to come home to every day. The kids, in particular, loved it - especially their own dinky little bedroom (they normally have to muck in with their paranoid parents!).

The staff were perhaps the greatest asset of this site. They were superb. A mix of young and old but all with great attitudes, very helpful and down to earth. We spent a lot of time in the pool and I was particularly impressed with their laid back approach to the pool. Don't get me wrong, any bad behaviour was instantly clamped down on but we could pretty much do what we wanted otherwise eg kids wore wetsuits one day, no problem. We could take balls in to play with, small inflatables, etc. In our pools back home, having fun seems to be another thing they are considering banning....it seems like they might ban swimming one day in some pools.

The outdoor pool was shut in April. The indoor pool might disappoint some but we were perfectly happy with it. You have to make your own entertainment as there are no flumes or slides but it was super clean and all you need with a bit of imagination.

The evening entertainment was fantastic given the circumstances. It's obviously impossible to please all the people all the time but they certainly give it a go at Riviere Sands! We never stayed more than an hour or so but it was spot on for our needs given our kids being quite young still. The bar prices were reasonable and, once again , the bar staff and security were spot-on.

The beach was A1 top quality and very close to the site (admittedly down a short dune walk). You certainly couldn't get a wheelchair down there (well, I couldn't....) but it was really not a hard walk for anyone of average fitness. The beach itself is super-wide backed by some great dunes to explore - perfect.

In summary, based on our experience, I would not hesitate to recommend Haven, Riviere Sands to anyone who wants a good family holiday for a very fair price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DaveandJen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

stayed at this site on a sun break,arrived a little early and were seen to by a really nice woman and were given our keys,could not fault the caravan, spotlessly clean and well equiped,the only thing i would do if i visited at this time of the year again is upgrade to a van with full heating in the bedrooms as we had none and i must say we froze,apart from that we had a really good weekend.

Room Tip: upgrade to a caravan with heating in bedrooms if going early or late in the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucywales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
111 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,744 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
16.9 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Riviere Towans, Hayle TR27 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Riviere Sands Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing